We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillcrest Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hillcrest Inn to your Saves list
Hillcrest Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   118 N Columbia Ave, Seaside, OR 97138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Value and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

After flying out from Atlanta, the drive from Portland lasted a little longer due to getting lost in the Rose City. My son and I arrived a little after 10 PM and was relieved to see that a friendly face was still there to greet us and show us to our room. I was thrilled with the size of the room and how clean it was. We were on the corner (Room 120) and had no problem with noise, whatsover. I met Jay the next day who also was very nice, with a good sense of humor. I would highly recommend the Hillcrest Inn to anyone looking for value and location in Seaside.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — non
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    34
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
49
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Alberta
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Older hotel but don't let that deter you! Very nice and clean in an apt. size room! Had a full kitchen and a separate bedroom. Great location - just a couple blocks easy walk to the beach. And our host, Jay (hotel manager/owner?) was the highlight of the stay. He was SO helpful and friendly and made a point of remembering all of our family's names. Excellent customer service! I definitely recommend this hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Wa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

I booked the "Sweet Retreat" room at the Hillcrest without ever having been to the Hillcrest before, and I wasn't disappointed. The rates at this hotel are really low, especially considering how close to the beach it is. Halfway through our 5 day stay in Seaside, we switched rooms to stay in the "Hideaway." Jay, one of the employees at the Hillcrest, made sure that our transition was smooth and easy. I've never seen more friendly hotel staff anywhere. Jay treated us like he was genuinely happy we were staying there, and Joanne was also very helpful and kind. The rooms were both very clean and nice for the prices we paid for them. I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else in Seaside.

  • Liked — The location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — No pool. haha
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Lombardia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

The location in seaside is perfect, near the beach and near Broadway street.
We choose the Sweet Retreat (the cheapest room available).
The wireless works well.
Minor problem: a little smelly (shoes) when we entered.

  • Liked — position and staff
  • Disliked — smell in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

The location and service was top-notch. You are literally less than a block from the beach and two blocks from the main strip. The room we stayed in had great jet bath and was clean and spacious. The only drawback was the noise from the 2nd floor floorboards caused by anyone walking up the outside stairs or in the room above us.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — 2nd floor noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

We have stayed at the Hillcrest Inn several times in the last two years.

The Hillcrest works for us because it is clean, quiet, and close to the beach. The number one reason we come back is how we are treated while staying there. You have two employees that are simply amazing! Jay and JoAnn are so friendly and helpful. Unlike some other lodgings we feel like our business is appreciated.


Could you please forward this email to the management or the owners? I’m not sure how much these two employees make but I feel they should get some extra compensation for the fine service they provide. I’ve stayed at many places down the coast and have never felt more comfortable and appreciated then while staying at the Hillcrest Inn. I will tell our friends and relatives to stay at the Hillcrest when in Seaside.



Please let Jay and Joann know about this email and tell them what a great job they are doing.



Sincerely,

Matt and Jo

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

As a family, we've have considered the Hillcrest our beach home for many years. The staff are always friendly and make us feel welcome. We like the variety of rooms. With the whole family we can enjoy the cabin or one of the vintage rooms with kitchens. Sometimes we sneak away for couple time and enjoy the "sweet retreat" or one of the spa rooms. We recommend the Hillcrest to all our friends and family. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Liked — charming, cozy, feels like home
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillcrest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Inn

Address: 118 N Columbia Ave, Seaside, OR 97138
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Seaside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillcrest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillcrest Inn recaptures the nostalgic charm of the Oregon Coast. Located only a half block from the beach, 2 blocks from downtown and the Convention Center and yet situated in a serene garden-like setting. In addition to cottages with fully equipped kitchens, there are mini-suites with partial kitchens, spa rooms and immaculate traditional rooms. There is a sauna and bbq on site for guests use. The 5-bedroom Hilldcrest House, perfect for reunions and group events, can sleep up to 16 people and is located immediately next door to the Hillcrest Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hillcrest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Seaside
Hillcrest Motel Seaside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillcrest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.