We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fishtails Cafe

Fishtails Cafe
3101 Ferry Slip Road, South Beach, OR 97365
541-867-6002
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went there and had biscuits and gravy. As soon as we walked in we got seated and asked what we wanted to drink. Sortly after seated she took our order and we didn't wait that long for our food. Food was delicious and waitress was very nice and friendly. I highly recommend. It's nothing fancy but it has really great food and for a really good price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    12
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just over the bridge and to the left there is this fabulous café I recommend without a doubt, friendly home cooking and the staff are regulars. The portions are big and the menu has much to choose from. I recommend the Boysenberry Stuffed French Toast, I never leave without eating this one. My husband and I order are own because we just cannot share, you must have your own There hash is fantastic and there homemade biscuit's are mouthwatering. There is so much to choose from so you will want to come back for more. I absolutely recommend this little place, and just behind this café are a few coastal shops for browsing. ENJOY

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Fishtails is tucked away behind some hotels by the Oregon Aquarium in the South Beach portion of Newport, Oregon. It is surrounded by antique and other stores. The interior is homey and has limited seating. But once you sit down you will receive great service and enjoy fantastic food. I recommend the marionberry french toast, it is delicious and fillng. There are a variety of breakfast and lunch items. For me it was like sitting in my grandmother's kitchen with the furniture and the smells of food cooking. When visiting Newport, get an early start by visiting Fishtails and enjoying a great meal!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, year after year!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hadn't been to Fishtails for a while, with so many great places to eat in Newport, so enjoying it today was a treat and reminder of why we like it! Homemade bread, biscuits, great omelets, wonderful bacon, marionberry stuffed french toast, razor clams--the wonderful menu goes on and on!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The stuffed French toast was to die for! Cream cheese filling and topped with Marion berries! Service prompt and friendly. Will visit again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishtails Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fishtails Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishtails Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.