We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Observatory at Sunriver

Oregon Observatory at Sunriver
57245 River Road, Sunriver, OR 97707
541 598 4406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Sunriver
Type: Observatories/ Planetariums, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There’s no better place! The local elevation, pitch dark surrounding and crystal clear air make it perfect for star gazing. You won’t be lining up for one telescope. The Oregon Observatory is the largest astronomical viewing facility in the United States. Feast your eyes on far away galaxies. Recognize the rings of Saturn and the moons of Jupiter. Witness a meteor shower. Get a glimpse of globular clusters, nebula and deep space binary stars.
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A lot of telescopes. Nice staff. Cool tour!
You can see stars there better than in most places.
If you like to look at stars or if you want to learn more about stars, you should visit this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    12
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed the observatory!! Very interesting and super exciting for our kids to look through all the different telescopes. The staff was excellent.....very informative and patient. This was a great surprise stop. We will be back again!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We took our 4 kids--ages 18, 15, 10, 10 to the observatory one evening. They had a nice presentation and several stations set up where you could few star clusters, Saturn and the moon. Everyone enjoyed it. We've been to the observatory at Bryce Canyon and that was a little better, but for people traveling to Sunriver I would definitely go if your children (or you!) have any interest.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice, helpful people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Multiple telescopes and great night time sky without any light pollution. Views of the moon, Saturn, various stars and the space station.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to see the solar observation during the day which is free. Then we returned for the night sky observation. Both exceeded expectations. If you are interested at all about planets and stars don't miss these presentations. It was informative and fun and the hosts were friendly and knowledgeable. Oh my...to see Saturn!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Observatory at Sunriver also viewed

Sunriver, Central Oregon
Sunriver, Central Oregon
 

Been to Oregon Observatory at Sunriver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Observatory at Sunriver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.