We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay when I travel to Seaside...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanai at the Cove

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lanai at the Cove
Save
You added Lanai at the Cove to your Saves list
3140 Sunset Blvd., Seaside, OR 97138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Three Night Special
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
“My favorite place to stay when I travel to Seaside...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

This is probably my favorite hotel anywhere. I have been staying at the Lanai for over ten years now, multiple times a year and I have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean, quiet, convenient and comfortable, and the service is great. I would highly recommend the Lanai to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    122
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
151
316
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

My mom and I took a trip from Portland to the coast and decided to stay in Seaside. Our first night we booked a room at the Holiday Inn Express in seaside next to the river. It was nice, but when we went driving around the town, we discovered a small slice of heaven that was Lanai at the Cove, just south of downtown, right on the beach. It was actually cheaper than the Holiday Inn, but our room at Lanai was right on the beach with a beautiful balcony view. LOVED IT! The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful when we were trying to find our way around town. Would recommend to everyone traveling on the Oregon coast! GO HERE!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Our wonderful stay with this hotel started right at booking. They were very friendly on the phone and when we arrived there was no problem with our reservation. The room (#38) was a nice clean room. The beds (one pull out couch) were very comfortable. We were facing the cove so the view was unbeatable so at the price I think the Lanai is a great place to stay. It was also nice to roast marshmallows in front of our room then wake up in the morning, let the teens sleep while we sat out and drank coffee while we watched the surf. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

A fantastic stay! Lanai at the cove is about 5 minutes from downtown Seaside which is no bad thing; we went into town once and that was quite enough... It's set directly on the beach overlooking Seaside on the other side of the bay which assures lovely views. I'd imagine that your stay depends on the room you have selected - we reserved unit 32 which we were told was the nicest room. Dual aspect on the second floor and really nicely furnished and decorated. A well-equipped kitchen and bathroom made our stay very comfortable and being able to go to sleep to the sound of the sea was lovely! Despite the tacky downtown (worse in some places, better in others), Seaside does have it's plus points - some good stores and restaurants and lots of outdoorsy things to do in the very near vicinity. If you want to stay in Seaside, you're better off at the Lanai rather than some of the monster chain hotels on the sea front down town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We rented one of the 3rd floor condos for 2 nights to continue an excursion that had been following Lewis & Clark, with its next leg being the drive down the coastal highway to San Francisco. As a denizen of the east coast, I can't say pacific coast beaches even remotely resemble the kind of beaches I'm used to, but that's to be expected. What you get on the west coast is mostly rough, raw, and spectacular. The Lanai at the Cove puts this right in your face. Our room was comfortable, clean, and well appointed (including a kitchenette), with a private balcony facing the Pacific. If it is of interest, there is a small swimming pool but no elevator, or least one that I observed. The only other things missing were a convenient laundry and restaurants within easy walking distance. However, both are just a few minutes away in Seaside itself, which we found to be sort of a honky-tonk tourist haven, although with a very nice promenade along its ocean front and a small selection of pretty good restaurants. As for the Lanai at the Cove, I seriously doubt you will do better in this area, and certainly not for the price being charged.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the Lanai. We wanted to see the Oregon coast on our trip of Western US and must say were very pleased with our choice of accomodation. After visiting the town of Seaside we know we would have found that too busy to stay in and the setting of rhe Lanai was perfect on such a quiet spot by the sea.
Our room was spotless and well decorated and we appreciated the fridge and small cooker with utensils so that we did not need to eat out all the time.
From there we were also easily able to visit the quaint town of Canon Beach and Ecola National Park with its beautiful beach and lovely walks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We booked our stay awhile back and planned our whole vacation around staying there. My wife is on oxygen and the place is non-smoking. Unfortunately, every night the other guests would build bonfires on the rocks just off the property toward the beach. The thick smoke filled the entire area, front and back and got into the room. We could not even go out on the nice patio off our room becasue it was so bad. The staff on duty said there was nothing they could do about the fires since they were off the property; but in checking further we discovered that there are not to be any fires within 50 feet. These were much closer than that. We hung in there for a couple of days before we had to just leave. My wife nearly had to go to the doctor because of the smoke. If you have breathing problems, think twice about staying there. Otherwise it is a wonderful place that is clean and has beautiful views.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanai at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai at the Cove

Address: 3140 Sunset Blvd., Seaside, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seaside
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seaside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#5 Business Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Lanai At The Cove Hotel Seaside
Lanai At The Cove Seaside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanai at the Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.