We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Salem to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Salem
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 Market Street North-East, Salem, OR 97303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Outdated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

I got the Red Lion for $50/night on Priceline.com. It was worth $50 but not more. My room had outdated decor, some dirty areas in the bathroom and heater just inches from the bed that blows strong and loud continuously. The bed was too soft for me and left me with a back ache. The room is configured so you cannot see the tv from the bed...this was a first for me. Like I said it was worth $50, but not more. I won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    77
    46
    26
    20
See reviews for
54
46
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Staff was friendly, restaurant was understaffed yet passable, but when I needed to move some big files for work, the internet kept choking down and kicking me off. Tech support was a joke--it was an 877 number, but i could hear the kid taking his iPhone out of his pocket. He pretended he was in another city and did nothing for me. He kept promising more bandwidth later, but then gave me nothing. He also spoke to me as if i were a nuisance, or someone's tech challenged grandma. As it stands, i have to wake up 2 hours early to find some decent internet AFTER i spent all damn night trying to move one file.
Don't stay here if you need internet.
J

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a week in February 2011 and it was a good value, clean rooms, and the restaurant was very good, though a bit expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The CS was great and the King bed was fabulous! The best part was the Willamette
Valley Grill in the hotel. The food was SO good! I would eat there even if I'm not staying at the hotel. The only thing that was 'different' about the room was that the shower is separate from the sink/mirror area. Other than that, we loved it there and will stay and eat there again when we are in the area. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Very good CS at the front desk. King bed room was very tiny, I'm sure they have larger units. Housekeeping was excellent. Terrific restaurant downstairs, excellent breakfast! Bit of a dingy lobby, past that you'll be alright. Very convenient to I-5. Lounge downstairs was great as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger king room on the northwest side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

A bit of a disappointment... although the evening front desk staff were very pleasant and service oriented, the morning staff really didn't seem to care that the TV had a screen with a bad tube - 'burn marks' or that the room closet hangers were too small for the closet rod so clothing would just fall on the floor. There is some obvious facilities neglect here (the TV didn't get like that overnight). Too bad the night staff weren't still there in the morning. The breakfast was nice, the room was average, the bed was average. Overall, no great value for the money... just average.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I was suprised to see some negative reviews of the hotel. I stayed with my daughter and her friend for a swim meet so we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, but we had a great experience. When we checked in, it was very busy, but the front desk service was very pleasant and efficient. The staff at the front desk was also friendly and helpful the next morning. Breakfast at the hotel was decent, not gourmet, but very affordable and we had a very good waitress. That evening I went to the bar for a drink and James, the bar tender, made everyone feel great and handled multiple drink and food orders without any problem. James was definitely a highlight of the hotel. The other great thing at the hotel was the beds! I really wish I could take one home. Extremely comfortable. Overall I thought the hotel was great both in facilities and staff. I would definitely recommend that people stay here.

Room Tip: We liked being on the top floor away from a lot of the noise in the restaurant and bar at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salem

Address: 3301 Market Street North-East, Salem, OR 97303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Salem Oregon the capital city of Oregon. The Red Lion Hotel Salem is located on Market Street, just off I-5 and minutes from downtown, the State Capitol, Salem Center, the Oregon State Fair Grounds, Woodburn Outlet Mall and Oregon Gardens. We are in close proximity to the The HOOP (5.1 miles), Garmin (4.1 miles), Sanyo (5.85 miles), Salem Hospital (5.22 miles), T-Mobile (6.89 miles) and Home Depot Distribution Center (5.45 miles).Our 148 spacious guest rooms and six executive suites are newly renovated and Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers and hairdryers. All guestrooms include microwaves and refrigerators as well. We offer room service and valet laundry services. For fun and relaxation, swim in our indoor pool or work out in our fitness center, which also includes a dry sauna. You'll enjoy the flavors of the great northwest at Willamette Valley Grill Restaurant and 3301 Ultra Lounge, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With 10,000 square feet of meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Salem is also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion.Parents, students and alumni will find us conveniently close to all of the area's universities and colleges. Willamette University is just 3 miles west of the hotel and Chemeketa Community College 4 miles north. Two other universities that are nearby are Corban College, just 8 miles South, and Western Oregon University 15 miles West. The only HUT Portland Airport shuttle location in Salem. For care, comfort and value, visit the Red Lion Hotel Salem where our staff is always ready to respond to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Red Lion
Red Lion Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.