We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean ~ Friendly ~ Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Salem to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Salem
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 Market Street North-East, Salem, OR 97303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Custer, South Dakota
2 reviews
“Clean ~ Friendly ~ Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great location. Lots of places to eat nearby but after dining at the hotel restaurant we ate mostly there. Restaurant staff was very friendly and the food was delicious and affordable. The bartender went out of his way to make you feel welcome. Front desk and housekeeping were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and quiet. Did have a problem with our first room but was moved right away. Kids loved the pool. We will stay here again next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    77
    46
    26
    20
See reviews for
54
46
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

As I walked toward my room in the third floor, there was a smell like moldy. It became apparent the hotel is old and a need of upgrades. Besides this experience, everything else was ok. Also, the dining was a great experience and I recommend it. Overall, I probably Willy stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The Red Lion Hotel is Awsome. The staff is friendly and knowledgable. The rates are good and the rooms are very clean and very confortable. Oh, Did i mention the service was great! I will book future stays at The Red Lion Hotel in Salem

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The staff was friendly and very helpful. We were close to most of the activities in Salem. The room was large and had everything we needed. We brought a teen and he would have been happy to just stay in and watch TV. We liked it so well we stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I travel to Salem about once a month on business. The nice folks at the Red Lion in Salem make me feel like a welcome friend. It's comfortable, convenient and has an excellent restaurant. Stop in and say "Howdy" to the manager JoSue. She knows her town, she knows where all the best shopping spots are and is always a gracious hostess.

Room Tip: Just ask! They'll always try to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We decided to stay and the Red Lion for my 14 year olds birthday with a couple of her friends. We rented two rooms and asked that they be adjoining. Tiffany went above and beyond to accomodate that request. She set us up with two wonderful rooms. When we went to check out the rooms, unfortunately our neighbor was alittle loud for us. Tiffany without hesitating moved our rooms. And those rooms were even more beautiful. The girls LOVED the pool and we all had a GREAT time. Tiffany was polite, courteous professional and very helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

A last minute trip and we needed accommodation in Salem. Did our usual and looked to Priceline. Didn't think this is the hotel that we would get though as were counting on a different one. When we looked it up, we figured we'd just have to "grin and bear it". We knew we'd only be sleeping there and weren't planning on spending much time in the room. We got the room for $55/night so didn't have high expectations; however, the room was renovated relatively recently and clean. They gave us a 'great view' of the roof top and somewhat noisy AC units, but hey for $55, it was overall surprisingly quiet. Everything was "fine". Nothing worse, nothing better. On a side note, if you're looking for a great breakfast or lunch spot, try French Press, about a 7min drive from the hotel. Great crepes and latte!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salem

Address: 3301 Market Street North-East, Salem, OR 97303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Salem Oregon the capital city of Oregon. The Red Lion Hotel Salem is located on Market Street, just off I-5 and minutes from downtown, the State Capitol, Salem Center, the Oregon State Fair Grounds, Woodburn Outlet Mall and Oregon Gardens. We are in close proximity to the The HOOP (5.1 miles), Garmin (4.1 miles), Sanyo (5.85 miles), Salem Hospital (5.22 miles), T-Mobile (6.89 miles) and Home Depot Distribution Center (5.45 miles).Our 148 spacious guest rooms and six executive suites are newly renovated and Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers and hairdryers. All guestrooms include microwaves and refrigerators as well. We offer room service and valet laundry services. For fun and relaxation, swim in our indoor pool or work out in our fitness center, which also includes a dry sauna. You'll enjoy the flavors of the great northwest at Willamette Valley Grill Restaurant and 3301 Ultra Lounge, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With 10,000 square feet of meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Salem is also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion.Parents, students and alumni will find us conveniently close to all of the area's universities and colleges. Willamette University is just 3 miles west of the hotel and Chemeketa Community College 4 miles north. Two other universities that are nearby are Corban College, just 8 miles South, and Western Oregon University 15 miles West. The only HUT Portland Airport shuttle location in Salem. For care, comfort and value, visit the Red Lion Hotel Salem where our staff is always ready to respond to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Red Lion
Red Lion Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.