We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront to your Saves list
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   30 North Prom, Seaside, OR 97138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Seaside
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    94
    83
    69
    57
See reviews for
125
169
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2007

I stayed at the Shilo Seaside location over the weekend with my wife and daughter. We made reservations and when we arrived we found that the reservations were never called into them from the Shilo Corp. Office. They didn't have the room we wanted and all they could offer was a room on the second floor. This is directly above the bar and music from their DJ pounded in our room until well after 2AM. When I complained the next day I was told we would be reimbursed for the room however the reimbursement was never issued. I intend to continue and try to get my money back as guaranteed by the General Manager of the hotel. They even went so far as to write me a letter to verify this. I would advise all to find another alternative for your stay in the beautiful city.

  • Liked — the beach was beautiful and the city of Seaside very nice as well
  • Disliked — Terrible service, unkept promises and music from the bar that you can hear in your room past 1AM
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Seaside Oceanfront property on October 26th and we both absolutely LOVED it! The room was very clean and much more than we had expected. The view from our room was breath taking. The pool was very tempting and looked clean. The room was very comparable to a Hyatt or Hilton. As a birthday treat for my boyfriend's birthday, the Shilo Inn was a great choice and we will be back again. Thanks for the wonderful stay and we recommend this property to all of our friends.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The people with heavy steps upstairs
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

While they advertise that they've just completed multi-million dollar
renovations - I didn't see any evidence of it. Their slogan is "Affordable
luxury" but there is nothing luxurious about this place. The lobby is circa
1980, the rooms ($200/ night! for non-ocean view) are small (10 x 15?)
cinder-block holes- drab white walls with non-discript carpet and dark bland
furniture. This would be appropriately priced at about $65 a night - but at
$200 it's a total rip-off.

Worst of all - luke warm showers! When we complained we got the lame excuse
that they had to re-set the furnace (or something like that....but it still took
too long for me to wait- so no hot shower for me....two days in a row!).

The only "nice" parts of the place - the pool is clean, heated and well
maintained, and so is the steam room. The beds were good and the thread count
on the sheets decent (I'm guessing 250 - 350).

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

The hotel was clean and the room was very nice. The view was picture perfect. We were on the top floor on the south side of the hotel and it was a little noisy at night on the Prom. Comfortable beds and nice kitchen area. It was a little more than we normally pay for a room. For the price I suggest a complimentary breakfast in the extremely overpriced restuarant downstairs. We will probably stay at a less expensive hotel next time, just because there were several that offered breakfast with the room and they were cheaper. If a room with a view is important to you, and price is not, then you will like it here.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

Date: March 6, 2006.
Reviewer: A TripAdvisor Member, Portland, Oregon.
We just returned from a weekend at the Shilo Inn at Seaside. This was one of the worst hotels we've ever stayed in and most definitely the most overpriced. We paid $145 for a room that should have been at most $60. It didn't look anything like the photos we saw on the internet. It had cement block walls, dirty carpets and tacky furniture. There was no hot water for showers -- for three days! And there was something horrible in the electric heater which was the only heating system for the room. My husband and I became ill with a respiratory ailment the first night after we turned it on, and immediately started to get better after we left -- it took us only one day to fully recuperate. (This has not happened to us before and we don't complain of allergies.) There was no card in the hotel asking for comments and when we told the staff about our experience, they seemed unconcerned. Perhaps they were used to those kinds of comments.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2005

We had a room on the fourth floor, which provided a fantastic view of the beach. The balcony was also very pleasant, especially with the warm weather. The room was very quiet; although the rooms next to us were occupied, the only noise were heard was heavy walking in the room above us.

That said, I didn't think the room was worth the $229 I paid for one night. Although party updated, the furnishings didn't match and were a little shabby. There was a odd smell from the bathroom so we kept the bathroom door closed. The hotel overall was fairly plain. I haven't stayed in any other hotel at Seaside so maybe this is simply what's available for this price.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront

Address: 30 North Prom, Seaside, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Seaside
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Shilo Inn Suites Oceanfront Hotel you will be right on the beach in the center of the cultural and tourist attractions of Seaside. The newly updated spacious oceanfront rooms offer Shilo guests a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean and glorious sunsets. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Seaside Oceanfront Hotel Seaside
Shilo Inn Seaside Oregon
Seaside Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.