We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners shouldn't be running a B & B- I have stayed at many more welcoming places, this one isn't one I would recommend.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
34694 McKenzie View Drive, Springfield, OR 97478   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Springfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Owners shouldn't be running a B & B- I have stayed at many more welcoming places, this one isn't one I would recommend.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was here for a wedding last weekend and despite the fact they "welcome dogs," they must mean stuffed ones. We have VERY well-behaved dogs and the woman spent a good chunk of time on the phone w me going back and forth about it, so, I decided to just leave the dogs in the back of the truck to prevent complication.
When going to check out, we didn't get a "good morning," it was all about the check and conversation was short.
With many other options to consider in this area, I don't recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookingteacher1, Owner at McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We obviously could not meet the needs this guest had; she should have stayed somewhere else. She was attending a nearby wedding; the room was booked for her by the bride and groom without her involvement, and they did not mention she had two dogs with her. We believe her dissatisfaction was largely fueled by her finding out upon checkout that she had to pay for the room, as she had expected it was already paid for. Although we welcome dogs, it is subject to our discretion, and her need for a single bedroom with three adults and two dogs was not going to work well here. When she arrived, she in fact told us "I decided not to bring the dogs because it was too much of a hassle", and we thought the issue was settled. In addition, she cannot fairly evaluate our hospitality as she stayed only one night, was here only briefly, came back very late and declined our breakfast, as she was going to a brunch somewhere else. We had even agreed the night before to prepare her a personal breakfast to meet her dietary requirements, even though we had five other rooms to serve. We showed her the same courtesy and services as we give all our guests -- see review posted by Sandra S. who stayed the same night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The moment we arrived at McKenzie Orchards, we were welcomed by our gracious and super helpful hosts, Tom and Karen. They showed us around the place including the guest kitchen and spacious porches. This inn is located on 5 acres near Eugene and the hosts are expert at recommending area attractions and providing directions. The honeymoon suite we had was large, comfortable, quiet, had a great bathroom with jacuzzi e and also large shower. It also had great views of the property including the McKenzie river behind the inn. It was close to many Oregon vineyards, so a tour of some of those provided an interesting adventure. Breakfast cooked by Tom was fantastic and included local fresh fruit.

Room Tip: There are only five rooms and they all had views and looked comfortable. We liked the higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I could not be more happy with our recent stay at McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast. We were in town for a local wedding and it recommended by a friend. I am not a huge fan of bed and breakfasts from my experiences in past but this was completely different. It was more like a 5 room hotel then a B and B. The breakfast provided to us both days was better than the one we paid for in our hotel in Portland. The rooms were gigantic and very clean. The bathroom was huge with giant two-person shower. We stayed in the Paradise room but saw a friend's room which was also fantastic. The grounds are beautiful and the staff literally could not have been any kinder or more accommodating. They were incredibly friendly but never overbearing. I honestly have nothing negative I could say about them. Next time we visit we will definitely stay there again without hesitation. Price was incredibly reasonable as well for what you get. Do not look elsewhere in Springfield/Eugene.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This inn was ideal in all respects for a 2 day reunion of 10 close friends. Rooms were spacious with great beds and bathrooms; the innkeepers were gracious and accommodating; food wonderful and the setting peaceful and restful. Look forward to another visit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The location of this B&B is absolutely beautiful, and the rooms are upscale, comfortable and reasonably priced. The pictures do not do it justice! It’s true, there are no TVs in the rooms, but frankly we didn’t miss it as it is the perfect country spot to curl up with a good book, or just take in the beauty of the grounds. There’s a TV in the lounge downstairs if you find you have to indulge. The owners, Tom and Karen, are delightful and the pride they take in the care of their B&B shows. If you have a dog or two in tow like we did, this B&B could not be more perfect with a couple of rooms that have easy access to the outdoors, and a huge field/meadow where the dogs can romp, play and run. We plan to visit Eugene more often now that we’ve found MacKenzie.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have stayed at McKenzie Orchards B&B twice now and both were wonderful experiences. We stayed recently for the Valentine's Day special that included a cooking demonstration, fantastic dinner and nice quiet evening in a beautiful setting. Our hosts were attentive to every detail, even sent us recipes for the entire dinner they served.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here while exploring Washington and Oregon. The room was large, bright, well appointed, and clean.
The owners were on vacation, and there was a very nice inn "sitter" who took care of us. She brought us wine and a snack tray, and had suggestions on where we could have dinner.
We took a walk down by the river and it was very relaxing.
The next morning we had an excellent gourmet breakfast.
Overall, we would definitely recommend this inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 34694 McKenzie View Drive, Springfield, OR 97478
Location: United States > Oregon > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new luxury country inn eight miles close to Eugene, I-5 and Springfield, Oregon. Five acres with frontage and boat access to the McKenzie River. Five spacious, ultra-comfortable guest rooms with all king beds, deluxe bathrooms, propane fireplaces. Flexible breakfast hours. Meeting and special event facilities. Wifi and hi-speed Internet throughout house. Elevator. Cooking school provides great food and entertainment. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.