We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, right on the promenade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 North Prom, Seaside, OR 97138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Seaside
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great value, right on the promenade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stay at Best Western hotels a lot when I’m travelling in the US. Many (if not most) of them are independently owned, and yet they carry a standard of the Best Western brand, so there is some consistency.

Seaside is a resort town on the northern Oregon coast. The high season is June through September. I stayed on a Sunday night before Veteran’s Day. I booked the cheapest room available about three days ahead of time for @$76.00 including tax. When I arrived, they upgraded me to a partial ocean view room without asking. That was nice. The room was clean, two comfortable queen beds with ample pillows. The room was thermostically controlled with a digital thermostat, which was nice. Often you get the odd heater/AC under the window that is always either too hot or too cold. There was a refrigerator/coffee maker/ microwave unit in the room very convenient and unobtrusive. In addition to local and cable channels, the flat screen unit also came with a DVD player and the hotel had a selection of FREE DVDs. You could also just bring your own. There was a small table with two arm chairs and a desk chair and plenty of lights. A very nice room overall. It also had a balcony from which you could see the ocean.

We had just come to see an old friend, so it wasn’t really a ocean watching night or a stay at home DVD night. But the hotel has a small swimming pool, free WIFI, pet friendly with a deposit, an exercise room, a computer/printer internet in the lobby in case you didn’t bring your own device. There is also a spa, but it wasn’t operating at the time we stayed. The hotel has a restaurant and pub on site, with an interesting 5-9pm happy hour. The best part is probably the promenade is right out in front and only 50 meters to the ocean.

My only regret was no free breakfast as many Best Western Hotels feature.

Room Tip: depending on the time of year, ask for an upgrade. If they are not booked to the gills, they will pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thanks for recognizing the staff and free upgrade which we try to do as often as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    216
    105
    49
    39
See reviews for
305
336
43
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just spent one night on our way down the coast but the Best Western has a great location and a nice property. We had a really nice room with an ocean view and really enjoyed it. It's not fancy, but it's comfortable. We lost power briefly and when we called the front desk they were immediately apologetic and responsive and restored the power within 5 minutes. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thanks for the review and also for understanding the power outage. We are the victims of occasional outages on the Coast as the winter weather can dictate conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The entire experience at this property met or exceeded expectations. At check in I was told that, due to there being a large group of high school travelers in the hotel, we had been upgraded from the room we had booked to a view room on an upper floor. The room was complete with a balcony overlooking the ocean, a fireplace and a small kitchen area. We enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the surf and awoke to a beautiful sunrise and an unexpectedly clear morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Ocean View Resort to my friends and will stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view room on an upper floor for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thanks for the great review and comments about the staff, location and comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We checked in for a Saturday night stay at the Best Western Ocean View property for a weekend getaway. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and represented Seaside well. I would highly recommend an ocean side room. You’re by the ocean so for the $10 -$20 extra the unobstructed view is more than worth it.

The hotel is not a new cookie cutter design, but it's apparent that the ownership has re-invested in maintaining, but also improving the guest rooms. We had a room with a queen sized bed, mini kitchen (fridge, 2-burner range, microwave, and sink), DVD player/ VCR combo, flat screen television, and quite a bit more. The gas fireplace was an excellent center piece to the room. It's not something that you would typically find in a mid-scale property and I thought that it was a great bonus.

We were in Seaside for a November trip so we weren't expecting the weather to cooperate (which it didn't), but Seaside has tons of stuff to do. I was impressed that everyone that we encountered there was very kind and informative. (Servers, candy store workers, the hotel staff, etc.)

I would highly recommend this hotel to families, couples, or anyone that’s looking for relaxing and comfortable beachside accommodations for their trip to Seaside.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and spend a little extra on an "ocean view" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thanks for the kind words about the Resort and Seaside in general. Seaside is a fun little town with plenty to do for everyone and the off-season offers great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just spent 3 days in a cozy room with a fireplace, balcony overlooking the ocean. Although it was rainy I could still enjoy the ocean from my room with the beautiful view. The room was clean and tidy, the staff were pleasant. I had breakfast in the restaurant and it was good, eggs cooked perfectly. I will stay there next year for the conference as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your conference stay. We appreciate it and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here on a stormy night and loved it. The room had a nice little balcony, an electric fireplace, with couch, table and chairs and a small kitchen area with microwave and mini-refrigerator. The bathroom was well stocked w/towels and the bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful; we were made to feel right at home. I doubt that i would be willing to deal with the traffic, the crowds and the prices during the high season, but for us, October was perfect.

Room Tip: ask for a room above the dunes on the ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing our Resort. Come back in the summer! With the exception of special events there really are no crowds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just returned home from two nights at this hotel. As stated, it's ocean front and view. Just a few steps to the beach and three blocks to the main downtown avenue. The front desk staff was courteous. We ate dinner in the restaurant twice. The wait staff was courteous and friendly. The food was served in ample portions, was tasty, and had a nice appearance.
We recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the nice review and recognition. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort

Address: 414 North Prom, Seaside, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seaside
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#5 Family Hotel in Seaside
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean View Resort in Seaside, Oregon is located on the beautiful Pacific Ocean directly in front of one of the best beaches on the West Coast. The resort delivers first class and comfortable beachfront accommodations, family-style service, and terrific on-line specials on the scenic and historic North Oregon Coast. Seaside is the last stop on the Lewis & Clark trail and the area offers rich history in an incredible, natural beauty. Astoria, only 12 miles north, is the oldest city west of the Mississippi. Cannon Beach, just five miles south is the "Carmel of the Oregon Coast"including the famous Haystack Rock. Seaside boasts a variety of activities from beach combing, hiking, golf, boating, fishing and of course, the famous Broadway street and turnaround. For family fun and lot's to do, Seaside and the Best Western Ocean View Resort are the perfect pair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean View Hotel Seaside
Best Western Seaside
Seaside Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.