We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront to your Saves list
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   30 North Prom, Seaside, OR 97138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Now!
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Seaside
Tacoma Wa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Upon checkin and entering the room ,we felt that the room ws extremely warm. The room had no air conditioning so I opened one window in the loft as the second window was already ope(that window could not be adjusted because the latch mechanism was broke). I turned on the ceiling fan only to discover the ceiling fan was not just dusty but was filthy dirty harboring at least a quarter inch of dust! I went to the main desk and asked if I could be moved to a different room and told them about the ceiling fan, the window, and about the room being too warm. I was told that there would be someone sent up to the room right away to take care of problems and that a box fan would be brought up. Within minutes there was a person in the room attempting to dust the fan but he could not get it clean enough with just dusting(mainily because he could not reach the ceiling fan well enough). Big clumps of dust and dirt fell from the fan onto the bed. He called for someone else to check the situation out and another man came to the room with a ladder in order to was the fan and light. I was comcerned about the dust all over the bed so a portable vacuum was brought up and used on the bed. The box fan that was brought to the room was full of dust so I cleaned it the best I could with cotton tip applicators and disinfecing wipes before running the fan to help cool the room. The window had to be closed from the outside as they were unable to make any adjustment from the inside. That evening I turned on the radio and discovered that the volume could not be adjusted and the radio was much too loud. On 8-9-09 (second day), I requested to have the bed linens changed. The housekeeper took the sheets off the bed and was starting to put the clean sheets on when I had noticed a number of blood spots on the mattress cover(not just stains but fairly fresh blood and not from me!!) It was ovbvious that the mattress cover had not been changed in between guests. The housekeeper was very appoligetic an dtook action right away to change the mattress cover. The hair dryer did not work as I discovered after my shower and needing to dry my hair. I did not use the coffee pot becouse the element looked totally rusted and I was afraid to even look in to the carafe!! When I went down to the desk and reported the hair dryer not working and the radio volume could not be adjusted, the lady said that it would be attended to. Upon returning to the room that afternoon I learned tha neither the radio nor hair dryer issues had been addressed. I knew that I should just make the best of it and just stay that one last night. Was the room worth four hundred dollars??? NO!! Dispite all the discrepancies with the room and the Shilo Inn , I did have a wonderful time wisiting Seaside Beach and touring along the Oregon coast. I do hope that the Shilo Inn will be more considerate about their guests and be careful in making the room a little more inviting and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    94
    82
    69
    57
See reviews for
123
168
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Good get away. Walked on the beach and good people watching. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Great place for dog walkers.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Your staff was attentive and freindly. The management was very nice. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. We got a dark small room. The hotel needs a "face-lift".

Did not enjoy the stay at all.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloseaside, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
Dear karl19

We here at the Shilo Inn Seaside Oceanfront Hotel are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience while staying at our hotel. Our 24 hour front desk is available to work diligently with our guests to assure their comfort and satisfaction. We are happy to relocate our valued guests to a room that is more comfortable and meets their needs.

We apologize for not meeting the expectations that you had for a Shilo Inn. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Shaun – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmiles71
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I have been a travel agent for years. I have stayed at all types of properties so I think I have a decent opinion of hotels. Let me say first that the hotel location cant be beat. I never had a problem finding parking and property sits on the main road of "downtown" (broadway). I upgraded to a ocean view room with full kitchen just prior to our stay. Although the room was dated, the accomodations were fully functional and the free wifi was a plus. These rooms lookout directly over the beach but be warned...there is NO air conditioning. Our days were hitting about 72 or so, even then we had to keep the door open to cool down at night. I traveled with my sister and my 2 girls (6 and 3). The swingsets on the beach (there are several) were a huge hit! You also are permitted to have campfires on the beach (not all beaches allow this). Yes, I did pay a lot but we were there during peak season. It is hard to find accomodations for less then 200 a night during the summer. The indoor pool was nice as was the jacuzzi facing the beach. A plus when the weather is a bit chilly outside yet the kids still want to swim. Room service was just okay but was a nice option on the nights we didnt want to cook. Not a lot of "nice" accomodations on seaside so I probably will stay here again and hope they do some updating :)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Great waiters and service. Appreciated menu options and flexibility of foods for veggies. Will come back again on our next vacation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefish
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Hotel needs a really good scrubbing and repairs. Overdue for a remodel to bring up to standard. Location is perfect and staff are super. Overpriced given the issues.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront

Address: 30 North Prom, Seaside, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Seaside
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Shilo Inn Suites Oceanfront Hotel you will be right on the beach in the center of the cultural and tourist attractions of Seaside. The newly updated spacious oceanfront rooms offer Shilo guests a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean and glorious sunsets. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Seaside Oceanfront Hotel Seaside
Shilo Inn Seaside Oregon
Seaside Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.