We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but no attention to details” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunriver Resort to your Saves list
Sunriver Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Rates From $119
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
1 review
“Nice place, but no attention to details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Someone Gave me a gift certificate to stay here so I came from Portland for a relaxing getaway weekend. We checked in late on a Friday and the guy at the front desk wasn't very helpful. He barely spoke to us except to give us our room key. We were given a map of the area but weren't old about any of he amenities available to us. When we got to our room it was nice upon first view but once we got through the door I was very unimpressed. The room looked like it had been recently remodeled which was nice but it was clear that te room hadn't been cleaned very thoroughly and without much attention to detail. There were water marks on the counters, a squished bug on the wall, shampoo residue on the wall and floor into bathroom, hair in the toilet, empty sugar packets next to the bed, ashes on the furniture in the outdoor patio, and worst of all there were clearly visible and crusty bodily fluid stains on the duvet cover and blanket at the foot of the bed.

On top of that when we went to talk to the concierge he gave us a map of hiking trails and then directions to get to the trails. We got in the car and started following the directions. About 40 minutes later we realized something didn't seem right because we were back in downtown Bend, not anywhere near any lava flows or hiking trails. It was a pretty big inconvenience I take 2 extra hours out of our day in drivin for less than 4 miles of hiking.

Not everything was horrible though. The staff at the restaurants were nice and friendly and the girl who checked us out
was very professional and nice.

I know I didnt pay for this room myself, but someone did and I felt that the cleanliness severely detracted from the overall quality of our stay. I would absolutely hesitate to recommend this place to people asking for accommodation recommendations in central Oregon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Guest Relations Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at Sunriver Resort. While I’m very happy to have the opportunity to applaud the restaurant staff on a job well done, I was disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations regarding the other aspects of your stay. Please know that thanks to your detailed feedback we have addressed these issues with our team, as this is not the level of service that we expect at Sunriver Resort. Please feel free to contact me directly should you decide to return. It would be my pleasure to personally assist with your stay.

Megan Roe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    125
    35
    23
    16
See reviews for
188
135
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Grove
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a golf course view and such a comfortable condo. They boast 300 days of sunshine a year. Maintance was meticulous everywhere without losing the naturalness of the forest. There are bike/jogging paths everywhere. We enjoyed the High Desert Museum

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This review is for the home located on 7 Lava Top that we booked through the Sunriver Resport. My wife and I stayed at this home with her family for a vacation in August. The home is about a half mile from SHARC (new aquatic pool area) and a mile from the Sunriver Village. It is a 3 bedroom house with each bedroom having their own bathroom. The house had a nice deck in the back and a hot tub. It was a perfect size house and easily fit 6 people without any problems. The resort was very helpful in making the reservation. Sunriver is a great area to vacation and this home was in a central location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Guest Relations Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are so happy that you returned to Sunriver Resort for a second summer in a row. It’s wonderful to see and share your Trip Advisor reviews with our team. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the owner of 7 Lava Top, they will be so pleased to hear you enjoyed their home. Thank you for highlighting our outstanding Reservations Team, who work extremely hard to find the perfect accommodation for each guest.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sunriver Resort!

Megan Roe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everything about Sunriver Resort was amazing. The views & scenery were spectacular, the staff was attentive and friendly. Plenty of choices for eating & drinking, be sure to try the Portabella Fries & Mac & Cheese at the newly opened Brewery in Village Center. It is the perfect vacation destination. p.s. great marathon course.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Guest Relations Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at Sunriver Resort. I was happy to hear you were able to participate in Sunriver Resorts 2nd Annual Marathon for a Cause, and congratulations on completing the Marathon. This year’s event was a huge success. We had 1,000 participants, a 30% increase from last year.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to cheer you on again next year!

Megan Roe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Awesome family destination. So much to do on property...from biking to walking, canoeing, hiking, golfing, horseback riding and more. You go once...and you'll get hook forever. 2 years ago, we rented a condo and this year we rented a private home. We will do the very same when we return. And thius is isn't only a Summer destination...winter is equally beautiful. Thank you for making our annual vacation such a great one.

Room Tip: Great options between main hotel and private homes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a hidden gem, in the sense that I have not seen it on lists of "best family friendly resorts."

It is in a part of Oregon that does NOT see a lot of rain. Check weather.com for the Bend area.

It is a sprawling, large resort area which combines hotel rooms, condos and private homes.

There are more amenities than you can shake a stick at, but here's a shot at a partial list:
- outdoor (well) heated pools & hot tubs
- horseback riding & pony rides
- a river with available rafts, canoes and kayaks - can rent on your own or go on a guided trip. If you go on your own, they will send a van ahead to meet you and drive you back.
- MANY miles of bike paths and available bike rentals of all sorts and sizes.
- a "village" similar to a ski resort with restaurants and shops, including local tour and outdoor adventure operators
- a "ropes course" (team building and physical challenges)
- serious golf stuff, and lots of it (although I am not a golfer, the course was beautiful and there was putting and pitch/putt as well)
- tennis
- a waterpark called Sharc with 2 water slides, like 5 pools (indoor and outdoor), a lazy river, a tidal bowl thing (like swirling in a giant toilet, except clean), and a giant inner tube slide (this is a non-water attraction but it is in the water park - they wax a tube and you go down a big outdoor slide), rock climbing walls
- lots more
- and, in addition, third parties operate stuff out of the village that the concierge can help you with. all sorts of outdoor things like mountain biking, white water rafting, hiking, etc.

We stayed 3 nights / 4 days and want to go back for a week! It was myself, my wife and our 10-year-old daughter.

The hotel (where we stayed) is well maintained and the rooms are clean and large. We had a "loft room" with two queen beds and a bathroom in a loft overlooking a living room area with a pullout sofa, flatscreen and fireplace. There was also a balcony with chairs, a kitchenette, and a second full bathroom - great for families!

On the first day, we did the water park. The pools were well heated and although busy it was not overly crowded. You would wait 3-4 minutes to use a water slide. No wait for the lazy river, although my one criticism is that they should not let people in without a tube. No wait also for the non-water tube slide, which was a lot of fun (keep your feet in the air so they don't hit the sides on the way down!). There was food available and live music when we were there, although I understand the live music is not usually there.

On the second day, we did the "Paulina Plunge" - a great 3rd party mountain biking adventure which is advertised in the hotel materials. You are driven to the top of a mountain and bike (downhill 90% of the time) down the mountain on single tracks and unpaved roads. Safety is put first and kids of any age that can handle a bike are welcome. If you just got off training wheels however, I would not recommend it. On the way down, you stop at 3 waterfalls and can go swimming. It is cold, but not as cold as you might expect and a great break from biking on a hot day. In one of the waterfalls, you slide down natural (smooth!) rock slides into the water. You bring a picnic lunch and stop on the way for this at a scenic overlook. Highly recommended!

On the third day, we did the ropes course and biked around the property on rented bikes. The ropes course was a lot of fun, although if you have done several of these you will probably find that this one is a bit "basic" except for the last challenge - a free-swinging, suspended rock-climbing wall. The bikes are easily rented in all types and sizes, and come with "free" helmets and locks (you don't really need the locks within the resort, but as New Yorkers, we couldn't overcome our bias and used the locks). The bike trails are paved, well marked, and EXTENSIVE. As in, if you had a week and did nothing but bike the trails, you could not cover them all. If you even moderately hardy bikers, you could do everything on the property travelling only by bike.

On the fourth day, we did a raft trip down the river and visited the nearby "Obsidian Flow Trail." The raft trip was great - you are literally by yourself (we chose unguided) on a natural river through a national forest. You can stop and explore, or just continue down the river. There is a "getout" point that is well marked and manned the whole day by resort personnel, who get you a van back to the resort. If I did it again, I would get canoes or kayaks for the added maneuverability, although the raft is fine for those who prefer a steadier craft. The Obsidian Flow Trail is a must-see if in the area, I will just leave it at that.

I should mention that we ate breakfast in our room that we prepared ourselves. Other than picnic lunches, we ate at 4 restaurants:
- Brewhous (pub, in the village): nice burgers, good appetizers.
- Marcello's (Italian, in the village): this was ok. I would say average. So, fine and kid-friendly. We enjoyed it.
- Meadow (main lodge): expensive, but good. Very kid-friendly, Beautiful views. American cuisine.
- Owl's Nest (main lodge): publike, but a wide variety of food. EXCELLENT nachos. Get the chili. Also very kid friendly - same kids menu as the Meadow.

Overall, I saw kids from toddlers to teen-agers enjoying the multitude of available activities and I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POrtland, OR
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The staff was great. It was our 1st visit to Sunriver resort
and although some things may have not have gone as well as they could have
(No Hot H20 1st night and no AC 2nd night), the problems were emeadiatley addressed.
The staff aims to please and couldn't have been any better! Katherine (Katie) was patient
with our sleep in's and thorough with her cleaning (we had 2 teenagers).
It was a fantastic week with so much to do and enjoy, alone or in a group! Cycling,
swimming, standup paddle boarding. Our golf scores didn't reflect our capabilities,
Meadows has a very tight fairways and the OB's can pile up on your scorecard. But the beauty
of this resort and friendliness of it's staff will help you forget the pains of those scores.
Make no mistake, We will back. Thank you!
Highly reccomend bike barn and the marina for paddle boarding.
Best Regards & Thanks to Jerry, James,
Joni and Scott.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunriver Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.