We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored Victorian home a half block from the Promenade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gilbert Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gilbert Inn to your Saves list
The Gilbert Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   341 Beach Drive, Seaside, OR 97138-5707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save over 40%:2-night Pkg
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Seaside
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored Victorian home a half block from the Promenade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Lovingly restored Victorian home with period furnishings and decorations. A very gracious innkeeper who shared the history of the Gilbert family and the origins of the Inn. She provided a great recommendation for a wonderful breakfast at Patty's Wicker Cafe. We stayed in the Andrew's Room which is very comfortable and has a full bathroom. Fresh fruit, homemade cookies, and coffee & tea were provided. The location is ideal being just 1/2 block from the 1.8 mile promenade that runs along the beach. We took very relaxing walks along the promenade watching many people clamming for the razor clams at low tide.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    32
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The girlfriend and I just got back from a 2 night stay at the Gilbert Inn. I got a Groupon deal to stay at this place so we decided to make the drive from Vancouver BC down to Seaside since everyone always says how nice the Oregon Coast is. We loved the town. Everyone there was super friendly. As for the Inn we stayed in the Alexander Room. when we got there we were greated by Maria the Innkeeper who was really nice and helpful. She also filled us in on the history of the Inn which happens to be the oldest house in Seaside! Our room was perfect, the bed was comfy...what more can you ask for! The room came equipped with a little coffee pot as well as some snacks. The fresh baked cookies every day in the living room was a great touch too. we will for sure be back to Seaside soon and when we do I plan on staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR Globetrotter
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

The hubby & I stayed at The Gilbert Inn for a little weekend getaway. While the property is charming in appearance, I feel the service was lacking the hospitality & small personal touches we've experienced at similar inns.
For example, we read so much about the fantastic breakfasts, which was one reason we chose to stay there, but when we asked the owner what time breakfast was, she simply said, "we haven't served breakfast since 2009," so make note, fellow travellers. She just pointed out a MINI fridge in the common area to be shared by ALL guests on a first come, first served basis. I guess it's good there was any refrigeration at all considering there is no access to fresh or chilled drinking water- only from the tap in disposable plastic cups. Also disappointing was lack of even an urn of coffee- this IS the (gray) Pacific NW after all.
Admittedly, our room (in the attic) was sweet with a good view and the home is well-maintained with some interesting historical elements, but for the price we'll probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertInn, Owner at The Gilbert Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We appreciate the critical review. We are sorry the guests were disappointed about breakfast no longer being served. It is true that the Inn was operated as a Bed and Breakfast, but no longer. That very important change has been published on the Inn's website since being implemented in 2009.

With that in mind, no matter what other websites, publications, or booking engines are used or consulted, we encourage prospective guests to always go to the Gilbert Inn's official website to read up on current policies and changes. www.gilbertinn.com is the only official source of information, current rates, and policies.

On the guests' two other points: We do not like the plastic glasses either. But with the hard tile floors in the bathroom, more than one "glass glass" shattered. For our guests' protection we chose to select the safest option. And while there is no coffee urn on the main floor, there are individual coffee pots, mugs, and complimentary coffee in each room, and hot water and a tea service in the Inn's sun room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

This place is rad. Great local. Innkeeper is super nice and totaly in love with the place! Its wierd. The room we stayed in was large. 1/2 block to the beach. Would loveto stay here again, 1 block to main drag. This place is bomb. Full props dawg. Haters gonna hate!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria W, Innkeeper at The Gilbert Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
First, I would like to thank you for such a positive review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again the next time you are on the North Oregon Coast.

Here at The Gilbert Inn our focal point, and really what sets us apart, is the rich History of the home. Many guests choose our Inn specifically because of this.

As you mentioned in your review … yes! I do love The Gilbert Inn and take great pride in sharing this Historical landmark with our guests. I was a bit taken back by the title of your review and hope that my enthusiasm for this beautiful home was not intrusive or overwhelming to you.

Please contact me if you have any other feedback, as I am always open to improving the quality of stay for our guests.

Best Wishes,
Maria Weber
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Great place for a nice little getaway in Seaside. The Inn is very clean and maintained really well. It would be even nicer if it wasn't surrounding by huge condo building across the street, but the location is still great, just a few blocks away from Broadway, where almost all the 'actions' located, the shops, the restaurants.

Our room, Renee, was not big, but it's nice and cozy. 'Everything' we need was there, including the 'old big tube' TV. The pictures still OK with lots of channels, though.

There's a little restaurant called "Patty's wicker's cafe' off Broadway on the walkway near the bridge that serves home style breakfast worth to check out. We walked passed it one day and decided to go back to try it. It's not disappointing.

Room Tip: The Alexander room upstairs supposed to be one of the original room in the house. If we ever go back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This home is just wonderful, lots of history, very elegant and homey. It is less than two block from the water, and just one block from the main street of shopping in the downtown area. We stayed in the Turret Room, which I highly recommend. It is a corner room with many windows and a peak view of the ocean as well as the waving American flag in the front yard.

There were only a couple of bummers. First, this is not a B&B, it is only a B. No breakfast here anymore. This is stated on the website, but I admit I did not notice it until after I booked the non-refundable room. Although I do not regret our decision, I may not have booked had I realized this. Breakfast is something I factor in to the price, and it's always a great way to meet other travelers. The only other negative was that the heat was not working in our room. We were provided a space heater that was barely adequate. But again - the bed was so darn comfortable that snuggling up under the covers made up for the chill in the room.

The owner is a wonderful lady who has ties to the house and can share the history. The cookies in the afternoon are a treat, and there is great coffee in the rooms that you can buy in Astoria. We used this as our home base while we explored Cannon Beach and Seaside, and it was a great decision.

Room Tip: The Turret Room! We toured several others - and this ws the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and chose to visit Seaside and stay at the Gilbert Inn because of the romantic Victorian style indicated in Trip Advisor reviews. Now after staying here, we plan to celebrate our 21st anniversay at the Gilbert Inn as well.

From the first moment we arrived, inn keeper and owner Jeannie greeted us with a warm smile and welcomed us to her home. She (and her lovely assistant Maria) gave us a brief orientation of the home and talked about the history of the house.

In the evening we sat by the fire and chatted with other guests while having a glass of wine and although the Inn was full, it was very quiet. Our room (the 1880) was ample and spotless.

WiFi is included and so is a big plate for fresh cookies everyday!

As a special touch, we returned to our room on Saturday night to find a swan with a red rose and a card congratulating us on 20 years. This was very thoughtful and another indication that Jeannie really welcomes her guests and will take care of the little things to make your stay special.

The Gilbert Inn is a short one block walk from the beach and downtown is also a very easy stroll. The charm of this home more than makes up for not being right on the beach and besides, I think it's ideal that not having the ocean view makes you get out of our room and walk on the beach to watch the ocean, rather than sitting in your room.

If you are looking for a romantic getway or just a clean, comfortable place to stay while in Seaside, the Gilbert Inn is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The 1880 Room has a sitting room and with included WiFi you could setup a little office if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gilbert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilbert Inn

Address: 341 Beach Drive, Seaside, OR 97138-5707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gilbert Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay in the romantic Gilbert Inn and make this historic 122 year old Victorian your home while on the Oregon coast. Its original owner, Alexandre Gilbert, was a soldier, hotelier and a mayor of Seaside. In 1892 he and his wife, Emma, built the house that would become the Gilbert Inn. According to the local newspaper, the Seaside Signal, the Inn is now Seaside's oldest surviving house. But don't worry about comfort! Each room has a full private bath, television, and modern, comfortable beds. To preserve a place for couples to retreat, guest must be 18 years or older to stay. Come and discover this coastal treasure that provides a window to the past with all the fine comforts of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gilbert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gilbert Hotel Seaside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gilbert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.