We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Inn to your Saves list
Edgewater Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7800 Rogue River Drive, Shady Cove, OR 97539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shady Cove
Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent only one night at the Edgewater Inn in Shady Cove, Oregon, but we wish we could have stayed longer. Although it is located right on the Crater Lake Highway, it is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. The staff was very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room had French doors that opened to a balcony overlooking the beautiful Rogue River. We watched rafters drift by and then left the doors open most of the night to enjoy the fresh August air. The bed was a little too soft for my taste, but I slept well after a busy day of driving and sight-seeing. We will definitely stay there again sometime.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel website for significant savings. Be sure to choose a king room with a river v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
34
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Right by highway & Rogue river,We had a balcony on our second floor river side room to watch the floaters on the river.Small odd fridge/stove combo,coffee pot in room & an adequate cold breakfast offered in lobby a.m.
Small pool & hot tub,laundry facilities next to that..
Only negative was the mattress in room #212 was worn only on 1 side.weird.

Room Tip: 212 poor mattress,rooms on river side had view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Edgewater Inn. the only bad thing I can say is the internet rarely worked and I had no phone service at all. which would be no biggie, had I known beforehand. we stayed on the river side. it was a lovely view from our balcony and listening to the river and frogs at night were well worth the extra money. the room was clean and spacious and the knotty pine a nice touch. we took a raft trip down the Rogue. which was both exciting and a workout! (we're 59 and 62) it takes 3 hours. our vacation included visiting Crater Lake. this motel was about an hour out of our way. as we were coming from the north, but I am really glad I decided to stay here. we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: if you choose a room with a kitchenette, and plan to do some cooking, bring your own cooking utensil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nothing is more peaceful than sitting outside of your room or down on the little deck with your morning coffee. Been coming to this hotel for over 13 years and still is my favorite place to stay. They recently upgraded their TVs to flat panels and added a cusion top to the beds. Not the best beds but still pretty comfy. Wifi is a bit sporadic but it's the mountains and you don't always have the best connectivity {period}

Room Tip: I always pick the lower levels as you have immediate access to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed there while fishing the Rogue River. The expensive rooms overlook the river which is terrific and worth the up charge. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. Our room had a fireplace, mini kitchen and flat screen tv. My big complaint is the bed was so soft you woke your partner when you got out in the middle of the night. The pillows were foam rubber rocks that had seen better days. I stay in motels 200 nights a year and when it is all over even a terrific river view does not compensate for a lousy bed and pillow

Room Tip: The upgrade to riverview is well worth the 30$
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

From the exterior this is typical motor court and we weren't expecting much, but the room was surprisingly nice. A king room was furnished in knotty pin with a log bed and tables. The room included a flat screen tv, a/c, ceiling fan, gas fireplace with a faux plant on the mantle and one wall had a complete kitchenette - microwave, unit with sink, mini fridge and two gas burners and more knotty pine in the cabinets that were mostly empty save a pot, a pan
, a toaster and enough paper plates and bowls to get you through a day or two. Our room was on the second floor and a small balcony, accessed through French doors, had two plastic lawn chairs. The balcony overlooks the rogue river. Our room was in the far corner so we also had a close up view of the bridge and Hwy 62. The highway isn't heavily traveled, especially at night, so the traffic noise wasn't noticeable, especially with the background noise of the river & a/c unit. The bathroom is basic but spacious and clean. River rafting outfitters are located just across the street, a park with boat launch is next door and there is a grocery markets and several dining options just down the street. Mac's Diner serves B,L & dinner and had good food, good value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Edgewater Inn has a split personality. The front side is an upgraded Motel 6 -- hot, dry and noisy -- and the back side is a resort on the river's edge. We stayed two nights in front and then paid substantially more for a night on the back.

On the front side there were quirky things: the bar of soap couldn't stay anywhere in the bath area without sliding off, the blackout curtains kept getting blown apart by the air conditioner underneath -- that sort of thing. Fyi, the noise of the highway and parking lot can be effectively drowned out by the fan or ac. The back side seemed put together better, and you can't beat the view of the river from the little patio. If you can swing it, I'd say go for the back side!

The pool and hot tub were nice. Breakfast was pretty standard continental, without too much selection, but it was good enough.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a nice walk by the river on the back side of the hotel, which is especially helpful if you have a dog that needs some exercise.

We stayed here because it was as close as we could get to Crater Lake, but it turned out there were some really nice swim spots on nearby rivers and lakes, as well.

It's not the best hotel, but certainly not the worst hotel. If you can overlook a few glitches, I'd recommend it!

Room Tip: River side is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shady Cove
13.3 mi away
Brookside Inn & Suites White City
20.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
20.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#13 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
18.3 mi away
Rogue Regency Inn
Rogue Regency Inn
#14 of 35 in Medford
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#1 of 3 in Shady Cove
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 7800 Rogue River Drive, Shady Cove, OR 97539
Location: United States > Oregon > Shady Cove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shady Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shady Cove Edgewater Inn presents beautifully appointed rooms in a riverside setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Inn Shady Cove, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.