We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunriver Resort to your Saves list
Sunriver Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Rates From $119
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family of 4 as well as my dad & his dog stayed in 2 rooms at the lodge. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. They had many fun things to do and the restaurants were great. They are also very pet-friendly everywhere you go.

If there was anything remotely negative, it would be that they need to add more shopping :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    125
    35
    23
    16
See reviews for
188
135
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is an incredible location. You're essentially in a beautiful nature area with lots of comforts and many activities. For kids this is as close to heaven as you can get with so many outdoor things to do, We did hiking, biking, kayaking, white water rafting, cave exploring, horse riding, and my 6 year old loved it all. What I really enjoyed was after a busy morning to go back to the room, relax and then hang out at one of the pools or just ride the bikes around to the village to enjoy the bumper cars or get ice cream.

For us adults we used the fitness center, tennis courts and lap pool for excersize. I'm not a golfer but people seemed to enjoy the many courses quite a lot.

The hotel staff is very friendly and eager to help, and the feeling is not of a hotel as the rooms are dispersed in small groups across the resort.

While I would recommend this place to any family with active kids who enjoy the outdoors, there are a couple of drawbacks:

a) We had a suite which has 2 floors. The layout is good but the temp control is a mess. It gets extremely hot upstairs and to keep it cool you need the downstairs AC set to extra cold. This is quite an inconvenience. We had a couple of days where the temp hit the 80s and the upstairs area was a sauna, while downstairs the AC was on 65. That's just poor design.

b) The food in the resort is very 'american' - Burgers, pizza, salads, etc.. There is very little variety. If you like Asian food, are a vegetarian or have some other food requirements such as gluten-free diets, things get challenging. It was not too bad for us as we used the full-kitchen at the suite to cook breakfast and dinner, but for lunch this was a bit of an issue.

Otherwise, this was a great resort and we will be coming back in future summers (but a bit better prepared with the food)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We chose the River Lodge for the July 4th long weekend. It was a lovely stay. The concierge, Brenda, was a great advocate for the Sunriver/Bend area. She listened to what we were looking for (easier hikes) and recommended several in the area. She printed out maps and the text of guides for those hikes. We were delighted with the hike from Tumalo Falls up to the next 2 sets of waterfalls. We also liked the hike up the Big Obsidian Flow in the Newberry National Monument. The patio off our room overlooked part of the golf course and a pond with lots of visiting red-winged blackbirds. It was so relaxing to sit on the patio with snacks just watching nature and the golfers. The room looked like it had been renovated not too long ago. I would gladly go back there. The only thing missing was a microwave. (The rooms with microwaves were already booked.)

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your very positive 4th of July experience at Sunriver Resort. Brenda will be delighted to hear you enjoyed the Tumalo Falls hike and her customer service exceeded your expectations. We are more than happy to provide a microwave upon request, please feel free to request this through our front desk during your next stay.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Sunriver Resort!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Sunriver Resort three nights on a recent visit to Oregon. I cannot say enough about the friendliness of the staff, from check in, to the golf course, and restaurants. Everyone took the time to chat, asking where we were from, and about our day, just extremely friendly all the way around. The room was comfortable with a very rustic feel, with an outdoor seating area. However, there were several things that bothered me. We were traveling with our grown daughter, and attempted to go to the hot tub the first evening about 9:30, to find no clean towels and no working jets. We called for clean towels, but they never arrived. Within in few minutes, the guy who maintains the pool area showed up to kick us out because the pool needed to be treated, which was okay, we understood, but we inquired about the jets and was told they had not worked all season? The second evening, we returned to the hot tub with no working jets just to relax, once again no clean towels, we called again for towels, they never showed up. We also could not get any reception on the TV, so basically had nothing much to do after dinner. Free Wi Fi was provided, but it was slower than molasses. I am not sure this resort would be top n my list if we revisit the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you sharing your honest feedback concerning your recent experience at Sunriver Resort. It will be my pleasure to share your kind comments regarding the friendliness of our staff with our whole team at Sunriver Resort.

I would like to apologize for the aspects of your stay that did not live up to our typical standards of service. Please know that thanks to your detailed feedback, I have already reviewed these aspects of your stay with our hot tub and housekeeping teams to ensure that we handle these situations appropriately going forward.

We hope that you will provide us with an opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the near future!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

From reservation to arrival through the stay and upon departure, everything was first class and everyone on the staff was exceptional. They handle every detail as if they were serving the most special person in their own families and, as a result, they make everyone who stays there feel like an hionored guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that we provided you with a WOW experience! Please know that I will absolutely share your complimentary remarks with our staff as I know it will mean a great deal to them.

It will be our pleasure to extend a warm welcome back to Sunriver Resort!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A true DESTINATION resort. Everything you need is right here. Whether for couples, family, friends or even if you want solitude by yourself, this place has it all - Activities, relaxing, shopping, dining. The SHARC was a great addition to Sunriver for fabulous swimming area - free for resort guests. Pool, lazy river, water slides.... it was a blast. Short distance from Sunriver Lodge - we rode our bikes -- a mile? from the room. There are plenty of bikes to rent either by hour, 1 day or 2 days, or bring your own. LOTS of paved trails that are fairly flat throughout the resort. The Village has great restaurants, shopping. There's a full-stocked grocery store. Our room only had a cube refrigerator (like for a dorm) and no microwave (I suggested that it would be a nice addition). We purchased milk, cereal, fruits to cover breakfast. Room service available but we felt it was pricey - 20% gratuity plus $4 delivery. But for those who want to use that option, it is available for breakfast, lunch, dinner. The grocery store in Village has a fabulous deli - great lunch option for sandwich etc. We saved the restaurant dining for dinner. Village Pub and Grill was our favorite - great menu selection, excellent food and friendly service. The deck with our room had rocking chairs - perfect for relaxing. Parking lot at lodge buildings may be full, but area is so private, it's hard to tell there are others nearby! We had a spa at the end of our building. PERFECT water temp - not too hot, not too cold. We used it a lot. Marina is great. Take a canoe or kayak trip 6 miles down the gently flowing Deschutes river. There's signage where to get out and hop the shuttle ride back to Marina. Entire "float" from start to finish about 2 hours and worth every penny. Wildlife, scenery along the way.... peaceful beautiful. Seriously, why stay ANYWHERE else?

Room Tip: All rooms in the lodge are wonderful. You are so close to everything. Park the car when you arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for so many outstanding comments regarding your entire stay at Sunriver Resort. We are extremely happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the many wonderful activities offered in Sunriver. Possible activities you may want to consider during your next stay at Sunriver Resort include golf at any of our four golf courses, a relaxing day at Sage Springs Club & Spa, or dinner at our award winning Crosswater Club which is exclusive for Sunriver Resort guests and Crosswater members.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the future!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Unit 69 had everything we needed, except patio furniture. The kitchen was very well equipped, and there was a DVD player and i-pod players. Very large rooms and 2 master bedroom suites. The tile tub-showers were a little difficult to get into for my wife because of the high sides of the tile tubs. Overall, the Sunriver resort has everything for the family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent experience at Sunriver Resort. Please know that we will share the details of your feedback with the owners of 69 Quelah.

It will be our pleasure to extend a warm welcome back!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunriver Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.