We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pictures are deceiving -” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Suttle Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge at Suttle Lake to your Saves list
The Lodge at Suttle Lake
13300 Highway 20, Sisters, OR 97759   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Sisters B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pictures are deceiving -”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

the cabins are extremely small and the kitchen size was ridiculous. if you plan on cooking any meals you will have a very hard time.

we spent the first night killing monster bugs. these were no bugs I have seen before. these critters had a wing span of several inches. there was also a musty smell in the cabin, luckily we could leave the windows open for the most part to get a breeze going though.

long story short, we wouldn't stay again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    30
    12
    20
    11
See reviews for
36
86
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Decided to give a try because Sunset magazine suggested. Standard beds are VERY hard, small, lumpy, and wiggly. Overpriced food is terrible and servers are not responsive. If you sleep with the window open you will hear the highway noise including the big rig trucks... all night long! The Lodge manager somewhat clueless and not very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We are a family of four that stayed the weekend of August 17-19. We stayed in one of the water front cabins. The location is beautiful and the cabin was very nice. We had two twin beds, a queen bed, and a full sleeper sofa. The restaurant was good, nothing special. The marina was not impressive. I wish the grounds had a pool. I am not a lake swimmer, so I missed that. The rest of the family swam in the lake each day. My only complaint is a minor one. There was a wedding on Saturday night. It is a beautiful setting for a wedding. When the wedding was happening, guests were not allowed on the back lawn and deck. The wine and cheese event was moved to the top floor of the restaurant that did not have air conditioning. I would have liked to take my glass of wine out to the deck and look over the lake. I feel that the resort needs to benefit all of the guests, not just the wedding guests. The next morning the wedding guests were meeting in the lodge for a brunch and so that was closed. That is where the internet service is, so that was inconvenient. We would return to the lodge, and over all had a great weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

After a winter visit to the lodge, we decided to return in the summer. We enjoyed a room with a lake view, the wine social hour, the trail around the lake, and the food at the Boathouse Restaurant, just as we had in the winter. However, this time we were able to canoe and kayak on the lake, sit outside on the deck with our wine, and take some hikes in the area. Now we want to return to enjoy the Fall. It was also a pleasant surprise to see the lodge featured in our most recent issue of Sunset magazine. They deserve the praise!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at The Lodge at Suttle Lake, about 8-9 miles west of Sister's, Oregon. Absolutely not complaints about the lodge itself. Clean, well, appointed, quiet, nice grounds, and set inside a nice forest, on the shores of a very nice lake. If you don't want to "rough it" in the '50s and '60s "rustic cabins" the predominate the other area resorts, The Lodge is the place to go.

One complaint though . . . some of the staff really have an attitude. We arrived a little after 3 in the afternoon. The lady at the registration desk, busy doing something, wouldn't even acknowledge us. After waiting several minutes I finally had to say "excuse me . . . " She looked up and finally asked what we wanted. "Can we check in?" Without even bothering to see if our room was ready, her curt reply was that "Check in isn't until 4:00." At every other place we've stayed in the front desk has at least checked to see if our room is ready and if it is, allowed us to check in.

Later at the restaurant, which was only half full, the host put us at a table right next to the door. As there was quite the cool breeze coming in, we asked if you could have another, identical table just a few feet away. No, he said. That table was reserved. We were dining late, and doubted very seriously that anyone would want to reserve a table right in the middle of the dinning room. A window table, yes. But surly not something in the middle of the dinning room. Sure enough by the time we were done eating, no one had been seated at that table. In fact, no one else had come in. Not a really big deal, but it's a bit irritating being treated as an annoyance rather than a guest.

Room Tip: In the Lodge, the "Forest View" looks out on the parking lot. Lake view is beautiful and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I guess to be fair it's not tent camping. It is a step up from that. The cabins are cozy and have a nice setting. The beds are uncomfortable and had my wife and I rolling into the middle of the bed. Beside the lack of sleep the front desk changed the rate on our family at check in. We had a large family and reserved multiple cabins. Normally when a large party reserves a number of rooms hotels will make it worth your while, not here. Our rate went from $249 a night as stated in the email reservation on a waterfront cabin to $329 a night, this was then reduced to $299 a night after complaining. If this wasn't in the middle of the forest in Central Oregon we should have just packed up and left as this was not the only mystery charge. The spa decided to charge our family for service for a person that they had no name of, no service chosen, and no service time scheduled. Needless to say we were not pleased. The setting is beautiful and should be a great relaxing experieince.

Room Tip: Pick the lodge it is newer and better maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This lodge has it all, perfect location at suttle lake, quiet, nice rooms allthough a bit dark butnfresh coffee everyday in your room, makes this a special place.Amber at the frontdesk did a wonderfull job in helping with things to do and promoting the resort in general. Even announced the day special in the restaurant on site. Would recommend this place if you are looking for a peaceful place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Suttle Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Suttle Lake

Address: 13300 Highway 20, Sisters, OR 97759
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sisters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sisters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Suttle Lake sits among some of the most beautiful wilderness in the world. Our resort boasts a large enough facility to accommodate its own full service restaurant, spa treatment room, meeting and conference space. Not to mention the multitude of outdoor activities all year round! Truly rustic elegance at its finest, we have something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Suttle Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Suttle Lake Hotel Sisters
The Lodge At Suttle Lake Sisters, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Suttle Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.