We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, but mostly family oriented.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunriver Resort to your Saves list
Sunriver Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, but mostly family oriented.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I recently stayed at this property from Aug 8 - 11, 2013

Check in was quick and efficient. We were told that we had a great view from our guesthouse, upon arriving in the room we noticed that our "view" were a couple of trees, that's it.
The room itself was average, nothing exciting about it and looked dated. On a plus side the bed was comfortable. We requested to be moved to a suite and the front desk staff accommodated the request and we were very pleased with how nice and friendly she was to us.

The suite room was absolutely amazing! It was very modern, and catered to everything we were looking for. The upgrade is worth the additional fee.

The Lounge had a good atmosphere, and the patio was very nice. I would suggest to have an area on the patio for "adults only". I love children, but found it distracting when trying to have a conversation with a lot of children everywhere. I do understand that this is a family resort, but in my opinion a "lounge" is not a place for children.

The food was good in the lounge. Great chicken wings!! The drinks were also good. I found the servers were less than friendly, not very helpful and lacked common information about the resort itself.

The golfing was exceptional. The Meadows course and Crosswater, were the most beautiful I've seen. Everything was immaculate.

I found the property over crowded and the staff mostly unfriendly except for a handful that I found to be most helpful and very friendly. The shuttle driver, the room service attendant, 1 front desk clerk, the café server, and the concierge clerk were always smiling and were a pleasure to talk to.

I would recommend this resort for a family vacation but if you are looking for a getaway that is more adult oriented or quieter...this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear TMC38,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Sunriver Resort. Your feedback is invaluable as we are constantly striving to improve our service and standards throughout the resort. I’m pleased to hear about the positive aspects of your stay and would like to assure you I will address the service at the Owl’s Nest with our Director of Restaurants.

I sincerely hope you will choose to return to Sunriver Resort!

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    128
    36
    23
    16
See reviews for
194
140
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Clean, newer, very comfortable house, excellent layout for a family of 6. Great kitchen and master suite. Very satisfied with our stay here in the summer of 2013. We would definitely request this property again when booking a stay in Sunriver.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were in Sunriver for a wedding and rented a home that slept 16. We were there for a week. We had 15 who ranged from 7 months old to 83. Everybody had a great time. Loads of things to do and we tried to do them all but ran out of time. Canoed, did a raft float trip, biked the many easy trails, enjoyed the SHARC facility (busy but full of fun things for kids to do - our 6 and 10 year olds loved it). Some golfed, some hiked (nearby), some went fly fishing on the Deschutes River (outside of the resort although you could do within the resort). Although it was a busy place (and we generally prefer quiet places), we all really enjoyed it. It was very quiet at our home and also at night. We rented our house (Black Bear Lodge) through VRBO and it was perfect for our group. Wouldn't hesitate to go back again. Rehearsal dinner was at Marcello's Cucina Italiana and food was very good. The wedding was at the Great Hall and the food was better than we've ever had at a wedding. Overall, a really nice and fun week!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Overall this resort is average. The rooms are decent and clean, the staff is friendly and the setting of the resort is lovely. However the food is just ok, there are much better places to eat a short drive into Bend, OR, and the rooms are very noisy. It is an older resort and you really do hear everything!

Another down side to this resort is that it really is isolated. If you want variety or things to do in town, Bend is about 15 mins away. Not a huge deal for us but some may find it inconvenient .

Don't get me wrong, if you want a good place to stay with the family, this is the place. It has golf, pools and more activities than I could count to keep the kids happy. If you are looking to relax and enjoy Central Oregon then look elsewhere. This is not a place to go if you want to avoid kids and find peace and quiet.

Again a decent place but not our scene, we won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Ishinmiso,

We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed to hear you did not have the same experience as most of our guests who stay at Sunriver Resort. I would agree that Sunriver is an amazing family destination with an abundance of activities for everyone. However, we do have several accommodations that are perfect for couples and those traveling alone. It would be my pleasure to personally assist in booking your future reservation and ensuring we find you a quiet location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunriver Resort in the near future!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This resort has a lot going for it, but we could not understand the smoking policy. The rooms are non smoking but it is OK to smoke 10 feet from the doors! The first room we entered had 2 smokers outside on the deck below. Pretty view and you open your patio door and the smoke rises through the grate in to your room! We moved rooms over to another building and were on the ground level. This time the room beside us had smokers on the deck. We could not enjoy spacious patio. Further the large decks are all made of wood and the forest fire warnings around the resort were extreme.
We would not return to this resort unless we could be assured smoking was not permitted on the decks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sage95,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Sunriver Resort. Please know that we are currently in the process of updating our policies and procedures in regards to this issue.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is our third trip to Sun River over the past 5 years. We loved the home we rented, great location, great value, well maintained and comfortably slept 10. We had many fun activities to do daily ... lots of fun for all ages. Our family did many fun things including, bike riding, white water river rafting, river float, exploring the lava caves and an afternoon at the SHARC. We look forward to going back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Sunriver is one of the best place in the country for a family to visit. There are activities for everyone and the views and open space are intoxicating. I would recommend for family reunions, trips in the summer, winter ski vacations, golf, swimming, biking, hiking, horse back riding, the list goes on and on. Rates are pretty good too and the just remodeled the Mall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunriver Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.