We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good burgers, great beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ram Border Cafe & Sports Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ram Border Cafe & Sports Bar
515 12TH St SE, Salem, OR 97301-4034
(503) 363-1904
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 458 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Good burgers, great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is primarily a sports bar. Their own beer is great, with enough varieties to please any beer drinker. The burgers are above average. The buns could be more substantial. Ours fell apart because the burger was so juicy. I had the hillbilly burger, and the crispy fried onions and peppers were a tasty addition to the meat flavor. Carol had the All American burger. Both were good, though not the best burgers ever. The fries are real potatoes, but the RAM has not solved the common problem of greasy limp fries. USE HOTTER OIL! They tasted fine, just a little limp. The cole slaw was packed with a variety of vegetables - green cabbage, red cabbage, carrots, onion - and was very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crescent Beach, B.C.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An overnight stay in Salem and a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were travelling through Salem on our way home to Canada. After a very long day of driving, we wanted something in the way of burgers and beer (my husbands words). We were told that this restaurant had a little bit of something for everyone so we went and sat in the bar. My sweetie ordered the Beer Battered Shrimp which came with fries and coleslaw. It was so good that he did not (even) give me a bite. I ordered the Chicken Pasta which was penne with pepperoni, red onion, artichokes, spinach in a tarragon and sun dried tomato pesto (OMG). This was so good that I did not give him a taste. Our server, Kayla, made two very tired travellers feel very welcome. I cannot wait to head South and stop over in Salem for another dinner at The Ram.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Kinda like Red Robin, but with more TVs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We ate here twice during a weekend. On Saturday we were there around 3 pm, so the crowd was minimal and the service was great. On Sunday we went in around 1 pm with a 20 person group (half were kids, ages 7-15). It was jumping with business and we were lucky enough to get a bunch of tables put together with a10 minute wait. The server was on top of everything and we had our drinks and orders in within another 20 minutes. After that, it took a rather long time to get our food because more big groups kept coming in (it was on a Hoopla weekend, so lots of mini-basketball teams were in the immediate area), so I noticed she was getting overly busy, but that's not her fault. She did the best she could the whole time. Fortunately our group enjoys each other's company, so we just gabbed away the minutes. Anyway, the food is like Red Robin: lots of burgers, sandwiches, and a few soups. Many beer and other alcoholic choices and lots of wall-mounted TVs with a variety of sporting events televised. It's close to Willamette University, so I'm sure it's a wonderful college hangout. All in all, we will be back because of the food variety, kid-friendly menu offerings, and the size of the restaurant. Ample parking available.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Terrific food, great staff, EXCELLENT beer.,,.what more can you say?

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE SERVICE!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Food is fine but the service is atrocious. Hired for beauty and not ability. Not that there is anything wrong with a beautiful wait staff, but they need to have skills as well.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ram Border Cafe & Sports Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ram Border Cafe & Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ram Border Cafe & Sports Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.