We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trail to Benham Falls

Trail to Benham Falls
Sunriver, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Sunriver
Attraction details
rochester, mn
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Easy hike, great view. Great to be able to see from below and up top. Nice day to be out hiking, family of 5 all enjoyed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Benham Falls-Nice Falls but tons of mosquitoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were traveling around oregon around Sept. 6 and drove to the parking lot for the trail and we started out going the opposite way down the river and the mosquitoes ate us up!!!! We went the other way to the falls and my wife had to go back to the car because of the mosquitoes. I kept going-the trail was excellent -very smooth trail and not too steep. The falls were kind of small-more like rapids but were nice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Park at the trailhead, accessible from the Lava Lands Visitor Center. A short walk, 3/4 mile to the falls. Take insect repellant, as mosquitos are hiding in the shade along the trail as it nears the Deschutes River. The falls is amazing, rushing over remnants of a volcanic eruption which dammed the river long ago, to create the falls

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice ride, two different levels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We took our 3 teens on the single-track trail to the falls. It wasn't hard but I would not take small children or small bikes on this trail at all. It's not hilly, just a bit rocky at times and it is single track.

The Falls themselves are small but after viewing them we proceeded on to Dillion Falls which was another 30 minutes or so. The trail wasn't very well marked, however, so some of us took the fire road which wasn't very well used and had logs across it at times and no signs to help us. Others took the nice
single track that lead right along the river that didn't have a very good sign either but it was the actual path we all should have taken. Look around and ask others to make sure you take the right one.

Dillon Falls was a little bigger but the point of the ride is really to just enjoy the beauty of the area and have water to see along the way. Our family had a nice time. Our experienced mountain biker was a bit bored with the single-track trail since it really wasn't hard at all. It, however, allowed us all to have a gentle ride together.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful Trail to Walk or Bike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

You can bike to the falls from the Sunriver trail head just past Circle 7, or you can walk to the falls if you start at the trail head parking lot just off Hwy 97 within the Lava Lands Visitor Center. You can bike for miles and miles past the falls from either of these start points and end up in Bend for a post ride refreshment and many brew pubs. Bring the deet!!! Mosquitos can be bad in mid summer.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trail to Benham Falls also viewed

 

Been to Trail to Benham Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trail to Benham Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.