We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Suttle Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sisters
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Suttle Lake
Save
You added The Lodge at Suttle Lake to your Saves list
13300 Highway 20, Sisters, OR 97759   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Sisters B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently my wife and I stayed at the Lodge at Suttle Lake. It was fabulous. This lodge was built just a half dozen years ago. It is made of natural wood and log beams and is a marvel to look it. Inside you are greeted with a warm and inviting wood burning fireplace. The guest rooms in the lodge, where we stayed, are large and extremely comfortable. Our room, overlooking Suttle Lake, had a fireplace and flat screen television. In addition, there was a large jacuzzi tub and separate shower. In the evening, between 4:30 to 6:00 P.M. wine, cheese, and fruit are complementary in the lobby.
We did not know this lodge, which is located approximately 13 miles West of Sisters, Oregon, even existed until my wife noticed it in Sunset Magazine. In winter, this is the perfect place to hibernate and in summer, there is a footpath which encircles the lake. Truly, The Lodge at Suttle Lake is a gem to be visited by us again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a luxury room in the Lodge itself that overlooked the lake. Book your room early as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    31
    12
    20
    11
See reviews for
37
85
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We went to the Lodge at Suttle Lake with friends to relax for a few days. We rented a cabin and our friends stayed in the lodge. Both units were great! The lodge staff was friendly and helpful and the afternoon complementary wine and snacks were just right. The cabin and the room were both clean and nicely furnished. My wife had a massage on site and claimed it was wonderful. We will be back. The hike around the lake is also a trip worth taking.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin with a view of the lake. Most have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This place is stellar! What a find! So beautiful, so quiet, so serene. We stayed 3 nights and played checkers on the most amazing hand carved checker board I've ever seen. It was in our room with so much more gorgeous furniture and decor. All the cabin/lodge feel at this place is just superb. We enjoyed the wine social each evening and walked around the lake each day. CANNOT believe there is a path all along the lake for people to walk. That was a great surprise. In the way of cleanliness and service - NOTHING was lacking! Everything was just perfect including a breakfast basket at our door each morning. This place was amazing, snow everywhere even, OMG! WE loved it! It was an amazing time and I'm just sorry I've shared our find so late on Trip Advisor as we stayed in 2011.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room called Broken Arrow and it has a beautiful loft and that killer checkers board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We took advantage of an off season special and really enjoyed the lodge room, first quality all the way, including the in room coffee. We enjoyed the large fireplace in the common area, and the 3 mile walk around the lake should not be missed. The food was good, but limited meu options. The environs at the restraunt aren't great, but who cares when you can relax next to the water in jeans. A mit picey at full rate, but the investment in their property is significant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alturas, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A beautiful lodge in an old growth, beautiful setting on a small lake. The staff is friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The grounds are beautiful and the Eagle Summit cabin is perfectly cozy with all the ammenities you would want in that setting. The restaraunt is quaint but the staff was friendly and professional and the food was delicious. The menu is a little limited, but they were more than willing to adjust items on it to suit me. The cabin was clean and warm upon checking in. An abundance of fall color around the property, which was also very well kept and clean, just made it that much more enjoyable. I would recommend this location to anyone that enjoys a lake / forest setting but doesn't want to "rough it".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our second annual family trip to the Lodge at Suttle Lake. I have family that comes to Oregon every year from California and this is our chosen destination. It is a wonderful family, fun oriented destination. Being able to be at the lake, rent boats, paddle boards, etc., swim, fish, hike, and spend quality family time together is priceless. The entire staff at the Lodge was amazing and accomodating to our family. Thank you for two great years! We've already booked our time for next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Beautiful lodge, luxurious room in a gorgeous location. Marina and restaurant not so good. Horrible lodge management.
Our room wasn't made up when we returned at 4pm the 2nd day. When we asked about it, Cyndi, the manager accused us of having our "do not disturb pinecone” out, which we didn't. She came back to us 3 times (!) while we were trying to enjoy the wine social to loudly insist that it was our fault. Then she sent someone to quickly clean it. When we got to our room, it was sloppily thrown together and the hand towel had a big brown smudge on it - I figured out that the staff had wiped my tea mug with the towel and put the (still obviously dirty) mug back with the clean ones! Disgusting! One bright spot was one of the staff, named Josh, who was very professional at all times and came to our room to replace the mug. The manager then “comped” us a breakfast at the not so good restaurant, which didn't make up for the miserable experience.
We will NOT return, nor recommend it. Could be a wonderful place...with new management!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Lodge at Suttle Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Suttle Lake

Address: 13300 Highway 20, Sisters, OR 97759
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sisters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sisters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Suttle Lake sits among some of the most beautiful wilderness in the world. Our resort boasts a large enough facility to accommodate its own full service restaurant, spa treatment room, meeting and conference space. Not to mention the multitude of outdoor activities all year round! Truly rustic elegance at its finest, we have something for everyone! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Suttle Lake Hotel Sisters
The Lodge At Suttle Lake Sisters, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Suttle Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.