We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunriver Resort to your Saves list
Sunriver Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Rates From $119
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a wonderful week in August at this resort. It was our first time at the resort and part of the reason we booked it was due to the flexibility of their kids camp. We would definitely stay here again.

We tried almost everything they had to offer at the resort and given the time of year most of the activities were not too crowded/busy. We enjoyed golf at the Meadows course but I had not played in wind like that before. As a family we had great fun riding bikes around the resort, swimming at the SHARC, playing glowbal and doing the evening family float with smores and country/folk tunes at the end.

Fort Funnigan, the kids camp, was excellent. The facility is well staffed by mostly teachers and after school care staff on summer break. The themed days and events were well suited for our son. And we especially liked that we could put him in for an evening (with dinner included), a half day or a full day. As he is an only child this provided him time to be with those in his age group and also provided my husband and I some time alone on our family vacation.

Overall we found the staff friendly and helpful, even when just walking by they would smile and say hello.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Traveler181717,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Sunriver Resort! We would love to have your family join us for our upcoming Sunriver Harvest Festival on October 12th and 13th. This event is full of fun seasonal activities that your family is sure to enjoy. Also, this would give you an opportunity for one more round on our Woodlands or Crosswater Golf Courses.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    125
    35
    23
    16
See reviews for
188
135
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay in Sunriver with our family of 6. Kids ages 18,15,10,10. Although we have lived in Oregon for 15 years, we always travel out of state. This summer we decided to give Oregon a try and went to Sunriver. We had such a great time! The house we chose was perfect. Close to SHARC and the shopping area. It was clean and comfortable with 2 king suites with bathrooms and a Queen bedroom that had a bath in the hall. The kitchen was fully stocked and had nice quality cookware, etc. We are planning a return trip soon and would stay in the same place. August was perfect weather wise. We had nice hot sunny days to lay by the pool or do other water activities. Our favorite thing to do turned out to be the float trip on the river in Bend. Who knew? We did it 4 times in 2 days and also went back to paddle board another day. There were 2 negatives--only 1 bike that was usable in the garage so check your property before you go because bikes are expensive to rent for the week. I'd rather just bring ours from home. Also, SHARC was ridiculously crowded in the afternoon, but by 5:30 it had cleared out and my kids had a great time from 5:30-7:30. At first I wished that it was open later, but the desert cools off fast and it was chilly by 7:30 and we were ready to head out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our extended family got together to enjoy a few days in the mountains together and had a fantastic time in Sunriver. Everything is clean and everyone we interacted with was friendly. After 4 days, we barely scratched the surface of all the things you can do there and are looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: We rented a homes from Bennington properties. Both were in beautiful condition, and wonderful place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Your teenage children will most likely not like this place. Younger kids, Mom and Dad will enjoy. This is not a "hotel" per se as there are no rooms in the main building. Several out buildings with multiple, assorted room types serve as your living quarters. Rooms are somewhat rustic. There are no elevators so if you have issues with stairs be sure you are on the ground floor. Our suite required climbing stairs to the second floor bedroom area. This is the great outdoors; wildlife, fishing, tubing, swimming, bike riding everywhere, golf, star gazing, exploring lava fields and caves. The "Village" stores have pretty much what you may want to buy for a premium price; It's about 25 minuets to Bend, OR where the Walmart and mosquito repellent are.

Room Tip: Rooms backed to the golf course provide very nice evening viewing; deer, star gazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Moosictraveler,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sunriver Resort. Sorry to hear your teenage children did not have the same experience as most of the teenage children who stay with us at Sunriver Resort. Please know there are endless activities available for all ages at Sunriver Resort and one of our friendly staff would be more than happy to help coordinate your next vacation.

We look forward to the opportunity to win your entire family over!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I had lots of fun this year with y family in Sunriver. I usually do not write reviews but I really enjoyed our stay and had some of the best service from any resort here than other resorts in have been to. Our kids had a wonderful time in fort funnigan thanks to Dan and a Kelly there. And it put a big smile on our faces to talk to a employee about bikes and biking to Benhem falls. One thing we were concerned about was walking into the bike barn hearing the words drugs, weed and alcohol being thrown around. Would recommend a drug test due to a employe in the back room acting very funny and strange. But other than that event our stay was fantastic. The gentlemen at the pool were very friendly and the folk at the front desk was extremely helpful! Such a beautiful place to spend the weekend. Will be back very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jakejohnson113,

We are glad to hear you had such an amazing time at Sunriver Resort. We appreciate you sharing your experience at our bike barn and please know we will be sure to address this with our team. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to join us again, possibly for our upcoming Traditions celebration.

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We rented a house in the Mountain View Lodge area, right across from the SHARC recreation center. Great location, easy to bike/walk to SHARC and Village. Wish the SHARC stayed open later for adult hours. Not super impressed with the life guarding, so keep your kids within arms reach. But the facility was great, lots to do with younger kids, life jackets provided. We even did the tubing hill in the summer. Bike trails make it easy to get around without your car. Saw lots of wildlife in the less busy areas. Fun family movies in the village. The house was older, but well equipped. No air conditioning, but there were plenty of fans. Nice deck with BBQ that was a great spot for morning coffee and evening BBQ. We would recommend this to families with kids who want an active vacation and want to save money by eating in,. Nice to have bunk beds in the 2nd bedroom. Our condo held 8 and we were comfortable, not cramped.

Room Tip: Mountain View Lodge 1 is an end unit, not much noise, even though close to road and rec. center. Dee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mthrshp30,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sunriver Resort. We appreciate you bringing your concerns regarding the SHARC lifeguards to our attention, we will be sure to share this feedback with the Sunriver Homeowners Association who manages this facility. In addition to the SHARC, we hope you had the opportunity to visit our outdoor lodge pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We rented a house in Caldera Springs, the newest part of the Sunriver resort area during mid-August 2013. There were nine of us in our family group between the ages of 17 and 77. For my husband and I, this was our first trip to Oregon. With no young children, we were glad to be outside the hubbub of the main Sunriver area, yet within a short bike or car ride of all the attractions. Caldera Springs area has its own lovely pool area, which is fun and active without being over-crowded (it's a bit of a competition to find a shaded area near the pool in August, but you can always call on the helpful staff to bring out another lounge chair or move things around to make you comfortable.) Renting a very large house (I think there were 6 bathrooms!) worked out well for our group. There was so much to do, we could easily have stayed another week and still not have done it all from hiking, kayaking, bike riding, horseback riding, relaxing by the pool and shopping and eating in Bend. The restaurants and stores in Bend were excellent enough to please our rather discerning group from New York City, San Francisco and Philadelphia. That is saying a lot! Coming from New York City, and being completely unfamiliar with Oregon, I was amazed at the constant sunny, dry weather in this part of Central Oregon.

The house we rented was huge, and the premises were beautiful. There were 4 bedrooms, 2 with their own bathrooms, and 9 of us fit in comfortably. For all the square footage, we could have used more "reader friendly" seating and lighting, and would have happily given up several of the almost countless large screen TVs in exchange for same. My husband and I enjoyed the working fireplace in our bedroom. We would have traded some of the square footage of our enormous bathroom for some flooring that was soft to walk on and a shower mirror or other bathroom mirror we could get close to. But I've been told I have unusually high standards when it comes to accommodations, and the accommodations were more than adequate.

All in all, it was a great vacation, and I would be happy to go back anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear NewYork_NYBlackbird,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Sunriver Resort. It is wonderful to hear you were able to stay at our resorts newest addition, Caldera Springs! Caldera Springs delivers the perfect getaway with a private pool, fitness facilities, tennis courts as well as The Lake House.

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you choose to visit Central Oregon!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunriver Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.