We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dungeness Crab and Tuna or Halibut and Chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Fish Market

South Beach Fish Market
3640 S. Coast Highway, South Beach, OR
+1 541-867-6800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Fish & Chips Dungeness Crab
Helotes, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Dungeness Crab and Tuna or Halibut and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Everytime we are in Newport we have to eat here at least once. My wife enoys their fresh dungeness crab for about $15 and I enjoy either a full Halibut ($13) and Chips or half order ($7). My other choice is Tuna and Chips ($9.50) or half order for ($6.50). Also, if you are looking for Oyster Shooters my wife will not get these anywhere but here. At a $1.50 each you can afford a few at least! We find 2pm-4pm to be the best time to go, especially on the weekends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The fish was really good! The fries something I could pick up in the frozen food section. If the fries were better it would be worth the price.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Peninsula, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

$12..95 for 6 shrimp and fries? No way! Drive down to the little blue fish shack on the Bandon waterfront. They are cheaper and well worth the drive. Best shrimp & chips we have ever eaten. Anytime we are within a hundred miles of Bandon we go to the little blue shack for a seafood take-away dinner. .

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Seafood I ever ate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place rocks,Fish and chips and Prawns are so delicious.I wanted to stay just to eat there!Should have tried the whole menu but ran out of time

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Rock, OR
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place for fish on the run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We live down the road a few miles and never really stopped here due to the ever present long lines. That should have told us something right there. Again the line was long but worth the wait indeed. Their Halibut and Chips were amazing. The batter was light and stuck well to the freshest halibut I've had in a long time. Their tartar sauce is excellent and their seafood sauce is good but will clean your sinuses out in one dip...think horseradish/wasabi type heat. My wife's Clams and Chips were breaded in a corn meal batter and was a bit heavy for her taste but still good. We brought home a pint of Clam Chowder and it was excellent also, well spiced, nice clams, and not too thick like some other places we've tried. All and all we thought the food was quite good but it's a bit pricey for the size of the portions, the dive atmosphere, and having to wait so long for your food. If you can find a parking spot give it a try but don't expect someplace fancy and plan to share a table family style on busy days. We'll be going back for sure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to South Beach Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.