We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blustery ice flows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse Restaurant

The Boathouse Restaurant
13300 HWY 20, Sisters, OR 97759
541-595-2628
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 36 Restaurants in Sisters
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Blustery ice flows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on a cold and windy day. The restaurant is at the end of Suttle Lake so the wind was pushing the ice against the shore right below the windows of the restaurant. Service was quick and friendly. Soup was Vietnamese, excellent. The rest of the food was ok. This is a beautiful spot to visit regardless of the season.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“who cares?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We ordered the lunch "special" pork belly and pineapple tacos and the pineapples were left out. When brought to their attention they then brought a small pile of pineapple chunks to the table AFTER the meal. Our water glasses were rarely filled yet they were very attentive about asking if we needed drinks (that we would pay for) or a dessert. Never offered to comp our meal and to add insult at the end of the gave us a bill that was double the menu prices. We pointed that out and they brought us the correct bill with no apology. We were polite, not demanding and carefully pointed out their errors. The food was average, the view great and the service could care less. This was in mid November on a slow day at the Boathouse.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Out of this modest kitchen flows a continuous stream of fine food. Whether simple comfort food -- house-made mac & cheese, BBQ brisket -- or superb pork chops and steaks, whether eating inside or on the lakeside terrace, the Boathouse never fails in its commitment to quality ingredients and equally quality preparation. Have a child with a nut allergy? Your server and the chef will check every recipe and ingredient list -- even vanilla ice creme! -- , taking care to serve a nut-free, uncontaminated dish. The service is excellent. Somehow, The Boathouse manages to serve updated, contemporary cuisine in a setting and atmosphere that reminds you of that wonderful lakeside place you went to as a child with your grandparents.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Skip the food go for drinks and ambiance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We had been to Suttle Lake Lodge several years ago and had a wonderful stay however the Boathouse was closed at that time and was being used for storage. When we learned it had opened and were visiting Sisters we were excited to visit again and try the Boathouse. We went for an early dinner and were sadly disappointed with our meals. My husband ordered a Peppercorn crusted sirloin steak with crab. He said it was terrible- the steak was not done according to his request. It was overlooked and was not peppercorn encrusted. There was no crabmeat on the plate as ordered. When the waitress was advised of the missing crabmeat she brought back about a tablespoon of crabmeat (?) for 6.00 dollars ! I had ordered a Mediterranean flatbread which was brought out after my husbands meal and the bottom of the crust had been burnt! Unfortunately we will not go back for a meal. However the setting is beautiful and there is a nice deck to enjoy a drink while taking in the serenity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice spot to stop at on way to Camp Sherman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Food was excellent. Rising moon mojito was awesome! Flat bread was tasty too. Will definitely eat there again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

Sisters, Central Oregon
Sisters, Central Oregon
 
Sisters, Central Oregon
 

Been to The Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.