We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here before on other trips.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg to your Saves list
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Hospitality Way, Sutherlin, OR 97479 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sutherlin
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Been here before on other trips.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This motel used to be called the Sutherlin Inn I think I recall. It was remarkably inexpensive and good. While it is not quite as inexpensive as it was it is pretty good. 50 bucks and very clean and nice like it was before. Our room was comfortable, quiet and we slept well. The staff is friendly and polite and fun to deal with. There is a nice little restaurant next to this place that has also change names and I would review it too except we seem to have lost the receipt. This is a really worthy place. Pet and handicapped friendly too. remarkable value. Easy to find off of I5

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Love to hear "remarkable value". Thanks for continuing to choose us and for sharing your opinion by reviewing us. The restaurant next door is The Apple Peddler. It's a 24 hour family restaurant that regularly gets complimented by our guests and is frequented by many locals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    83
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
89
89
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is not the first time we have stayed here although the name has changed at least three times. The last three times we have had Room 303 and it is quite fantastic for a motel - lots of pillows, a table setting for eating and even terry robes. The room and bathroom were very clean. The reception staff was very efficient and friendly. The only problem we had was cooling the room to a reasonable level; I think the unit needed recharging. We recommend the Apple Peddler restaurant adjacent for very adequate meals at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay so much!

Just wanted to comment on the name changes. In 2008 the hotel changed ownership and the name was changed to Microtel Inn & Suites. In 2012 the same owners decided to change the name to GuestHouse Inn & Suites primarily because there are far more GuestHouse's in the Pacific Northwest (17 in Washington and Oregon) than Microtels (1 in Washington and Oregon). Same owners, same management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Clean room, excellent price, and Erin at the front desk was extremely helpful-even bringing me a toothbrush to my room when I could not find mine! Very polite and very professional.

The breakfast was good, but no vegetarian options for the eggs. Coffee was, well, hotel coffee. Waffle was great and the fresh fruit was nice to have as well.

The window seating in the room was great for me to sit with my laptop with free wifi and an open window to get a nice breeze.

Room Tip: If you want to open the window, I suggest a higher up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks for mentioning Erin and the other things you enjoyed during your stay. As you mentioned, the window seats are one of the unique things about our hotel that many guests enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Family trip. Pros~great price, nice clean room, soft night-light by bathroom, spacious window seat, hot breakfast with good variety 6a-10a, juice/coffee/tea always available, late check-out (noon), friendly staff. Cons~ very, very soft beds and pillows- did not sleep well as I kept sinking to the middle of the bed; poor shower~ water conservation shower head made it impossible to get warm; bathroom door didn't have a good fit and banged each time it was closed. Enjoyed dinner at the restaurant next door- friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Sure appreciate you pointing out all the pros!
Sorry the bed was too soft for you. That one is a difficult one to manage to the different tastes of guests. We definitely could address the shower, though - it should be hot and with plenty of pressure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Superb friendly staff and always helpful in getting us the best price available. This was at least our 7th. time staying at this motel in Southerlin. There is plenty of parking, even a parking area next door for semi-trucks. The restaurant next door we have never used as we always eat at the continental breakfast provided by the motel, but their food must be good as their lot always has cars.

This was the first time I noticed a bed with a slight sag in the mattress on one side. The bed was comfortable. I forgot to mention it to the staff.

Yes, we will be back to the Guesthouse in a few weeks for another stay to see family.

Room Tip: When checking in always remember to offer your AARP card and AAA card for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your loyalty and for taking the time to review us!. We'll see you in a few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our room was nice, however somehow we got a handicapped room. We didn't care for that. The bathroom door was a very heavy pocket door that banged and was difficult to push. The huge bathroom floor was freezing. The staff was friendly. Unfortunately, I forgot my new pillow there. I asked if they could send it to my CA address the cheapest way possible. They sent it Priority $$, to the wrong address, at my expense, and it was sent back to them. But, they say they will now hold it at the hotel until I get back to their area. I hope this happens. So, I have mixed feelings about the service. I'm sure if I didn't have the pillow shipping problem I would give them an excellent. When I pick up pillow will have to revisit this review. We would stay again. Breakfast was okay too.

Room Tip: don't take a handicap room unless you need that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
So appreciate you recognizing our friendly staff and bringing up a couple of ways we serve our guests.

First, we do indeed offer accessible rooms for those in wheelchairs or disabled such that they need the extra space or other aids. In your case you reserved an accessible room through central reservations when you booked it at our Advance Purchase discount.

Second, we are happy to help out guests who leave items behind. We also try to accomodate requests for how it is sent, including how fast. Of course, we can't do anything about the prices the carriers charge and we can't pay the shipping for you, but we are happy to donate the time and effort it takes to locate your item, package it properly, and get it to the carrier. I am sorry yours did not reach you in time at the location you asked us to send it to. But, as you requested, if it is returned we will be glad to hold on to it for you until you pick it up or send it to you if you prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We chose this hotel because they are pet friendly. Very basic hotel, could you a little updating in the mauve bathroom but clean. Biggest draw back was the wi-fi wasn't working. It would work for a few minutes then kick you off........so frustrating! Check in was quick and friendly and popcorn was available all evening :). Breakfast was your basic carb heavy food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Glad you chose us and hope you will return for all the great reasons you mentioned. Very sorry you were having trouble with your internet access. We provide 100% Wi-Fi coverage throughout the hotel and internet upload/download is at very fast broadband cable speeds. We also support it 24/7, so if there was a system problem during your stay we would gladly have tried to solve it if it had been reported. Any guest having trouble need only call the toll-free number or report it to the front desk and we'll call the number for you!

Breakfast actually includes low-carb options, including fresh fruit and yogurt. Many guests prefer the hot options, which include omelets, waffles, biscuits and gravy or hot cereals. Bagels, muffins and a variety of cold cereals are also served. I am confident you won't find a better breakfast at any other hotel from Eugene to Medford at the rates we offer! If you want something for breakfast we don't offer, you are sill better off saving money by staying with us and spending a few dollars at the excellent 24/7 Apple Peddler family restaurant next door to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg

Address: 1400 Hospitality Way, Sutherlin, OR 97479 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg)
Location: United States > Oregon > Sutherlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sutherlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 miles north of Roseburg, our hotel is in the heart of the Umpqua Valley wine country, about the halfway point for I-5 travelers between Seattle and San Francisco, and a great alternative to the more crowded areas of Roseburg. Our convenient location provides easy on/off free access. Enjoy our free deluxe breakfast with omelets, waffles, biscuits & gravy, yogurt, fruit, hot and cold cereals, bagels & muffins and more. In addition, a great 24/7 family restaurant is right next door and many other dining options nearby. Pets are allowed with 10.00 a day fee; we have a dog run and there is a local dog park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg Hotel Sutherlin
Microtel Inn And Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg
Sutherlin Microtel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.