We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's been 20+ years since our last visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunriver Resort to your Saves list
Sunriver Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Rates From $119
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
No CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's been 20+ years since our last visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was a reaquaint ourselves visit at this property and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Candidly, we can't remember why we forgot about this property for 20+ yrs, but suspect it was because of the long drive to get there, however, the Bend/Redmond airport is only 30ish miles away and airfares can be affordable, so it's back on our list of travel destinations.
The Meadows golf course was still open, but due to close for the season in a day or so, and its condition was great. Due to the seasonal weather change we weren't able to enjoy other nearby outdoor amenities, but look forward to experiencing those upon return during warmer weather.
The shuttle van service was great - very quickly available.
All the staff were friendly, warm and professional - must be a great employer to have such a large pool of seemingly happy employees providing great service.
We're hopeful to encourage our family to join us during our next visit.

Room Tip: Watch for special rates advertised on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    125
    35
    23
    16
See reviews for
188
135
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We love the state of Oregon, it's such a beautiful part of the country. Over the years members of our family have moved out here because of this. We have traveled here four times now and can.t wait to visit again. Your lodge is not only a good place to stay and relax, its a great place for a large gathering for all the people you care about. There is something for everyone to enjoy. It's the most healthy vacation you could ask for. If you feel you need to diet, well skip it and go to Sunriver, instead. If you do everything they have to offer you'll be fit enough to go on Dancing with the Stars program. I wish I could live there year around.

Room Tip: Ask for their help. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Well executed resort in an attractive setting. Especially liked the restaurant. The construction of the buildings didn't feel all that solid, but everything worked fine. The various pathways could be better lit and marked, but that's a minor quibble. All in all, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuPont, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is our 4th year & we would recommend Sunriver to all! October is so beautiful and near perfect weather for the season. Golden leaves, smell of wood smoke, crisp nights and daily visits by the local deer population. We love the bike paths with the benches along the way for stopping and enjoying the sights. Can't imagine a more beautiful area for vacationing this time of year!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was my second trip to the resort--for the same meeting, two years in a row. I have been quite pleased with the resort--it's absolutely gorgeous in autumn. The conference staff treat us very well, with a comfortable room, good food and prompt friendly services. They clearly attend to the training of their staff--the quality of service was very good throughout. Their basic room is quite nice--I certainly have no complaints--good bed, good linens, very clean, decent TV channels, gas fireplace in corner, balcony with chairs for relaxing, etc. I had raccoons on my balcony the first night (clearly used to humans, they would have come in to the room if I had opened the door--which I didn't!), and then a lovely family of deer wandering through the parking lot the next morning. Very pretty. Food in the main dining room was my least favorite component of the stay--overpriced for what I got, in my opinion. But there wasn't anything wrong with it. The only other downside pertains to the entire Sun River community--it's darn hard to find your way around. The roads curve and twist, and directions aren't straightforward. On a good day, that makes for a pleasant meander, but if you are late, it can be frustrating. But I do like the resort, and will happily return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Sunriver is a big family-oriented resort with everything: golf, swimming, biking, fishing, skiing, hiking, restaurants, bars, conventions and conferences. They're even building a water park. What it doesn't have is peace and quiet. This is a very busy place. The resort itself is adjacent to what is essentially a small, bustling city with more restaurants, shops, grocery stores, gas stations, etc. There are hundreds of rental homes that are not affiliated with the resort itself.

The resort's rooms are scattered around the property in what are essentially tri-plexes. There is no adult only areas and the walls are not thick, so the chances that you're going to get a room next a family with kids is pretty high. Also, this place is not cheap. Three nights there cost us close to $600 for a small room, and since we were gone all day fishing off the property we were only there at night.

So, if you like big, active places this is it. If you want something more serene try Black Butte, another resort about an hour away.

Room Tip: Since the walls are thin and there are a lot of kids, for a room with an outer wall. That way you cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Beach, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My arrival was met with a very friendly, professional staff at the front desk as well as an offer to take my bags. My room was wonderful! Comfortable, warm, homey, but very elegant. Fully equipped. I expecially enjoyed the gas fireplace. Didn't just look nice but also helped to heat the room and gave it a warmer feel. The loft-style bedroom was a big plus. Housekeeping staff and building maintenance staff were wonderful! Prompt, professional, helpful, thorough and friendly. These people don't get the credit they so richly deserve for what they do. As do the restaurant staff. Again very kind, professional, helpful, and understanding. Overall in my opinion this is the only place to hold a large conference. Meeting facilities were great. Every possible need taken care of. For the level of class and professionalism this Resort has you will never find friendlier or more helpful and enjoyable people to stay with. This is the place to be. But be warned, you won't want to go home!

Room Tip: "Lodge" rooms ("L" buildings) were the rooms that I stayed in........WOW! I cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver_Resort, Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for recognizing our outstanding staff. Sunriver Resort employees take great pride in providing exemplary service to our guests and it shows. We look forward to serving you again on a future visit.

Scott Ellender
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunriver Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.