We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too spicy, too expensive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Agaves Mexican Grill

Los Agaves Mexican Grill
291 E Cascade Ave, Sisters, OR 97759-1140
541-549-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Sisters
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Too spicy, too expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stopped in for a late dinner after a long drive. I felt the quality of the food was a little too average for the price. Drinks are pretty pricey too. Guacamole was a "sauce" and not real guacamole. I had the fish tacos which were "ok", but nothing special. The side dishes were overly spicey and I could not eat them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    41
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Happy Valley, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tasty Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place was recommended by a local and didn't disappoint. I got a happy hour margarita which was very good and had a shrimp entree, which was also very good. I was tempted to ask for flour tortillas to accompany the entree, but had eaten lots of chips and salsa by the time the entree was served and was satisified.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The local's favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Mexican restaurant is a cut above the normal. Jimmy, the owner, has done a great job making sure that his food is prepared well. Servers are prompt and friendly. I am a local and this is place most of us choose when we want good Mexican food in Sisters. The restaurant has added significant outdoor seating for the warm summer months.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic, genuine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food was quite good. The quesadilla will probably disappoint anyone expecting what they are used to because its more like a hard taco, but everything else was very good and authentic. Fajitas were good, as were tortilla soup and enchilladas. Service is a little slow, but its a small mom & pop place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene OR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yum! They concentrate on Food & Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We took our guests here and they all raved! Our college-age grandson says no one does Nachos better! And can you say Fish Tacos-outstanding!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Agaves Mexican Grill also viewed

Sisters, Central Oregon
Sisters, Central Oregon
 
Sisters, Central Oregon
Sisters, Central Oregon
 

Been to Los Agaves Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Agaves Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.