We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dundee's Bar and Grill

Dundee's Bar and Grill
414 Broadway St, Seaside, OR 97138-5810
503-738-7006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 97 Restaurants in Seaside
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Astoria, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Have eaten here several times with mixed results. We usually go for some seafood, pub style, like a salmon burger or fish and chips. I personally wouldn't choose this place but tag along as part of a group.
Overall, the food's okay, always gives me mighty heartburn, but with that much grease it's almost a given. Most of the time, the fish is overcooked, so that the deep-fry batter is dark brown and almost burned. On a bad day, you'll get a staff member that won't write down your order and can't remember it, either. They don't offer anything to make up for a meal the staff simply messed up, and they don't do special orders. Staff is borderline - in the tourist season it's really busy and I'm sure stressful, but I don't really accept that as an excuse for unfriendliness.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    75
    32
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I were in town briefly with a friend and just wanted a place to watch the game. I came in after him because I was busy shopping, but once I found him sitting at the bar a bartender quickly came over and ripped the coffee cup I was holding away from me exclaiming I couldn't have it in there and without giving me a chance to finish it (it was half full). Needless to say, I didn't waste my money there, but my boyfriend had ordered a beer and the staff was slow even though it was busy and there were plenty of people working. Very unwelcoming, unfriendly atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Good donuts, but take your ID”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We tried to stop in at the bar for some of their craft beer as part of the Oregon Craft Beer Trail, but weren't carrying our passports as ID so were turned away. We did have a donut before we left, they were yummy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“OK for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Dundee's was a nice place to start our day at the beach. I was surprised how many places were closed until Spring. Fun to watch some football and warm up from a crisp morning. The waitresses were great!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pretty cool bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Wife and I went here to have a drink and got some food. This is a Red Sox and Patriot bar. Really cool cause I'm a fan of both. Any way, great staff, very friendly. They have a donut shop next door, so if you been drinking it's pretty yummy. Menu is a good size. Little bit more than bar food. Definitely will come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dundee's Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Dundee's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dundee's Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.