We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Pine Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Five Pine Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 Desperado Trail, Sisters, OR 97759   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sisters
Delmar, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Traveled to central Oregon for the first time this September and after much research, decided on the Five Pine Lodge. Seemed like the best choice and probably is the all-around winner in the Sisters area.

Pros: Reasonably priced for level of accommodations, high-end cabins, on-site brew pub (Three Creeks, very good!, although independently owned and operated), restaurant, fitness center, and theater (first-run movies).

Cons: Terrible customer service! For the level of accommodation that Five Pine is striving for, they seemed inadequately staffed and showed an guest indifference the we are not used to when staying at a similar property. It's a long drive from Portland (3.5-4 hrs) and were running late. Tried to call countless time with no answer. Previous posts on Trip Advisor warned of proximity to road so I requested the most privately located cabin that they offer. When they actually called to confirm our reservation a week prior, the woman reiterated and confirmed my request and said it was no problem. When we arrived, we were assigned the cabin closest to Busy Rt. 20. I questioned the cabin assignment and was told that that was the last one available. I expressed my disappointment but the woman didn't seem to care much. She said that her supervisor would contact me the next morning but no one ever did.

Anyway, the cabin itself was fine. Actually very nice. Only complaint/advice for management would be to add ottoman to chairs (very uncomfortable), add a small microwave, some plates/utensils, possibly stock the fridge with water, and the cupboards with snack bars/popcorn. Also, can't help but mention the questionable stream of water coming from an spout (hole) in the ceiling above the tub. It was really loud and splashed. Seemed pretty senseless. Lastly, if you're looking for a cabin-in-the-woods experience, try the Metolius River Lodges, because these cabins are right on Hwy. 20, directly off their parking lot, stacked right up against each other (no privacy at all). Lastly, we had a wood-burning fireplace and they only offered 2 logs. Additional ones cost you $10 ea. – dumb and cheap on their part.

We inquired about local activities and recommendations but again, the woman at the desk seemed disinterested and unknowledgeable. She was pretty worthless. I would think that a good concierge with a knowledge of the local scene would serve well.

Best part of their "campus" was the Triple Creek Brewery. Great beer, great food, friendly staff (makes sense that they aren't technically associated with the Five Pines.

Overall, a decent place to stay if you're used to upper-end accommodations, probably the best in Sisters. We enjoyed the area so much, we actually decided to stay an additional night and found the Best Western Ponderosa Lodge. We were pleasantly surprised at with this choice and regretted not spending our entire stay there. It was really compatible with what Five Pine offered. Private, lodge-style decor, large room, private patio/balcony w/adirondack chairs, gas fireplace, hi-end tiled bath, rain shower, soak tub, refrig. an imaging that, a small microwave!

As a veteran traveler of high end lodges and ranches, Five Pine Lodge just didn't make the grade for us. Most of all, it was the indifferent attitude of the staff (or lack thereof) toward guest needs. There's really no excuse for that – a real turn off.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
174
5
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We were fortunate enough to have the opportunity to stay two nights here in one of the spacious Caboose Rooms with our two teen-age daughters and had a really great time at the Lodge, Brew Pub, Movie House and adorable Sisters.

The rooms are warm and cozy with great beds, bedding, seating, fireplace, robes...EVERYTHING you could want or need. The bathroom shower and tub were a huge hit with everyone. They are so unique and unexpected! We especially enjoyed the complimentary nightly wine reception and lovely continental-style breakfast buffet.

I'll admit the teens didn't love it as much as the parents, but the movie theater was a nice feature for that age group. I'm sure the pool would be popular in the summer with them as well as the bikes as there are nice trails in and around the property.

Cannot wait to return soon! Maybe without the kids this time?? I think little kids would really enjoy it though!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We were having a small wedding this summer (75 people) and we were really looking for a location where our guests could enjoy central oregon and still have an intimate experience. The size of this resort was perfect with 32 cabins and 8 lodge rooms it worked out perfectly for our group - it was like we were all at a 'really cool' summer camp but so much better - be sure to visit the spa and you will understand. The rooms are amazing we had a pet friendly cabin in the back that was perfect. We have two well traveled labs and they had plenty of room to spread out and really enjoyed the forest adjacent to our back patio. Our cabin was the place for all the girls to get ready and with 5 women, 1 bride, 2 labs and one photographer we had more than enough room to move around. To say the rooms were comfortable was an understatement - people have complained about the tubs but you really should not be doing that in a hotel bathtub anyway - our tub was perfect for a nice bubble bath for two. It was great having everyone in one place and the staff was amazing throughout our stay we will going back for anniverseries without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, OR
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We totally loved our 4 day stay at FivePines. One of the best getaways we have had.

I would agree with much that has been written regarding the rooms, both positive and negative. We stayed in a "Romance Cabin" which has the benefit of being farthest from the road and having a small tile patio with chairs that faces the pine forest - this was a delightful place to read and talk. We found the beds very comfortable (the Adironack chairs less so). The fireplace is for ambience, not heat. The sunken tile tub is very nice, but it does have hard vertical sides, so you might want a cushion if you are planning to sit for a long time. We found it nice that both of us could stretch out easily in the tub - the waterfall feature is very nice. Think of the shower two people showering separately at same time - the two heads can be swivelled to direct spray together in the middle of the shower area, but this is not really an intimate "couples" shower.

The staff is very helpful, the grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept. We enjoyed using the complimentary cruiser bikes to ride into town (but the two hour time limit is a bit short). The complimentary wine reception is a wonderful plus - you can sit in the comfortable lodge or out back on rocking chairs and sip wine or a local tap microbrew. We did this every night. Breakfast was perfect for our needs, but is not fancy or hearty. The coffee (also available in your rooms) is fresh and good.

My wife used the complimentary pass to the Athletic Club to swim, sauna and do a yoga class (excellent instructor) - all without extra charge. The Three Rivers Brewery (on campus) is quite good. We did not try Chloe, but can highly recommend Jen's Garden in Sisters for a gourmet prix fixe meal.

Things not to miss - strolling/shopping in Sisters, hike the west Metolius river (starting at Lower Canyon Creek campground near Camp Sherman), hike at Smith Rock State park (awesome!), drive the McKenzie Pass.

I think our experience would have been different if the place had been crowded, but on this late june weekend, we almost had the place to ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

The lodge and cabins here are beautiful. The "campus" consists of a lodge/restaurant, conference center, spa building, and a number of cabins. Nearby and part of the same "campus" are the movie theater (seats 330) and Three Creeks Brewing Company. The cabins at the back of the property look directly out into National Forest property, and at night the only sounds you hear are the frogs in the pond and the wind in the pine trees. Mixed wildflowers grow along the small stream/pond in the center of the property.

Inside the cabin, a wall switch gets the fireplace glowing, and above the fireplace a 42" plasma screen TV is available for movies. I found the wood/leather chairs plus matching ottoman comfortable. Beds were spacious and comfortable as well, loaded with plenty of pillows. The same luxurious robes found in the on-site spa are available in the room.

The bathroom is a mixed bag, as a previous reviewer commented. The stone and granite complements the rest of the cabin's decor, and lots of countertop space is provided for toiletries, along with plenty of thick plush towels. Water, heated by tankless technology, quickly gets and stays hot. The shower is a large stone enclosure without glass or curtain. It's definitely spacious, but having a place to hang a wash cloth or have a towel easily nearby would be nice. It can be a bit chilly, especially when stepping back onto the stone floor.

Haven't tried the tub yet, but it fills from a "spout" in the ceiling - thus the "waterfall" effect. After turning it on to check it out, the appeal doesn't really hit me either. It's a novel way to fill a tub, but most people would rather have a soaking tub with massage jets or other "comfort" features and forego the drama of how the tub itself is filled up.

Breakfast, which is complementary, is a little too healthy for me also. It's a cold buffet array consisting of fresh fruit (canteloupe, watermelon, pineapple), two types of scone (one was chocolate chip ... both were rather dry - probably because they're good for you), some cereals, hard boiled eggs, juices and coffee. It's enough to get you started and then leave you room for an early lunch.

Service throughout the facility was very good. The spa is a beautiful place and the massage is well-worth the time and money. Specify whether you prefer a male or female therapist to avoid surprises. As a guest staying at the resort, you'll receive a complementary 8-oz bottle of lotion as well.

The town is an easy walk or 3 minute drive, and has a number of fine jewelry stores (The Jewel is awesome), galleries, shops, and restaurants. In the distance the Three Sisters mountains are snowcapped beauty. Easy drives take you to beautiful hiking areas. Pack a picnic lunch (premade sandwiches available in some markets in town) and cold drinks to make the most of your hiking trip.

I can't wait to come back, and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at 5 Pines Lodge for 2 nights over my birthday weekend. We purchased the Romance Package. I would stay here again, but not in the Romance Suite (for reasons I will get to) I was a bit surprised to find them right off the main thoroughfare rather than back in the woods, so that threw me off a bit. It was not an issue, the cabins are out back and you cannot hear any traffic noise at all. The cabins themselves are breathtaking when you walk in, the bathrooms absolutely exquisite, the furnishings lovely.

Ah, but there's beauty, and then there's comfort! The waterfall spa tub you'll see in the pictures is a great idea in theory, and actually sold me on the room. However, it is ghastly uncomfortable. The tile surround (rather than a more traditional smooth ceramic bathtub) is not tushy pleasing, and the tub edges are hard and cold. Because it's so big, there's no way to lean back and relax - or cuddle. It's also at such an angle to the fireplace that you cannot really pretend to be sitting in a spa in front of a roaring fire. My mother-in-law's room with a more traditional oversized tub (with a window that opens into the main cabin so you can see the fireplace) would have been far preferrable. In addition, though the big log furniture fits the room, it too was horrifically unpleasant to sit in. I'm all for luxury and beauty, but I'd take a little less for practicality sake.

Also, the 2-person shower is bigger than some people's bathrooms and because of this you aren't exactly in a "romantic spot" standing 10 feet away from each other. Also, because of it's size, it's hard to get it nice and warm and steamy. Less would have been more.

On the positive side, everything is gorgeous and new, the staff friendly and eager to assist. Both restaurants (the sports bar and Chloe) were fantastic (I recommend the scallops at Chole and Caesar Salad at the bar) and reasonably priced. Our couples spa therapy was heavenly (yes please, more!) and the champage and chocolate and rubbing oils were of high quality and yummy. The 5pm complementary wine bar is a nice touch, and "healthy" breakfast was adequate though I always like a little grease when I'm on vacation. It was too early for the outdoor pool to be open, but it looked like a nicely done area.

On this same trip we also stayed 2 nights at a La Quinta for $70/night and their beds were more comfortable.

We typically stay at 3-4 star hotels, but rarely splurge the upgraded prices to go 5-star. For luxury, this was certainly 5-star, but for comfort ..... eh. I'm just saying it wasn't quite worth what we paid. I will stay there again, and I would recommend this resort to anybody going to Sisters (better than Black Butte condos by far!), I just wouldn't pay the extra money for the Romance room because the upgrades don't add to comfort.

If anybody from the hotel reads this, I dare you to try to go get frisky in that spa - you'll end up with bruised and scraped knees and tiles etched into your nether region. Or is that TMI?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We wanted to get away and the only place we could think of was the five pine where we stayed about a year ago. As soon as we got there we remembered exactly why we loved it so much!!!! They have excellent service, the rooms & grounds are beautiful and we are always relaxed after their 5-6pm nightly wine reception by the open fire. While back at our room I cozied up in the robes they provided, sat outside on the Adirondak chairs sipping wine & reading a book, when I happened to glance up towards the forest and saw three deer grazing ahead. What a treat!!! This time we tried El Caporal for some EXCELLENT mexican food. The service was great and the lunch specials run about 7.50. There is a beautiful outdoor patio that we would have tried if it had only been a few degrees warmer:) We also tried the Asian Fusion food over at Soji's. The owners were very kind and the food was definately good. The only downside is the place isn't that nice inside but it is clean, and they were out of some of the food we wanted to try. The mango ice tea was wonderful! Both places were recommended by the staff at five pine and we weren't disappointed. Lastly we ALWAYS love the use of the Sisters Athletic club. Personal TV's while you work out, beautiful clean locker rooms with everything you could ever need, 2 pools, 1 hot tub, steam room...the list goes on. I think we spend more time there than anywhere else when we visit. We will definatley try to make this an every 6 months trip to Five Pine Lodge. Thanks again to the great staff!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Five Pine Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pine Lodge & Spa

Address: 1021 Desperado Trail, Sisters, OR 97759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sisters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sisters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Pine Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure by day, Romance by night! Take advantage of all that Central Oregon has to offer and enjoy shopping, mountain biking, road cycling, hiking, fishing, golfing and so much more. Our unique 10 acre property has a world class spa, one-of-a-kind cabins, deluxe lodge suites, an outdoor heated pool in the summer months. All room types include over-sized waterfall tubs, kid bed, fireplace, Amish furniture, 42" Plasma TV, DVD, Wi-Fi. Complimentary wine/ beer reception every evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Five Pine Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Pine Lodge & Spa
Five Pine Lodge And Spa
Five Pine Hotel Sisters
Five Pine Lodge & Spa Sisters, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Pine Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.