We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta try the blueberry hazelnut pancakes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt Dings Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aunt Dings Family Restaurant
39297 Mckenzie Hwy, Springfield, OR 97478
541-726-9088
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 151 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Northern California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gotta try the blueberry hazelnut pancakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My mother who lives in Springfield has been coming here for years but a couple of months ago she said let's go to Aunt Dings for breakfast. Wow! What a treat! Had the Blueberry Hazelnut Pancakes ..... What a delicious treat. Large order with lots of berries and nuts. Hot syrup and butter and YUM. The chicken fried steak is quite tasty too and the biscuits are large and flaky. I would recommend stopping by on your way up the Mckenzie or a special time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, IN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Family-friendly dining. Daily specials. Dependable quality.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If you are on Hwy 126”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I wouldn't make it out of bed for breakfast, however if you are traveling along 126 to Bend it is a good stop. It is your typical roadside mom and pop place. Kinda laid back service typical coffee and normal food. Nothing on menu is great. Nothing is that expensive either. If you are passing turn in lots of parking for what ever you drive.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My first time at Aunt Dings and I was please with the service and the meal. There was a sign in the entry way that clearly said "Seat Yourself". I was waited on promptly and I ordered the steak melt sandwich and fries. The meal was very good with the fries having a light batter or double fried (crispy on the outside soft and hot on the inside).

I heard the restaurant just changed hands but I cannot confirm that. I would go back for another meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneta, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ask if Buddy is cooking...if so, Go, Eat, Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I have been to Aunt Dings on numerous occasions...although I have never had breakfast there. They have good patty melts, hamburgers and cheeseburgers...there is nothing fancy about the food served here but it is good. They also have a lunch special each day which you can also get half orders...which is more than enough food for me. I will say that some of the younger waitresses would never be considered "Server of the Year" material but they are clean and polite...if a bit inattentive. As I mentioned before Buddy is a wonderful cook and generally works the morning shift...his abilities in the kitchen are a cut above the other cooks at this restaraunt.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunt Dings Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aunt Dings Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt Dings Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.