We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 North Prom, Seaside, OR 97138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Seaside
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Ocean Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had booked a standard room with a city view and were VERY pleasantly surprised when we checked in to receive a free upgrade to a suite with a balcony and a great ocean view! Very friendly staff at the front desk and good food at the restaurant on-site. The next morning we had the amazing view of hundreds of people out at the edge of the surf "clamming". It was an unforgettable stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and look forward to your next visit (hopefully before the next clamming season).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    256
    121
    61
    41
See reviews for
365
398
46
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have never stayed at a hotel that did so little to make our stay enjoyable and feel as if we mattered. We booked our one night stay on Travelocity, paying a large sum for an oceanfront jacuzzi room. The ONLY reason we selected this room at this hotel was because it was both oceanfront and had a jacuzzi. This mattered a great deal to my wife as she is training for a marathon and was looking forward to soaking her tired muscles while looking out over the ocean... That was the idea anyway.

When we arrived the hotel checked us into a standard, first floor, oceanfront room with no jacuzzi. We pointed out the mistake and handed them our confirmation paperwork from Travelocity. They handed this to the manager on duty who advised us that they do not have any jacuzzi rooms available and did not at the time of booking. She specifically told us that they have had this problem with reservations booked through Travelocity before, and unfortunately they are unable to offer us a refund because we booked through Travelocity and not the hotel directly.

We understand that this may have been a Travelocity issue and we are very understanding and easygoing people. However, we were still staying at their hotel and expected that they would do something to rectify the situation. They were able to move us up ONE floor, but it bothered us when they called this a "complementary upgrade" and even told us that the jacuzzi room was more expensive than what we paid! We checked their website and found that we did pay full price for a jacuzzi room, and the room we were given was NOT an upgrade by any means. In the end, it was clear by their attitudes and actions that they cared very little about our problem and only wanted to get us out of the way as quickly as possible.

In their sole effort to remedy the situation and our obvious frustration, they offered us breakfast in their onsite restaurant. We accepted thinking this was going to be a good breakfast. Instead they handed us a pre-printed card for the cheapest breakfast on their menu besides oatmeal. Not only did we feel trapped in the hotel, but now we felt trapped eating a breakfast we didn’t really want, and was not available for room service.

It has been over a week since our trip and we are STILL dealing with the issue through Travelocity and Best Western. Travelocity is reluctant to offer us any kind of refund (after hours on hold) because they say that Best Western won't given THEM any money back. Best Western refuses to offer a refund because they say that it's Travelocity's fault. Needless to say we will never book through Travelocity again and do NOT recommend Best Western in Seaside. They make you feel like you are just another number and their rooms are overpriced, even if you do get the room you booked.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner53, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry that the room you booked on Travelocity was different than what you had thought. You booked a King ocean front (not a Jacuzzi) room, and at check-in you seemed to understand that the problem was with Travelocity. The clerk on duty did upgrade you to an ocean front room on a higher floor and included free breakfast. We were surprised to see the negative review (as it was NOT the fault of the hotel). We really felt like we did the best we could under the circumstances as we did not have any other rooms available. We care deeply about our guests and how they feel and I am sorry this happened with Travelocity. We are working diligently with Travelocity to rectify the problem. This situation never happens when guests book directly with the hotel or through Best Western.com. Again, I am sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Location was perfect...at the beach, but toward the end of "hotel row" giving it a little more peace and quiet than some others. We stayed in a "no view" single queen (tight budget), which actually a nice view of the city and foothills. Room was pretty small, but very nice, clean, cozy, and adequately equipped. Restaurant was good, staff was friendly, pool was warm, and we had no complaints. We actually booked another date for the whole family later this summer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner53, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for the kind words, especially the recognition of our staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a pleasant stay! The room was very comfortable, the view amazing and the location just perfect. Oceanfront and it's just a few blocks from the main shopping/club area! The best thing about this Best Western was the check in staff. They were so helpful in orienting us to attractions in Seaside but most importantly, sites further south down the gorgeous Oregon coast-even letting us in the the locals' special beaches and hiking trails. Also helped us gauge how long it would take us to drive the coast and where the next BW would be convenient for us. Definitely a keeper!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner53, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff and the hotel in general. We try to offer the best service possible and I am really proud of our team for going the extra mile to help you plan your travels. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copalis Beach, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I love the Best Western Ocean View Resort! It's as simple as that. The rooms are great and always amazingly clean which is a pet peeve of mine and the staff is always unfailingly fabulous. I don't know where they find the staff but they do a wonderful job of hiring and training. No matter what my question is, they always have an answer!

I can't forget the restaurant, either. The staff is warm and inviting and the food, as always was yummy!

I'll be back again and again and again! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner53, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
We really appreciate your kind words. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I have shared your experience with our team. It really "pumps them up" when they are recognized like this. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

While the Best Western is not quite up to resort/timeshare standards, we found it quite comfortable. It is indeed right on the beach, only three or four blocks from the main part of town and Seaside shops. They have a full service restaurant, an indoor pool and hot tub. Service was excellent, the staff were very helpful.

We did not have an ocean front room, ours faced toward the town. We had two queen sized beds, and the room was ample sized. The mattresses however were far too soft. You really had to work your way toward the center of the bed not to feel like you were falling over the side.

Room Tip: The fifth (top) floor was a little noisy, not from neighbors but from wind, rain, rattle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at here for 2 nights and it was just the perfect getaway for our family. I originally purchased/booked our room through hotwire but called the hotel direct to see about getting a room upgrade - I spoke with a man named Chris who was absolutely wonderful - he had the best customer service skills - he quoted and booked me the upgrade without any problems. After our 5 hour journey with 2 tweenagers we were ready to get to the hotel and just unwind. Our check in was flawless and fast, the woman who checked us in was really friendly and nice. We even got a message from a woman named Rebecca making sure our room was ok. Our room was more than I expected for it being a Best Western brand. It was an oceanfront room with kitchenette, queen bed and a queen murphy bed - both super comfortable. The view was amazing! We had dinner in the hotel restaurant - we had a pizza - it was really good and the salad was one of the best I've ever had. We also got room service for breakfast and it was very reasonable and good. The hotel is in a great location, lots of parking. We are already making plans for another trip and this time bringing our pup - We had no idea that Seaside was so dog friendly. We will definitely be staying here again - This hotel has excellent staff with great customer service skills and in this day and age that is truly hard to find. Great vacation!

Room Tip: Oceanfront room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner53, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We have a number of great services in place for families such as Kids Eat Free, and our pet friendly on the 1st and 2nd floors are quite popular. Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort

Address: 414 North Prom, Seaside, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seaside
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#6 Family Hotel in Seaside
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean View Resort in Seaside, Oregon is located on the beautiful Pacific Ocean directly in front of one of the best beaches on the West Coast. The resort delivers first class and comfortable beachfront accommodations, family-style service, and terrific on-line specials on the scenic and historic North Oregon Coast. Seaside is the last stop on the Lewis & Clark trail and the area offers rich history in an incredible, natural beauty. Astoria, only 12 miles north, is the oldest city west of the Mississippi. Cannon Beach, just five miles south is the "Carmel of the Oregon Coast"including the famous Haystack Rock. Seaside boasts a variety of activities from beach combing, hiking, golf, boating, fishing and of course, the famous Broadway street and turnaround. For family fun and lot's to do, Seaside and the Best Western Ocean View Resort are the perfect pair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean View Hotel Seaside
Best Western Seaside
Seaside Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.