We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, inexpensive option in Silverton!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Girasoles

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Los Girasoles
303 E C St, Silverton, OR 97381
(503) 873-9449
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Silverton
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Delicious, inexpensive option in Silverton!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I were staying at the Oregon Garden Resort on the first night of our two-week trip in Oregon. We pretty thoroughly explored all the other options in Silverton, but nothing struck our fancy, so we ventured slightly out of the very center to Los Girasoles Panaderia y Taqueria, which I had seen reviewed on this site. This is a small, very informal place, but the service was friendly, the tacos and tamales were freshly made (my tamales seem to have been steamed to order), the horchata was delicious, and there was an expansive bakery case which, unfortunately, we were both too tired to sample! We felt we made a good choice by eating here -- we certainly could have paid more but that probably wouldn't have added up to greater satisfaction.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

There is nothing Americanized about this Mexican food, so if that's your style, you'll love it here. No atmosphere, but the staff is very friendly and accommodating and the food is good. And for Mexican baked goods, all the locally made stuff is great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stumbled upon this place while wandering around Silverton and were quite happy we found it. Although the restaurant is nothing fancy, it is a family run business with excellent food at reasonable prices and friendly service. You order at the counter from the displayed menu, then the server will bring your meal to your table. We admired the mexican baking which we were too full to order although we noticed a number of locals buying them.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Oregon
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Los Girasoles is a top-notch Mexican bakery. I really like their cooking and their breads. The fresh bread, cookies, and pastries are really unique. You just don't see them that often around here. This is one place where I am always sure to stop in Silverton.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good local food and a bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

very good local mexican food. drab in appearance but staff and food keeps one coming back. photo seems wrong but address seems right. order at the counter and dinner is delv'd.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Girasoles also viewed

 

Been to Los Girasoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Girasoles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.