We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Falls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Falls State Park

Silver Falls State Park
Ore. 214, Salem, Sublimity, OR
503-873-8681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Sublimity
Type: State Parks, Waterfalls, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A park located in the state's only rain forest, with beautiful waterfalls and hiking trails.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The park is very big and it's good for trail running, hiking, picnic, walking, running, biking. I went here with my mom and brother and on that day, there was a marathon so it was really nice. I felt a bit jealous not running with them. Lol. We walked inside the falls and it was nice. The view here is really and I find it relaxing and calming. Just wear comfortable shoes that can be suitable for hiking.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    55
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Trail of Ten Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

If you are visiting the Willamette Valley, or live in Oregon but have never been here, Silver Falls is a must-see. Stunning views throughout, easy-moderate hikes but be sure to wear good hiking shoes. Trail gets slippery in the rain so always be cautious. There is a visitor center/gift shop where you can get maps or you can get trail maps off their website. Excellent parking and restroom facilities.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, OR
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“This place is magical... really”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

It was a cold rainy November weekend. What possessed us to go to Sliverton then is a long story but had a happy ending.It was such miserable weather we decided to take a drive to Sliver Falls State park, just to do something and stay dry. We ended up staying the afternoon.

It was fairly protected in there from the winds and the rain had lightened up to where we hiked in and saw 3 waterfalls. The South falls is amazing! You can walk behind it and the paths are well constructed and maintained. After our invigorating walk we came up to the very charming lodge that was built in the 30's by the CCC and there was a giant fire roaring in the fire place to greet us. It was like coming home. There were 2 volunteers in the lodge happy for company and cheerful to talk to. (we were seriously the ONLY people in the park.)

Then we meandered over to the gift shop, which was also maned by charming volunteers. Come to find out, this place is a local treasure that the community volunteers to staff. It is lovingly kept up and staffed. Sliver Falls is one of our new favorite parks. I hear the place is a zoo in the summer and I can see why! Great place but do not fear going there in the winter, as the fire is lit and the friendly staff are waiting. Oh, and you'll have the place to yourself!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“How often do you get to walk under a waterfall ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a very fun area. Lots of hiking trails, camping, and mountain bike trails. The hiking tails are in good shape usually even when it rains. The mountain bike trails can get muddy though. If you are in the area make sure you stop and take a look, it's a one of a kind attraction.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“10 amazing waterfalls - we only saw 4 but I hope to go back and see the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Two of the waterfalls we could actually walk around behind. One of those was a bit further from the parking lots and therefore had far less people, and it was actually quite easy to get down to the base of the falls, but there was so much water crashing down that it was a bit too scary to do so. But it was a wonderful feeling having the spray coming up to you, being in the midst of all that superb greenery. I highly recommend going midday so the sun is hitting, because everything wet looks more beautiful when the sun is shining on it. Some of the falls are just a quick walk from the parking lots, some take a bit more time. Some sections a bit steep, but nothing overly difficult.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Silver Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Falls State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.