We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything ... except” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunriver Resort to your Saves list
Sunriver Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Rates From $119
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Everything ... except”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Sunriver is a big family-oriented resort with everything: golf, swimming, biking, fishing, skiing, hiking, restaurants, bars, conventions and conferences. They're even building a water park. What it doesn't have is peace and quiet. This is a very busy place. The resort itself is adjacent to what is essentially a small, bustling city with more restaurants, shops, grocery stores, gas stations, etc. There are hundreds of rental homes that are not affiliated with the resort itself.

The resort's rooms are scattered around the property in what are essentially tri-plexes. There is no adult only areas and the walls are not thick, so the chances that you're going to get a room next a family with kids is pretty high. Also, this place is not cheap. Three nights there cost us close to $600 for a small room, and since we were gone all day fishing off the property we were only there at night.

So, if you like big, active places this is it. If you want something more serene try Black Butte, another resort about an hour away.

Room Tip: Since the walls are thin and there are a lot of kids, for a room with an outer wall. That way you cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    125
    35
    23
    16
See reviews for
188
135
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway Beach, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My arrival was met with a very friendly, professional staff at the front desk as well as an offer to take my bags. My room was wonderful! Comfortable, warm, homey, but very elegant. Fully equipped. I expecially enjoyed the gas fireplace. Didn't just look nice but also helped to heat the room and gave it a warmer feel. The loft-style bedroom was a big plus. Housekeeping staff and building maintenance staff were wonderful! Prompt, professional, helpful, thorough and friendly. These people don't get the credit they so richly deserve for what they do. As do the restaurant staff. Again very kind, professional, helpful, and understanding. Overall in my opinion this is the only place to hold a large conference. Meeting facilities were great. Every possible need taken care of. For the level of class and professionalism this Resort has you will never find friendlier or more helpful and enjoyable people to stay with. This is the place to be. But be warned, you won't want to go home!

Room Tip: "Lodge" rooms ("L" buildings) were the rooms that I stayed in........WOW! I cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver_Resort, Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for recognizing our outstanding staff. Sunriver Resort employees take great pride in providing exemplary service to our guests and it shows. We look forward to serving you again on a future visit.

Scott Ellender
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Imagine sitting in the Lodge restaurant just before dawn, waiting for a fabulous breakfast, with the full moon setting over the snowy-capped Cascades when the sunrise begins to awaken the full color spectrum of Fall! Every cup of coffee should be this good! :-)

Room Tip: River Lodges are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmett, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is a great place. I came for a conference, expecting the same old venue you get for a conference. Was I surprised! The rooms are gorgeous, spacious and they have a gas fireplace! The bathroom was huge and sparkling clean. There was a walk out patio where you could sit and over look the golf course. It was very private, with bushes on each side so you didn't have to engage with your neighbors if you didn't want to. It was so quiet, you didn't hear a thing at night. it was so much better than an urban setting. I'll come back for a vacation someday. I really didn't want to leave and could have stayed for the rest of the week without a second thought except that my boss wouldn't have approved at all.

Room Tip: The rooms by the lodge were great, you have a little patio overlooking the golf course and they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We've been there before in the summer, but this was our first fall experience and it was excellent as usual.

Room Tip: Wildwood Townhomes worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prineville, Oregon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was our first overnight stay as participants at a convention, although we had previously visited the Sunriver community on various day trips. Our room was clean and quiet, and an easy walk from the main Lodge and the Great Hall (where the convention events were held). We enjoyed the gas fireplace and the mini-fridge in our room. We enjoyed our meals in the Lodge restaurants - the food and service were superb! The wait staff was incredibly attentive without being intrusive. We didn't have an opportunity to use the pool but it looked inviting and clean. The mountain scenery and trees on the property are beautiful - the maples were turning bright red and the Aspens were quaking in the breeze. Be sure to have a map or a GPS navigator to find your way around the community!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We loved the Sunriver Resort and our river lodge room was beautiful! The service was wonderful, including room service. My husband enjoyed playing golf at the Woodlands. The staff bends over backwards to accommodate you. The Sage Spa was a wonderful experience. There's something for everyone. Hiking, biking, horseback riding, fishing, you name it, it's there. The only bad thing is there's not enough time to do everything!!
Did not like the food at Holas but the food at Marcelo's in the village was excellent.The weather was lovely in September and it was quiet except for a convention that kept the staff hopping. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunriver Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.