We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Plates -- really small plates!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Porch

The Porch
243 N Elm Street, Sisters, OR 97759
541-549-3287
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Sisters
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small Plates -- really small plates!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had dinner at the Porch during a recent birthday celebration. We were not prepared for their unusual approach to "small plates". For example, the slider selection was just that, one slider. The salads were about one third of what would be a typical "side salad" in any other restaurant. While we ordered the spinach salad, it was mostly mixed greens, with just a few leaves of spinach. We arrived for our dinner reservations at 7pm and they were already out of the main entrees, leaving us to order from a very limited selection of small plates. We rated the food quality as "average". The restaurant pours generous glasses of wine and serves many of the beers in the larger bottles. This was an average dining experience.....nothing noteworthy, except that it is in a quaint little house with wonderful art scattered about.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not horrible but not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The food wasn't horrible but wasn't that good either. I went for Valentines Day and about half of the food we had was just so-so. The fish that I got was really good but the Risotto that my father got was both undercooked and hard and over cooked and slimy. Also our waitress wasn't that good. She got the orders correct but not to the correct people and she wasn't really that friendly or seemed to care that much. I probably won't be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bridal Shower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I love this place...going to take my Hubby on Valentines day...it will be so special....I hope everyone comes to sisters Oregon and has the same experiences....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bridal Shower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

OMG!!! we had the best food and service last night... They were very accommodating and put up with us being loud.....I loved the Chicken and Waffle plate... Thank You so very much...



Kirsten

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Some of the best food I have ever had in my life! Very interesting food combinations. The food gave me some great dinner ideas. I went with my husband and my parents and we ate every morsel and almost licked our plates! Some of the food we ate included: smoked salmon, spanikopita, ribeye with cheese polenta, grilled pear salad, French fries with homemade tomato jam, chicken and waffles, sweet potato sticks with a cinnamon glaze, sweet pea fritters, Greek salad. The restaurant changes their menu every month since it is a tapas (small plates) type place. You will not be sorry you went! The chefs are mother and son and are very enthusiastic about creating new dishes and sharing them. Everyone must try this new place to support your local community.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Porch also viewed

Sisters, Central Oregon
Sisters, Central Oregon
 
Sisters, Central Oregon
Sisters, Central Oregon
 

Been to The Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Porch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.