We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Cabin and Bats in the Roof” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Suttle Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sisters
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Suttle Lake
Save
You added The Lodge at Suttle Lake to your Saves list
13300 Highway 20, Sisters, OR 97759   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Sisters B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
NW Washington
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dirty Cabin and Bats in the Roof”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

I booked the Falls Cabin for a two night stay with my sister and her two children. The deck needed sweeping and the deck furniture was dirty. Inside a plethora of dead bugs lay on the windowsills. The kitchen garbage can was grungy as well as some of the storage drawers. The large picture window overlooking the outlet creek was streaked with white matter. My niece and nephew mentioned squeeky noises but we thought it was the fan. The conditions made you feel like the whole place needed a good cleaning. When I politely complained and asked to be moved the woman said she could move me to a much more expensive cabin but I would have to pay the difference. We finally agreed to reduce the price by $50 and I was to make a list of what needed cleaning. She offered no apolgy and did not seem surprised at all. At dusk we noticed several pretty little bats flying around and then realized there were more streaming out from under the roof of the cabin! No wonder the windows were dirty and there had been squeaking noises! When I alerted the lodge we were told there were no other cabins to be moved to (although many looked empty). We quickly checked out, packed the car and went to a very nice Best Western in Sisters. Additionally, the swimming area near the lodge is windy and the water isn't very clear. The best swimming is at the other end where the campgrounds were nearly empty and the conditions for swimming delightful. We never received an apology from the Lodge.

  • Liked — beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — attitude of owners and the lack of cleanliness of cabin
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondasue, Owner at The Lodge at Suttle Lake, responded to this review, November 8, 2006
Our accommodations vary significantly from rustic and historic cabins to new cabins with modern amenities including television, phones and internet service. This customer rented one of our historic cabins that dates back to the 1920’s. As such, it is not new and shiny. However, we do take our level of cleanliness seriously, and are dismayed that our standards inside the cabinet itself may have lapsed in this instance. We have created a more comprehensive checklist for our housekeeping department to adhere to.

We are in the woods, in a very rustic environment. Along with this come bats and bugs and winds. Bats keep our area mosquito-free, but we understand that they might be disturbing to some people. And when it is windy, dust and debris will blow onto our porches and window sills, and the lake’s water becomes choppy. We do sweep our porches. This customer was refunded her money since we could not otherwise accommodate her, despite our efforts to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    31
    12
    20
    11
See reviews for
36
85
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

I stayed here when they first opened last year but many things have changed and I was terribly disappointed. First of all we did not feel welcome. We were "scolded" that we were late yet our confirmation only told us when we could check in-it did not give us a cut off date or instructions if we arrived late.

The second thing is it was very very noisy. HIghway 20 is close by and there is a lot of commercial truck traffic going by

We arrived thinking we could eat in the restaurant but they were having a sit down dinner-reservations only. We had to drive all the way back into town to eat-it was late, we were hungry and by then cranky.

The hostess Lauren kept running around with her keys locking doors behind her to the lodge. It was very annoying and distracting. Certainly did not make us feel welcome at all. And when we left the lodge we would have to wait for her to pen the door with her keys and then she would lock it behind us.

A horrble exprience. Will not stay here again.

  • Liked — Lake
  • Disliked — Did not feel welcome. noisy, no food in the evening
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondasue, Owner at The Lodge at Suttle Lake, responded to this review, November 8, 2006
On their first visit to our lodge this quilting group had sole use of our lodge. Because of this, we allowed them to spread themselves throughout our lodge, including our conference room. Normally we would charge $400 for use of the conference room, but we let them use it free of charge. They were able to sew on their sewing machines late into the night without disturbing other guests. At that time, our Boathouse restaurant was open.

This year the group did not have sole use of our lodge. And, we did not have the Boathouse Restaurant open. Instead, our food service was run inside the lodge itself, and our conference room served at times as a dining area for our guests.
Had the ladies made reservations, they would have had a meal to eat.

We were dismayed to hear that this group had such an unpleasant stay with us. Since their stay here, we have made staffing and policy changes that we feel will lead to the superior level of customer service we strive for. We are also planning to re-open our Boathouse Restaurant again very soon. As for the noise level, it is true that the highway can be noisy. Because of the 2003 wildfire we lost trees, and the once natural sound barrier we had is now diminished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scappoose, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

The staff at this resort is the best of the best. They called me by name and seemed like they knew me. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, they were so personal it seemed like staying with friends. I also found out that guests of the resort are offered a complementary boat rental, which was GREAT! we spent all day on the lake and had a great time swimming and fishing in this clean and beautiful lake. The lodge has wonderful and amazing wood work and the grounds are like a golf course.

We rented one of the historic cabins called the "Guards station" for $225 a night. We expected a pretty nice cabin for that price, but we were wrong, this is a very old rustic cabin with no phone or television (which was fine by me, but the kids were not happy about it after dark) There were no towel racks in the bathroom and hardly enough water pressure to flush the toilet (which plugged up with one slice of toilet paper and I had to go to the front desk and ask for a plunger, how embarassing) Beware the water only trickles out of the tiny single stall shower head, so it can take a long time to get clean. The bed is only a double and is barely big enough for 2 adults and there were several holes in the window screens and some in the walls, although the furnishings and floors were in good shape.

If your looking for luxury on the lake, stay in the lodge which is only a couple years old. Everything else is worth it and sisters is within 20 minutes with tons of shopping and fun.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

The Lodge at Suttle Lake is new and is loaded with rustic charm. The lodge is filled with rustic furniture, and wooden sculptures and the best is the wooden canoe fireplace mantel. The mirror in the bar is surrounded by carvings also.

The New Years party was the best, with live music and a great dance and the best lobster dinner I have ever had. Breakfast is provided and includes a hot entre and other items and is eaten with a wonderful view of the lake and the warmth of the huge fireplace at your back. Beautiful Christmas decorations adorned the Lodge on both floors.

If you want friendly management, a laid back atmosphere, a good chef and to enjoy the trees, a river and the lake, The Lodge at Suttle Lake is for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2006

We have just returned from a magical weekend at the Suttle Lake Resort, just outside of Sisters, Oregon. We stayed in the Raindrop Room, which is one of the deluxe suites in the lodge, with it's own fireplace, and whirlpool tub. The room has a wonderful veiw of the lake that was partialy frozen over, and also looks out on the lawn.
They thought of everything while planning this room, there was even a basket of items to use "just in case" you happend to forget something.
Something that we were especially impressed with was the help of the evening staff, we arrived later in the evening, and we were quite thirsty, but the vending machine was not working so they provided us not only with drinks, but with a jar of honey roasted peanuts as a midnight snack.
The breakfast we were provided with was so much more than we expected, with fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, and pasteries. And the Great Room/lounge area is the prefect place to eat and start your day. Later in the afternoon we came back the the Great Room for a game of checkers and some hot drinks.
Dinner in the dining room was magnificent. With the tables set with place cards for each group, and the wonderful creations of the chef. (He also made the best cookies in the world!) Dinner was also very affordable, we paid a little over $30 per person for a five course meal, including appetizers and dessert.
This whole weekend felt like wonderful vacation, even though we only had to travel about thirty miles. We will be coming back again and again for sure. Next time we might even try renting a cabin! The prices are totally a value for what you are given and we loved our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2006

Spent a lovely day and night at this beautiful new western styled lodge in its majestic lakeside setting just a 12 minute drive from Sisters. Invigorating bike ride around Suttle lake, nap time in our luxuriously appointed room, delicious appetizers and wine by a blazing fire in the great hall followed by fabulous gourmet meal in intimate upstairs dining room overlooking the lake. The included upscale continental breakfast readied us for a morning of tubing at the Hoodoo Ski resort only 8 more miles up the road. Staff and management were extremely friendly and helpful. The log structure, stonework and natural wood combine with paintings and incredible wood carvings of native american scenes and wildlife to create a very distinctive atmosphere---simultaneously beautiful but cozy. We highly recommend a stay here but if time doesn't permit, at least make reservations for an outstanding weekend meal and a look around.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

Last month the Boys & Girls Clubs of Central Oregon Executive Leadership team (20pp) were treated to an incredible 2 1/1 day reareat at the recently renovated and professionally staffed Suttle Lake Resort.

Accomodations were of the highest quality, food & beverage extrordinary and meeting room cozy but WAY HIGH TECH! To top things off the staff was so attentive and energetic, always willing to do what ever it took to meet our needs and pamper our executive team.

The Suttle Lake Venue is a MUST for small businees teams, family gaherings or reunions. We are hopeful of returning each year to reflex, refresh and ramp up!

BRAVO to the entire Suttle Lake Team! An AWESOME experience!

Sincerely,

Kirk Utzinger
President & Chief Professional Officer
Boys & Girls Clubs of Central Oregon

Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Suttle Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Suttle Lake

Address: 13300 Highway 20, Sisters, OR 97759
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sisters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sisters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Suttle Lake sits among some of the most beautiful wilderness in the world. Our resort boasts a large enough facility to accommodate its own full service restaurant, spa treatment room, meeting and conference space. Not to mention the multitude of outdoor activities all year round! Truly rustic elegance at its finest, we have something for everyone! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Suttle Lake Hotel Sisters
The Lodge At Suttle Lake Sisters, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Suttle Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.