We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge
505 Highway 20 West, Sisters, OR 97759   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sisters
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you're staying in Sisters (or near Black Butte Ranch), you will not be disappointed with the Ponderosa Lodge. Great rooms. The pool, spa and grounds are fantastic. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, Manager at BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you MindFamily............we are so glad you all enjoyed yourselves and look forward to having you back again soon! The Llamas are waiting to see you again! Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    51
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
106
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, VT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I am a constant business traveller, from Burlington, VT, who had just travelled 5000 plus miles in 3 1/2 days. My last two days were in Beautiful Bend and Sisters, OR. A good friend of mine and I stayed the night at this wonderful hotel and just had the best time. The Management was even nice enough to indulge my desire to grill by letting me use their personal grill to make a nice steak dinner before bed.

The rooms, the staff, the aptmoshpere were 4-star. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Cheers Panderosa Lodge and the Haggerty's!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Well Nate it was pleasure to have you and your friend stay here at the Best Western Ponderosa Lodge. We enjoyed talking with you while you grilled your steaks and explained your bar-b-que methods and seasoning choices. It was a treat for us! We are glad you found us here in Sisters and that you choose to stay here on your long journey from home. Looking forward to seeing you back again now that you found us. Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is on west edge of town. There are llamas to see and pool area is wonderful. The room was very clean and it was quiet at night. The few was of the woods / parking lot and the pool on balcony side. The staff was very friendly.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Greatly appreciate your taking the time to review the Best Western Ponderosa Lodge regarding your stay in July. The view from the patio/balcony is so relaxing with expansive lawn, pool, ponderosa pine trees, and our Llamas. Then with the Deschutes National Forest all around us, it is an amazing sitting, especially being in Sisters too, just 1/2 mile from downtown. You have given us all a BIG boost, especially Housekeeping! Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in mid July. The hotel is set in beautiful pine woods with big green lawns all around it. At the same time it is close, walking distance, to a small new strip mall over the highway which includes a very good supermarket.

We stayed in a King Suite. This was a huge set of rooms with a large seperate bedroom, though the room didn't have a door, it was open on one side. There was a massive bathroom with a whirlpool corner bath and a seperate shower. The living area included a fireplace which it being July I didn't need to use and a large sofa bed. Then there was a large balcony overlooking the lawn and pool area. Lots of wood used throughout the whole rooms and hotels give it a nice natural feel everywhere.

The breakfast provided was basic continental style but included waffle makers. No hot food. What there was was very good though, we ate breakfast there every day.

The pool area was clean and had plenty of seating and included an under cover hot tub area too.

The hotel keeps a herd (or is it a flock ?.? ) of llamas out behind the hotel and the kids enjoyed feeding them with the llama food the hotel puts out every day.

There are deer in the woods behind the hotel and chipmunks everywhere as well as a lot of birds feeding on the feeders set
out.

We really enjoyed our stay here, have no complaints at all. We would happily come back again. It's not a budget hotel, particularly not if you want the suites but it's not overpriced at all. I'v paid far more for less in other places. As a base for exploring Sisters and the Cascades it can't be beaten.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Well we are very proud to be the "Hotel of Awesomeness" and that you all enjoyed one of our spacious Ponderosa Suites. While more than our regular Lodgepole rooms, the suites provide a spacious relaxing atmosphere for mind and body and each other. We are glad you had a great time! Thank you! Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

it doesn't look like much on the outside, though the grounds are meticulous and other outside areas are very clean. however, i stepped in to a luxuriously appointed western suite. rel wood and vaulted ceiling. large king bedroom with separate living room, large stone fireplace, and private deck. HUGE bathroom with whirlpool tub, long vanity, and overhead rain showerhead. deer ride outside our door, good breakfast, close to town (though down the highway a bit) and a large grocer across the street. mr. haggerty was a great help with everything, a most hospitable host.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are glad you found us here in Sisters, Oregon. You stayed in one of our Ponderosa Suites, which are extremely comfortable and lend themselves to relaxation! It is an awesome setting! Just for all to know though, we are on Oregon Highway 20, not 97. Hwy 97 is only 18 miles east of us though and is a north/south route, while Hwy 20 is an east/west route. So if you are travelling on Hwy 97 you can cut over from Bend on Hwy 20 west or from Redmond on Hwy 126 west to Sister, the home of Quiltting, the Biggest Little Rodeo, and plenty of outdoor recreation. See you again soon! Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Contemporary rooms, well maintained, quiet, spacious grounds, superbly cleaned and prepared. A great value! Loved the llamas next door.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
It is so great you found us and that you enjoyed the quality of our rooms and housekeeping! You have really boosted the spirits of our room cleaners more than you know. Thank you so so much! See you back soon! Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lobby, grounds and rooms, all unbelievably beautiful and clean. Our king room was decorated in real wood, with beams of pine and fir, an outstanding western motif. Without a question the best value in a Best Western I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you so much, you made our day. Your comments were read at our daily employee stand up meeting this morning. Everyone had big smiles and their pride really showed. What a BIG boost to our day, especially on Friday the 13th! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you see us as one of the best values for Best Western. Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge

Address: 505 Highway 20 West, Sisters, OR 97759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sisters
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sisters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ponderosa Hotel Sisters
Best Western Sisters
Sisters Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge Sisters, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.