We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plank Town Brewing Company

Plank Town Brewing Company
346 Main Street, Springfield, OR 97477
541-746-1890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 151 Restaurants in Springfield
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Plank Town is a good place to go in order to grab a drink and dinner while hanging out with friends. If you like mac and cheese I do recommend you try that dish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I went with a group of ladies. We were all very eager to try this place out. The prices are just too high for average food. Two elderly ladies in the group ordered the Ginger Chicken salad. They charged about $10 for these ... TINNNNY salads. The salad was spread out on the plates which looked filling, but sadly the side salads on the other plates were twice the size of this $10 salad. There was barely enough for these ladies to eat and fill like they had a meal. Not to mention there was no chicken to be found in the salads.

I ordered the Cuban sandwich. First off the sauce...habanero salsa was a sauce. And toooo spicy to eat comfortably. The bun was so wet...I could not eat it. Completely not worth the $. Actually, none of the ladies were happy enough with the average food to go back.

The picinic tables are pretty, but too huge to be able to hear ourselves thru the other noise in the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“visiting from out of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great place to stop in and have a beer, good selection on tap the dry fried green beans they are amazing smoky bbq flavor to them and the calamari was good, clean place and the staff are friendly the bartender made a mean old fashioned, foggy scotsman are pretty good too..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great menu - delicious burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The first time we ate at Plank Town we were disappointed with the food and service, but thought it would be best to give it one more chance. Yesterday (over a year later), we decided to give it that second chance and we are so glad we did! First off, our waitress was great - very friendly and very attentive. We had a party of 3 for dinner – all ordering burgers with crab cakes as an appetizer. All agreed that everything about our meal tasted fresh and of a higher quality. We decided to test their cocktail skills and they did not disappoint. We ordered their Jalapeno Margarita along with Long Islands and they were all refreshingly perfect! As much as we love the feel and vibe of Plank Town, it is extremely hard to hold a conversation as it is a very loud environment. Even though the atmosphere is far from relaxing, the food makes it worth another return...very soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneta, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I very rarely get over to Springfield but surely I will come here again. The beer is truly different. All I can say is this place has some of the easiest drinking beers I have had.

We split all three tasters so we could try everything possible and Reggie (Sir Reginald English IPA) and the Foggy Scotsman Porter were among the winners. But there was not a "bad" beer in the bunch.

Foggy Scotsman Porter 5.2% ABV, 25 IBU
Complex and smoky
Reggie English IPA 5.5% ABV, 65 IBU
Very clean and drinkable

The food was not bad and I would like to try more some time, Better than average, gastro-pubby , bar food. We tried the Plank Fries ~ the house made ketchup was a treat .They were topped with fresh garlic and herbs . The Roasted Pepper & Goat Cheese Dip was served with these warm, tasty homemade flour tortilla chips .

Atmosphere
it was nice - large with a rustic feel in an older restored building, smack in the middle of downtown. sparse woody decor. Mellow. At least it was mid-weekday.

Service:
Acceptable. Our waitress was friendly but she was a bit slow at times considering how empty it was.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plank Town Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Plank Town Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plank Town Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.