We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location - Book Online - Showing Signs Of Wear & Tear” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Inn

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7800 Rogue River Drive, Shady Cove, OR 97539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Shady Cove
Plano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Location - Book Online - Showing Signs Of Wear & Tear”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Be sure to book online - you'll save money. I had a local relative call to reserve me a room assuming I would get a better rate. Not so. The rate was $150 per night. It seemed too high so I went online and found the exact same room for $119. When the relative called back to ask about the lower rate, the clerk came down to $140 but no lower. I booked online, and cancelled the "local reservation."

No problems on check in and the online rate was honored.

I have stayed here before and always liked the location. Unfortunately, the motel is suffering from being popular. Sofas, chairs, small kitchen are well worn. There were ants investigating what was underneath the microwave. Bed was well used and a bit too soft. Although clean, it is time the owners spent some money on the place.

Despite the comments, it is the only "nice place" in town so I'll likely go back.

Room Tip: Bottom floor facing the river - "choose room with a view" with doors that open out onto sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here the night before visiting Crater Lake. While it is not a fancy hotel it is very practical and quiet with a nice riverfront setting. (There is a rafting place across the street should you get the desire to go down the river.) We stayed on the second floor in a room facing the river. The continental breakfast suited us fine...bagels, toast, bananas, apples, coffee, juice and cereal, etc., which we took back to our room and ate out on the balcony (after bringing out the coffee table as another reviewer suggested). The motel has a laundry facility on the grounds as well a pool and hot tub. Miguel's Mexican restaurant is just a short walk across the river. Decent food...large portions and reasonably priced. I cannot comment on the pillows as I always bring my own, but I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the river. First floor rooms open right out to a patio and you can walk over to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was clean. Beds were ok but the pillows need to be replaced, they were FLAT. The room did have a nice recliner in it. Some of the rooms have a river view. Not much to the breakfast just rolls, fruit and cereal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I came to this hotel a few years back in 2010, when I went to Crater Lake in the summer. When I was here three years ago, I had a very pleasant experience, so I came back to have another great time.

This time, however, I was greeted by a rude lady at the front desk that treated me terribly, and didn't smile and looked like she didn't want to be there. I would ask her questions, and she would give me quick, short answers. She never once said "hello" or "welcome." She never said "thank you" either. It was a very unpleasant experience.

Also, when I came here, the hotel was almost empty, with only a few cars in the lot. I asked if I could maybe get the room close to the river I had last time I was here. The answer was "No, I don't have the ability to do that, and next the you reserve a room, you should select the option for a 'view room'." That was very rude.

If you're military, you probably shouldn't say that you are, because I get the vibe that they treat you terribly if you are a service member. This is too bad, because the last time I came here, a different lady helped me out, and she was very friendly and kind.

I never felt so un-welcomed at a hotel before, and unless they change the staff, I won't be returning here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Edgewater is a very pleasant surprise in the very small town of Shady Cove, located within 30' of Oregon's famous Rogue River. Fairly new, nicely maintained, comfortable. We ended up in a mini-suite with full kitchen facilities and a King bed. Small but comfortable unit, overlooking the Rogue, with nice electric "fireplace" for nice ambience. Door to patio on river automatically locks, so don't lock yourself out! We will keep this one on our go to list!

Room Tip: Ask for the river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very friendly staff. Go for a room overlooking the river with balcony or terrace. Rooms are very nice with fireplace and flat screen tv. Breakfast is basic. Only protein is the peanut butter. Also have bagels, English muffins, bread, fruit, coffee, tea, juice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is right by the river. Our room was on the 2nd floor, had a balcony, 2 chairs and moved the coffee table outside to set our dinner on. We strolled down by the river before we ate. Nice and quiet at night. Mexican restaruant across from the hotel, plus a Subway. 1 hour away from Crater Lake.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 7800 Rogue River Drive, Shady Cove, OR 97539
Location: United States > Oregon > Shady Cove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Shady Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shady Cove Edgewater Inn presents beautifully appointed rooms in a riverside setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Inn Shady Cove, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.