We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunriver Resort to your Saves list
Sunriver Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Rates From $119
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
portland, or
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fantastic location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I've been going to Sunriver for years, and it's usually a great place to vacation, I have not had some of the service issues and complaints others mentioned, so I wonder if it's due to traveling when it's especially busy? I've noticed that almost all staff, from cleaning crew to check in staff, is genuinely friendly and anxious to help. However, they typically are young -- so I could imagine situations where they might not handle stressful or disgruntled situations with a lot of poise and experience.

I do think the rack rates for rooms at the lodge are quite high--I've found discounts (LivingSocial, for example) that can save 50%, which makes it quite doable.

It is a family place, so it's not necessarily a romantic retreat for a couple. But it was never hard to find a place in the bar (Owl's Nest) for drinks and dinner, so it wasn't an issue.

The public pools did seem pretty crowded and noisy. However, if you have a pass to Sage Springs, just reserve a few lanes in private pool there, if you're looking for swimming and exercise, and not sunning. It's a great facility.

For fun, rent a couple of bikes and enjoy the 30+ miles of paved trails. Or visit the High Desert Museum (be sure to check out when the raptor and other wildlife programs are being presented, they are well worth attending).

If you go off the lodge to rent, properties can vary widely. I've been very happy 80% of the time, but there have been a few times when the home/condo was VERY outdated and worn. VRBO.com seems to have some decent pics on most of the listings at Sunriver. If you don't see a lot of pictures of the interior, be forewarned!

But all in all, Sunriver is a wonderfully relaxing place to visit. I feel refreshed as soon as I walk into the main lodge. I'd highly recommend it IF you're not expecting 5-star room service and amenities. If you enjoy the outdoors, you'll love it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    125
    35
    23
    16
See reviews for
188
135
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is our fourth stay at Sunriver. We love the winters at Christmas and we love the summers. This time did not disappoint as the River Lodges were beautiful (as they always are) and the resort was in spectactular condition. Great staff makes this always on our "to do" list!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

My wife booked us a stay for two nights for my 40th birthday. This was our first trip to Bend/Sunriver and we made our decision based on some internet searching. The rooms were expensive but we hoped it would be worth it.

We arrived to check-in (L229) and asked if we needed reservations for dinner that evening in the main lodge hotel. We were told probably not necessary so we settled into our room. The room was smaller and not as nicely equipped as I would have expected for the price. We headed over for dinner at 7:30pm. The hostess rudely explained to us how we should have had reservations. After listening to this we were sat outside on the deck near the door. Not exactly what we hoped for but understandable given our lack of reservation. We sat and watched staff rush about to other tables for almost 10 minutes before I asked for help. The staff gave us water and rushed away assuring us a waiter would be right there. After another 5 minutes we were greeted. The waiter was impatient and hurried. Given the prices on the menu and poor service, we left deciding it wasn't worth our money. We ate in the Owl's Nest bar instead and our service was excellent. We had some friends join us from Bend. We enjoyed appetizers, wine and dessert leaving back to our room around 11:30pm. After getting into bed, we started hearing screaming children and loud adults outside our room. My wife finally called the front desk and the rukus finally settled down outside our room about :30 min later. The next day we took off to enjoy the surrounding area of Bend. We returned to swim and use some of the resort amenities. The pool was full of what appeared to be an entire middle school of children and their tired parents. With no chairs or space at the pool we rode our bikes into the village. The village was not specatcular but had every tourist trap sourvenier store and ice cream parlor you could imagine. Nothing unique or memorable. The next morning we awoke to make coffee in our room. We discovered our coffee cups were left uncleaned and the maid didn't replace our in-room coffee. We ended up packing and leaving dissapointed that we had such high expectations and paid so much money to stay here. We travel alot and this marks the first time we've ever felt the need to write about our experience. We hope others experience is better than ours.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver_Resort, Director of Resort Operations at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with detailed feedback regarding your most recent stay at Sunriver Resort. My name is Scott Ellender, the Director of Resort Operations. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experiences you encountered while staying with us.

At Sunriver Resort we strive to provide the best possible service for our guests and unfortunately we do fall short on occasion. The issues you experienced at the front desk, restaurant and housekeeping are unacceptable and have been addressed with our management team from these respective departments so that future guests do not experience these same issues.

I would be interested in discussing your stay in further detail. Please feel free to contact me directly at sellender@sunriver-resort.com. My goal is that we will be able to regain your confidence by providing us a second chance to demonstrate our commitment to service excellence. Again, thank you and happy belated 40th birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed in a king River Lodge for 3 nights, and it was a beautiful accommodation with a large entry, master bath and bedroom / den combo with 2 plush chairs in front of a gas fireplace. There is also a medium to large balcony with 2 Adirondack style chairs and table. It was all wonderful for relaxing, enjoying breakfast in-room, reading on the balcony, etc.. There is also so much to do outdoors, which we equally enjoyed, especially the biking, canoeing and picnicking in the fresh mountain air. The restaurants and the staff were all wonderful. I’ve been recommending Sunriver Resort to my family and friends many times already.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Although my husband and I have been to Sunriver a few times over the years, last year and this year we had a reunion with our two children and their families -- wonderful place: good food and wine selections, comfortable facilities for 10 of us, lots to do, sights to see. Quiet. We'll be back!





NOTE:- NOT interested in joining TripAdvisor -- can't submit w/o joining ):-(

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This was our first time to Sunriver Resort -- its a very nice place for adults and kids. We loved the miles of bicycle paths, and it was so easy to schedule trail rides and horseback riding lessons for our two girls (14 and 10). A few minor caveats: housekeeping seemed to be v ery stingy with toilet paper and handtowels for our room (I had to call to ask for more of these a few times). And we were not informed that we needed to bring our own towels to the public pool -- I think there should be towels available there for lodge guests. Overall, though, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

cound not have been better. Accomodations and activities were superb.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunriver Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.