We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mookie's Northwest Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mookie's Northwest Grill
400 International Way, Suite 150, Springfield, OR
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Blue River, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We have eaten at Mookie's for years, first at the old funky location, and several times at their new spot. In the past we always found the food exceptionally good. After reading the reviews I didn't know what to expect. We made a reservation, arrived early and had a 5 minute wait at the bar. Our server was prompt, friendly and informative. The new trendy setting is nice, but like so many modern restaurants, the noise level is more than you wish for.

Our table ordered a pasta dish, halibut and salmon. The food was fresh and nicely presented. The lemon and caper sauce on the halibut was not great--more like a gravy and lacking flavor. I found out that the original chef, whose food we've loved for years has passed the torch to his son. I hope the food improves.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food a bit difficult to fin.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

While visiting family in Eugene, OR my son's father in law made a reservation at Mookies. Somewhat difficult to find in a rather large office parking, but charming and very good food. Not sure I'd go out of my way to find it, but if you are in the area I'd recommend.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good for a quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Pretty standard lunch fare. Pastas, burgers, sandwiches, soups. I had the vegetarian burger and it was good. They make it with fresh vegetables and a batter so it's better than your standard veggie burger. The service was good and fast despite there being several groups of 10 and more. It was a decent place to grab a quick lunch.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lower the prices to go with the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We walked inside to check out the atmosphere, a very small bar, some booth seating and tables. The bartender didn't even acknowledge us, and eventually a hostess greeted us. We decided to sit outside. We waited probably 10 minutes before anyone came to take a drink order or to at least say they would be there soon. They weren't that busy. Finally a waitress showed up and quipped, " hi, has anyone been here to help you?"..when we told her "no", she acted like she was coming to our rescue. Please....give me a break..we were in her section and she was just trying to save face.
I wanted a glass of red wine and asked about the red blend. She described it as "bold". And then proceeded to tell me it was from King Estates. It was listed from Misty Oaks Winery. Clearly, she had no knowledge at all about the wine list or wine in general. I ordered it anyway, and it was fine.
She kept coming back to get our dinner order, and we told her we were not in a hurry. Finally, we asked what time they closed just so she might get the hint we wanted to relax.
Eventually we did order, my boyfriend got the pasta with feta and olives and tomatoes and I got the oysters with bacon and onions. We both ordered the salad.
Salads came, and they were very good. Especially liked the the croutons. Not sure I'm big on the corn as a garnish, but overall..good.
Dinners finally arrived 45 minutes later. I loved the oysters! Done perfectly, very fresh, bacon was of superior quality and portion was as expected for an appetizer. The pasta was very good, a generous portion and excellent flavor.
The reason we give this restaurant an average rating is because the atmosphere and service do not match up with the prices on the menu. Charge me $12-$15.00 for an entree instead of $22-$28.00, and I won't expect so much from the wait staff.
Given the amount of money you can spend here, this restaurant needs to hire or train there employees better. You would expect some "class" at these prices.
The food was very good, my compliments to the chef..but more attention needs to be paid to the front of the house.
We probably won't be back.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Servers are rude and food is just OK.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

I have been here a few times because I work nearby. Each time the servers take forever just to greet you and they are always rude! The best thing on the menu is the burger but that's not hard to mess up. Everything else is just OK. Not worth it!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mookie's Northwest Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mookie's Northwest Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.