We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Halfway House Inn

The Halfway House Inn
Grenofen, Dartmoor National Park PL19 9ER, England
1822612960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Grenofen
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Public House / Restaurant
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Another lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Clive is a brilliant host, the food and atmosphere is good, worth a visit

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing roast dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stopped by here on a sunday after being disappointed by the lack of food outlets that Tavistock had to offer. We arrived at 5.15pm only to find that food didn't start until 6pm however, we were immediately put at ease with the friendly landlord so were happy to stave off our hunger until then. He gave us menus at 5.50pm but when presented with the sunday lunch menu as well as the normal menu we were a little dubious that we might be served re-heated food. But boy oh boy were we wrong!
After being told that a couple items on the main menu weren't available we did, in fact opt for the roast. We were offered a mixture of all 3 meats on the menu and about 40 minutes later we were brought a plateful of deliciousness! Roast chicken with stuffing, roast beef with yorkshire pudding and roast pork with caramelised red cabbage, brocolli, carrots, roast potatoes and cauliflower cheese... not to mention a side plate of pork crackling strips and the tastiest gravy to boot. We cleared our plentiful plates and waddled off back to our local b&b full of £8.95's worth of fabulous food! We WILL be back again :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavistock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have been here quite a few times now and each time the food has been of an excellent standard very tasty reasonably priced and fabulously cooked Great Chef, pub has a nice atmosphere and the open fire is most welcoming , the view are stunning as well an all round great place to go for food

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food but Stitch the greyhound is the real star!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was our first visit to the Halfway House. Four of us went to the restaurant on a February evening. We were the only customers in the main area of the restaurant so there wasn't a great deal of atmosphere but we were really warm and comfortable. The starters were very good and I can recommend the home made pate. My main course was rump steak and I asked for it to be cooked medium rare - my husband ordered sirloin, also medium rare. When the steaks arrived his was cooked to perfection but mine was really thin and well done so I mentioned this to the waitress and asked for it to be changed. I said that I would have the sirloin too. The second steak arrived within a few minutes - it had been seared top and bottom. It was tender but the inside was virtually raw. As I didn't want to spoil the evening I said nothing further. Our desserts were very good.
The evening generally was good - the staff were friendly. However the real star of the show is Stitch the dog - a gentle, beautiful greyhound. As we have retired greyhounds as pets we would visit again just to see him!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise, best Sunday roast in a long time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled across the Halfway Inn on Tripadvisor, and we're really pleased we did. The food was absolutely top class and great value for money. It was clean and tidy, a lovely environment for eating out. We would definitely go back if passsing through.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Halfway House Inn also viewed

Meavy, Dartmoor National Park
 
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Halfway House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halfway House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.