We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay in Oregon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Pine Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Five Pine Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 Desperado Trail, Sisters, OR 97759   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sisters
Portland, OR
1 review
“Our favorite place to stay in Oregon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have stayed at FivePine at least 5 times now and are never disappointed. The cabins are so peaceful and private we will always get a cabin. The fireplace adds atmosphere and the views out back (if you get one of the back cabins) are divine. Each season has its own beauty - the flowers in summer are really a sight to see. I have experienced 2 massages at Shibui and both of them were top of the line. I also like having the health club right there. It's clean, modern and open early in the morning. Sometimes I am there for business and staying at FivePine makes the trip feel more like a vacation.
We eat at the brewery at least once every visit and the new restaurant was good for dinner too. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sisters.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
172
5
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
BEND, OREGON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We only live about an hour away from Five Pine. Needed to get away somewhere nice and quiet. Stayed in cabin 21 for two days. Located in the back left corner of the campus. We didn't hear a thing outside. The cleanest most comfortable place I have ever stayed. Except for the chairs. They really should be changed with a different style. I did notice several complaints about those, so I knew about that before are arrival. Wireless internet worked great at our cabin. Also "really, really wish" they could include a small refrigerator and microwave in the cabins. If that happened I would call Five Pine Lodge and Spa "Perfect"! Until that happens, bring a cooler with you. Ice is located close to the cabines. Dogs are welcome in select cabins. Call ahead if you are bringing a pet. We had many great walks right out the back door into the woods. Our dog Joey loved watching the "small woodland creatures" playing outside the back door. We will surely be coming back to Five Pine time and time again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Five Pines Lodge combines western charm and pampered luxury in a way that's hard to beat. Think cowboy country in high comfort, a tasty mix of quintessential Oregon for both out-of state visitors and life-timers like us.

ROOM: We stayed in a two-story loft lodge suite. The décor was lovely, the furniture quality Craftsman, the bathroom large and luxurious. As an earlier poster said, they could easily upgrade the mini-bar to a mini-kitchen, and they should. (We could have used a microwave and basic eating utensils.)

The stairs to the upstairs bedroom were extra high; there was about three feet of space between floors, perhaps to accommodate the water-from-the-ceiling bathtub plumbing? That makes for a long hike for night-time bathroom visits. (For seniors or those with mobility issues, I’d recommend the cabins instead.) In retrospect, they should have added a half-bath to the lodge’s upstairs bedrooms. (We're fairly athletic, just not so much in the dark and half-asleep!)

LOCATION: Right outside your door, you can enjoy a movie theatre, spa, gym, and two restaurants. The place was a little campus of fun. You can easily walk into Sisters on back pathways, or pick up a 15-mile on-site trailhead for a hike or (non-winter) bikeride.

OUTDOOR NOISE: Yes, the lodge sits right on the main highway, so you rightly fear traffic noise, but we didn’t hear it. They must have invested in good insulation and windows to block the outside noise. The larger buildings fronting the highway (lodge, restaurants, theatre, etc.) seem to block much of the traffic noise back in the cabin area.

INDOOR NOISE: This was our only real complaint. While romantic and fun, the layout of our lodge suite resulted in some weird indoor noise issues. The cool ceiling bathtub faucet was LOUD; we couldn’t talk above it. The bathtub is shielded from the main room by shutters only—basically the tub’s in the middle of the main living space. We could also hear our upstairs TV equally well downstairs. The open stairs, lack of interior doors and semi-open bathroom funneled noise between our two floors. Worst of all, we could hear our next door neighbors’ conversations
.
BREAKFAST: Surprisingly good for a continental buffet. The scones were delicious and the fruit tray was excellent, more like something you’d find at a wedding reception than a hotel breakfast spread. I’m not sure how they got such quality fruits in the dead of winter.

INTERNET: Free and fast in the lodge rooms. (Don’t know about the cabins.)

GYM: A real bonus, free with your stay. The gym is a top-notch private operation, run separately from the lodge. Good sized, clean, latest machines, well-run, attractive locker rooms.

OVERALL: Despite the indoor noise issues, we were impressed by the lodge and hope to return. The rates aren’t cheap, but when you consider that you don’t have to pay for internet, parking, breakfast or the gym, it’s actually quite a good deal. Other than lunch and dinner, everything’s included. All you need for a romantic get-away is your mate.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Five Pine in Sisters, Oregon is a place where everyone should visit sometime in their lifetime. My now, fiance and I just left there yesterday and we wish we could have stayed much longer. The town of Sisters is beautiful and serene along with the amazing scenery of the surrounding mountains. We traveled up Three Creeks Mountain, where he proposed in the snow! It was absolutely hands down, the best day in my life to date! We came back to Five Pine & shared the news with Kelly, the wonderful woman at the front desk, who was so helpful and so kind; we would like to thank her for everything she did for us. We will for sure be coming back to have our wedding a Five Pine! The rooms are amazing, the movie house and brewery are fantastic and with so much to do we will be back to experience the amazing spa & fabulous Chloe restaurant. I highly recommend to stay at Five Pine, there is so much to say, but in one word for Five Pine all I could honestly say is, Magical.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Individual cabins are so perfect for a romantic experience. We stayed in the pet cabin which was great because its hard to get away when you can't always take the "children" with you. I cant wait to go back when there is snow on the ground.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Traveled to central Oregon for the first time this September and after much research, decided on the Five Pine Lodge. Seemed like the best choice and probably is the all-around winner in the Sisters area.

Pros: Reasonably priced for level of accommodations, high-end cabins, on-site brew pub (Three Creeks, very good!, although independently owned and operated), restaurant, fitness center, and theater (first-run movies).

Cons: Terrible customer service! For the level of accommodation that Five Pine is striving for, they seemed inadequately staffed and showed an guest indifference the we are not used to when staying at a similar property. It's a long drive from Portland (3.5-4 hrs) and were running late. Tried to call countless time with no answer. Previous posts on Trip Advisor warned of proximity to road so I requested the most privately located cabin that they offer. When they actually called to confirm our reservation a week prior, the woman reiterated and confirmed my request and said it was no problem. When we arrived, we were assigned the cabin closest to Busy Rt. 20. I questioned the cabin assignment and was told that that was the last one available. I expressed my disappointment but the woman didn't seem to care much. She said that her supervisor would contact me the next morning but no one ever did.

Anyway, the cabin itself was fine. Actually very nice. Only complaint/advice for management would be to add ottoman to chairs (very uncomfortable), add a small microwave, some plates/utensils, possibly stock the fridge with water, and the cupboards with snack bars/popcorn. Also, can't help but mention the questionable stream of water coming from an spout (hole) in the ceiling above the tub. It was really loud and splashed. Seemed pretty senseless. Lastly, if you're looking for a cabin-in-the-woods experience, try the Metolius River Lodges, because these cabins are right on Hwy. 20, directly off their parking lot, stacked right up against each other (no privacy at all). Lastly, we had a wood-burning fireplace and they only offered 2 logs. Additional ones cost you $10 ea. – dumb and cheap on their part.

We inquired about local activities and recommendations but again, the woman at the desk seemed disinterested and unknowledgeable. She was pretty worthless. I would think that a good concierge with a knowledge of the local scene would serve well.

Best part of their "campus" was the Triple Creek Brewery. Great beer, great food, friendly staff (makes sense that they aren't technically associated with the Five Pines.

Overall, a decent place to stay if you're used to upper-end accommodations, probably the best in Sisters. We enjoyed the area so much, we actually decided to stay an additional night and found the Best Western Ponderosa Lodge. We were pleasantly surprised at with this choice and regretted not spending our entire stay there. It was really compatible with what Five Pine offered. Private, lodge-style decor, large room, private patio/balcony w/adirondack chairs, gas fireplace, hi-end tiled bath, rain shower, soak tub, refrig. an imaging that, a small microwave!

As a veteran traveler of high end lodges and ranches, Five Pine Lodge just didn't make the grade for us. Most of all, it was the indifferent attitude of the staff (or lack thereof) toward guest needs. There's really no excuse for that – a real turn off.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We were fortunate enough to have the opportunity to stay two nights here in one of the spacious Caboose Rooms with our two teen-age daughters and had a really great time at the Lodge, Brew Pub, Movie House and adorable Sisters.

The rooms are warm and cozy with great beds, bedding, seating, fireplace, robes...EVERYTHING you could want or need. The bathroom shower and tub were a huge hit with everyone. They are so unique and unexpected! We especially enjoyed the complimentary nightly wine reception and lovely continental-style breakfast buffet.

I'll admit the teens didn't love it as much as the parents, but the movie theater was a nice feature for that age group. I'm sure the pool would be popular in the summer with them as well as the bikes as there are nice trails in and around the property.

Cannot wait to return soon! Maybe without the kids this time?? I think little kids would really enjoy it though!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Five Pine Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pine Lodge & Spa

Address: 1021 Desperado Trail, Sisters, OR 97759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sisters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sisters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Pine Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure by day, Romance by night! Take advantage of all that Central Oregon has to offer and enjoy shopping, mountain biking, road cycling, hiking, fishing, golfing and so much more. Our unique 10 acre property has a world class spa, one-of-a-kind cabins, deluxe lodge suites, an outdoor heated pool in the summer months. All room types include over-sized waterfall tubs, kid bed, fireplace, Amish furniture, 42" Plasma TV, DVD, Wi-Fi. Complimentary wine/ beer reception every evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Five Pine Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Pine Hotel Sisters
Five Pine Lodge And Spa
5 Pine Lodge & Spa
Five Pine Lodge & Spa Sisters, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Pine Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.