We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great bunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Holladay Drive, Seaside, OR 97138   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Seaside
Portland, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a great bunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I pulled into the HIE late Saturday night a few weekends ago to enjoy the amazingly beautiful weather (we were there to stormwatch but got near-summer conditions - no complaints here). After an amazing day, we found our fuel gauge readjusted to a very empty state (went from a little empty to "Oh, crap" empty in about 3 miles!) pulling into Seaside. Only one fuelstop had diesel for many miles and they were have mechanical problems and the pump was nonfunctional. They kind folks at the station got my number and said they would call us ASAP once they got it fixed the next day. The folks at the HIE were very helpful after I inquired some more about other fuelup possibilities and the next morning the front desk informed me the staff had called the station and they estimated the time the pump would be fixed. Talk about awesome customer service! I also noticed that several people being attended were apparently return customers and were speaking happily with staff on a first name basis. The genuinely friendly atmosphere and happy customers are why I really love this property. Happy travels! (BTW, the people at the fuel stop - I don't remember the name - are great too. Only diesel in town.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding.
Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very
best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our
staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes
that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services
we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    84
    32
    22
    13
See reviews for
86
82
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Molalla, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We decided to take a spontaneous trip to Seaside for New Years. We were very pleased with the room overlooking the river and we could still see the ocean. The room had a fridge, microwave and a dvd player. It was just a couple blocks from downtown. The breakfast in the morning was good. My two boys loved the pool, except it was a little on the cold side. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were
to receive your kind words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We visited this hotel the night before going on a cruise on the Oasis. We were greeted at the front desk and signed in immediately. We were able to find our room without any problems. We got directions to a local restaurant (upscale, very good food - fish) for dinner. In the morning we had breakfast at the hotel. It is continental, but it's the best continental we've ever had! You name it - they had it.

Room Tip: If you like a view rather than looking at the next building, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneta, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Over the holiday weekend we decided to do a spur of the moment trip with our two exchange students. After a busy day of driving and sightseeing we decided to call it a night in Seaside. The hotels we contacted that were directly on the beach were all unavailable, so we pulled into Holiday Inn Express and they had a room available. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and in the heart of Down Town. There was plenty of parking, the lobby was clean, bright and inviting. The front desk clerk was friendly and treated us with well. He even gave us a cheaper rate than was posted online. The hotel is starting to show some wear around the edges; the wallpaper in our bathroom was peeling, the couch had some wear around the edges, but it was clean. The rooms were large. We had a two queen, with a small couch and a table. We went up the street to Safeway and got some drinks and snacks. The front desk leant us a bottle opener to take to our room. The family had mixed reviews on the breakfast. The omelets and the pancakes were deemed inedible by my boys, but the biscuits and gravy were enough to last us until lunch. The juice was not the best. The milk had an expiration date one day away, so we avoided it.

The pool and hot tub were a nice retreat from a long day of driving. The pool is open to adults 24 hours and till 10 for those under 21.

Over all we enjoyed out stay here and if we venture back to Seaside we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the North End. There is a bar next door that has some LOUD music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Sometimes the pictures on the website can be a little enthusiastic. In this case however we were very pleasantly surprised. This is a very nice property, well kept and in a great location in Seaside. The night manager Brett was very helpful and a great resource for the sights to see. One of our favorites was Bruce's Candy Shop in Cannon Beach. (loved those Peanut Butter Logs!) We now have a home away from home at the HIE Seaside. Thanks for the great stay! Hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the inlet on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were
to receive your kind words of praise for Brett and the hotel.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were in Seaside late September. We have stayed many times in Seaside but this was the first at this hotel. Upon arriving check in was a breeze and staff very pleasant. Room was clean and we had a view of the inlet. Location is great and we didn't move the car while in town. We didn't eat the continental breakfast because we have favorite breakfast spots in Seaside. Pool area was very nice. I would recommend this property

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was here in late October, and according to the woman working the breakfast room, it's now the off season, and things have really slowed down. That explains the eight cars in the parking lot when I arrived at 8 PM, and the very quiet hotel, helping to make sleep easy. The wifi dropped intermittently on all three networks I tried, but it was usable.

It's a little worn around the edges -- parts that don't get remodeled, like the bathroom door, are showing their age. Yes, other comments are dead on about the gross tasting omelettes -- if they're using Cheez Wiz in them so close to Tillamook, well, disappointment. Avoid the eggs and you'll be happy.

The staff was very friendly. The location is in walking distance of everything I needed. It's not a bad choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center

Address: 34 Holladay Drive, Seaside, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#6 Business Hotel in Seaside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside Oregon. This beautiful Seaside hotel is strategically located in downtown Seaside, convenient to the Seaside Convention Center and only 3-1/2 blocks from the beach. Close to the hotel is the Seaside Historical Museum, Seaside Carousel Mall and of course Seaside's famous downtown shopping area on Broadway, home of the Turnaround. We are also located just blocks from the Seaside Factory Outlet Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside is ideal for business travelers, families and coastal visitors. The beautifully appointed guest rooms in this new Seaside hotel offer a variety of room types and styles with amenities to fit every need. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside offers an indoor heated pool, spa and sauna; fitness center and guest laundry. We also feature a business center and free high speed Internet service. The team at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside is committed to providing the highest level of service and value. We take pride in exceeding our guest s expectations and making your stay an enjoyable one. We reserve the right to make changes to policies without notice. All group reservations require a 96 hour cancellation notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seaside - Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Seaside
Seaside Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Seaside
Holiday Inn Express Seaside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.