We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very pleasantly surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Holladay Drive, Seaside, OR 97138   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Seaside
Sequim, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We were very pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Sometimes the pictures on the website can be a little enthusiastic. In this case however we were very pleasantly surprised. This is a very nice property, well kept and in a great location in Seaside. The night manager Brett was very helpful and a great resource for the sights to see. One of our favorites was Bruce's Candy Shop in Cannon Beach. (loved those Peanut Butter Logs!) We now have a home away from home at the HIE Seaside. Thanks for the great stay! Hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the inlet on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were
to receive your kind words of praise for Brett and the hotel.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    84
    32
    21
    13
See reviews for
89
82
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were in Seaside late September. We have stayed many times in Seaside but this was the first at this hotel. Upon arriving check in was a breeze and staff very pleasant. Room was clean and we had a view of the inlet. Location is great and we didn't move the car while in town. We didn't eat the continental breakfast because we have favorite breakfast spots in Seaside. Pool area was very nice. I would recommend this property

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was here in late October, and according to the woman working the breakfast room, it's now the off season, and things have really slowed down. That explains the eight cars in the parking lot when I arrived at 8 PM, and the very quiet hotel, helping to make sleep easy. The wifi dropped intermittently on all three networks I tried, but it was usable.

It's a little worn around the edges -- parts that don't get remodeled, like the bathroom door, are showing their age. Yes, other comments are dead on about the gross tasting omelettes -- if they're using Cheez Wiz in them so close to Tillamook, well, disappointment. Avoid the eggs and you'll be happy.

The staff was very friendly. The location is in walking distance of everything I needed. It's not a bad choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a great stay and excellent service. This property went above and beyond to make our stay great!! I was traveling from FL to OR with my son who is in the USCG. This stay was our 4th night out and this was the only hotel to acknowledge his service. The front desk (Brett) was stellar. I would not only recommend this hotel, I will return. Clean rooms, great breakfast and convienent location. Great job!!! And let's not forget to show and give support to the men and woman that protect our freedoms.

Room Tip: It seems that all rooms would be great, newer hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, this was the first time we had stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. We asked to check in early and was told it would be just a few minutes(which is was). The breakfast was typical continental plus pancakes, egg omelets, the omelet was not very good at all! The staff was nice and friendly will probably stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our family has been going to this location for many years. And have always enjoyed our stay, but for whatever reason it may be for change in management or so forth this place has turned into from a lollipop of enjoyment to a leach. Last time we stayed there the spa was filthy with grime. The next time we planned to go. Work issues came up and we wanted to cancel well over 28 hours in advance of our arrival. If you call central reservations they will assure you that cancellation is acceptable at 6:00 pm the day of arrival. When we called to cancel a "Stephanie" had answered and denied us our cancellation due to their "48 hour notice" policy and that it was not a "cancellable or changeable reservation". We had not pre-paid or used a third party booking agency we called direct to the hotel. So I asked for the reservation to be moved because we couldn't make it. Her manager Katie Parson allowed it "just this once" and since I felt like I was being forced to stay I decided to cancel the whole stay. So if you want to be just a number there are plenty of better hotels in the area well worth staying at. Our rate was very minute in comparisson to what anyone would pay, but this Holliday Inn would rather make money off your "No show or cancellation" than to earn it through customer care or accommodations. Definitely, find another hotel that is closer to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Benjamin M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the policies of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your interactions. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express several years when we've been in Seaside, Oregon. We always go at the "end of season." It's very convenient to the Convention Center and has in the past been a predictable Holiday Inn Express experience---not too hot, not too cold...just right. This year was different. The housekeeping had really slipped. When we arrived we noticed that the rugs were quite dirty in the two rooms at which we looked. I began to understand why as we spent our week there. They never vacuumed the whole week! Obviously, things are going to be dropped which are easily vacuumed, but not after being ground into the carpet. This made me queasy about the rest of the cleanliness.

This year a friend who is fairly disabled joined us. He too was disappointed in the facilities. One room which was designated as handicapped had no walls around the bathtub. He needs to lean against a solid surface, so the location of the grab bars is very important. Provision for the disabled is a growing concern as the population ages. I hope the Holiday Inn Express chain is looking at ADA standards and considering them as they remodel.

Another complaint I had this year was the breakfast. I'm pretty satisfied with cereal, but one morning I tried the omelet, only to quickly discard it for my traditional raisin bran. The girl working the kitchen was overwhelmed at times. She could not keep up with the demand for coffee and the various items on the buffet. I seem to remember more staff in the past, and I wonder if the hotel was not hiring or if there was a staff shortage.

One really positive off the hotel is the very friendly and helpful staff. Perhaps, there were just not enough of them.

Most likely we will be back to Seaside, but I've already decided to check the reviews of other nearby hotels. Hopefully, by the time I check the reviews next summer, the Holiday Inn Express will have returned to the days of yore when we found the rooms clean and the food edible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Lindadrp,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center

Address: 34 Holladay Drive, Seaside, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#6 Business Hotel in Seaside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside Oregon. This beautiful Seaside hotel is strategically located in downtown Seaside, convenient to the Seaside Convention Center and only 3-1/2 blocks from the beach. Close to the hotel is the Seaside Historical Museum, Seaside Carousel Mall and of course Seaside's famous downtown shopping area on Broadway, home of the Turnaround. We are also located just blocks from the Seaside Factory Outlet Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside is ideal for business travelers, families and coastal visitors. The beautifully appointed guest rooms in this new Seaside hotel offer a variety of room types and styles with amenities to fit every need. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside offers an indoor heated pool, spa and sauna; fitness center and guest laundry. We also feature a business center and free high speed Internet service. The team at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside is committed to providing the highest level of service and value. We take pride in exceeding our guest s expectations and making your stay an enjoyable one. We reserve the right to make changes to policies without notice. All group reservations require a 96 hour cancellation notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seaside - Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Seaside
Seaside Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Seaside
Holiday Inn Express Seaside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.