We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finn's Fish House

Finn's Fish House
227 Broadway, Seaside, OR (Formerly Finn's)
503-738-8330
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 88 restaurants in Seaside
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Honolulu
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was our first time in Seaside. We were staying in Portland and went over on a cold, windy day. The place was warm and inviting and all of the staff were very welcoming. They all seemed to really like each other and working at Finn's. We had the clam chowder and it was great! Very rich from clam broth, not cream. They also add a little smoked salmon, but not too much. The fish and chips plates (we had the salmon and oyster) were also good. The batter was a little heavy and a little too greasy, but hey! It's fish and chips! The potatoes were excellent, just cooked and crispy and the salmon and the oysters were just perfect. The accompanying slaw was also excellent - fresh, not heavily dressed, and crisp. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    39
    38
    21
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“French Fries at Perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We wanted to get some fish where we knew it would be fresh. The coconut shrimp we ordered as an appetizer was superb. There were six huge prawns that you could make a meal on. For the main entree we ordered their Pacific cod filets which came with slaw and french fries that were cooked to perfection. I wish I had more room so I could have eaten all of them. The cod filets are a nice size and the small order of three was plenty. The slaw was so so but the rest of the meal made up for it. Jennifer, our waitress, struck the perfect balance between being available and away. Very enjoyable meal all around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Seafood restruant with lots of variety and no fish smell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Good food, medium priced, great variety of food not just seafood, nice atmosphere, decent service. Located on Broadway in the middle of the action.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gourmet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Love the menu, not too big, allowing them to focus on a great presentation of each dish. The wedge salad blends unique and ingredients and is delish!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was our anniversary and we were supposed to be eating at the restaurant in the Stephanie's Inn in Cannon Beach. We had had a storm that day and to our surprise,the road was washed out and we couldn't get there. We turned around and went back into Seaside to find an alternative......we ended up picking Finns. The waitress was attentive, the fire was warm though the dining room gave little hint to the story of it's Finnish/American owners. The wine list was small and just barely adequate. We both ordered the featured meal of the night which was stuffed halibut. When the meals arrived they looked great, both hunks of fish larger than expected. This is where the love story ends....they were both terribly over cooked. What a waste of good fish! It was like eating a rubber boot. It's not like the place was busy and these just got away from the chef.....we were the only ones with an order in at the time! The waitress did ask us how everything was and was quite shocked to hear my reply. She didn't know how to respond and instead of apologizing and taking away our plates to bring new meals, she went "fishing" instead and finally asked us what we wanted her to do about it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finn's Fish House also viewed

 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Finn's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finn's Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.