We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Atmosphere and Food & Drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Agaves Mexican Grill

Los Agaves Mexican Grill
291 E Cascade Ave, Sisters, OR 97759-1140
541-549-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Sisters
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Coos Bay, Oregon
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Atmosphere and Food & Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Visited Sisters and decided to go for Mexican. The atmosphere was very nice, the waiter was excellent, the food was excellent. The Tacos and Enchladas were our favorites. The Margaritas were possibly the Best I ever had. We were there during Happy Hour and the Prices were excellent as well. We live in the Coos Bay area of Oregon and are looking forward to getting over there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    41
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great food, drinks, service, and a great value also. Make sure you try the house salad dressing, cilantro/lime & jalapeno. Also the house Margaritas, $1 extra, and you get 3 martini glasses worth.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

this is a relatively new addition to town. Very good "gournet" Mexican food and a great patio for summer dining. open for lunch and dinner. we like it very much.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a casual lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Whether you are passing through town, or staying in Sisters, this is a nice spot to sit outside and enjoy a casual lunch. If you are staying at Five Pines, why not grab a couple of cruiser bikes and head into town for lunch. The Happy Hour margaritas were tasty and good value. The food was wholesome, well prepared and substantial. This is not the place that will win awards for presentation, but the service is attentive, and you won't go away hungry.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great burrito!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We heard from the locals that Los Agaves served good more modern Mexican food. So we thought we’d try it out – also because of the trip advisor reviews.

We sat down at a small 4 person table. Wish it was a little bigger. A 20 year old guy got us water and we asked what was good and he was so nice and helpful. Very outgoing.

Mom ordered regular margarita on the rocks = it came out very strong and boy did she get a lot to drink  she asked if she could get more of the non alcoholic stuff to put in there. The waitress was very nice and my mom was very happy when she got her drink back.

My sister and I ordered the pomegranate margarita to split. Because the drinks are so big 1 drink filled 2 martini glasses. It was great!

Everyone raves about the guacamole. It’s served tableside. Our family LOVES guacamole and we think we’ve perfected our homemade recipe after eating it all over Mexico. The restaurant pretty much made it the same as our family does, but didn’t add any lime or cilantro. They put a little powder mixture in it, but I barely tasted it. It’s good, but not great.

My dad ordered the burrito and he loves Mexican food. He couldn’t stop talking about how great it was. He thought it was the best burrito he’s ever tasted.

My sister and I ordered the carne asada and it was good. The only downside to the whole meal was how long it took to get everything. My dad ordered coke and I had to go up to the bar twice myself to get him a refill. Our waitress was nice but we rarely if ever saw her. She forgot part of our carne asada meal. That was the big downfall. At the end she said sorry she was so busy but restaurants are supposed to be busy. That’s not a good excuse in our book. Service was poor. We would try it again though just because the food was so good. Just don’t be in a hurry.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Agaves Mexican Grill also viewed

Sisters, Central Oregon
Sisters, Central Oregon
 
Sisters, Central Oregon
Sisters, Central Oregon
 

Been to Los Agaves Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Agaves Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.