We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pacific Highway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pacific Highway Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pacific Highway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4646 Portland Road Northeast, Salem, OR 97305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blaine, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

This hotel was $18 more expensive than the one I stayed at in Sacramento which I loved. The rooms were sort of dingy (although very clean) and smelled like some kind of industrial disinfectant. I ended up taking a chair outside and reading on the walkway by the parking lot while it aired out.

The TV didn't work properly but I figured out that the cable was pulling out of the back and it started working again when I pushed it back into the housing. The air conditioning was run by an old light switch on the wall with an On/Off label in magic marker. Woke up cold in the middle of the night and had to get up to shut off the switch. No temperature control.

The next morning at breakfast the waffle iron was broken and my waffle stuck to it. There was no metal utensil for getting a waffle out of the iron so I had to use this cheap plastic fork which promptly melted to the iron. I then noticed other people's melted forks on the edges of the iron. I finally got it off and put syrup on, only to find that they were using some kind of horrible, inedible generic syrup. I threw it away and tried a donut. One bite and it went into the trash and I left, stopping for breakfast later.

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    113
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
85
70
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

First room smelled like smoke, though it was a non-smoking room. Keys didn't work on the second. Third still smelled. Had to air out room to get cleaning agent smell out. Tough after 9 1/2 hr driving day. Front desk person not very accommodating nor concerned about caring for guests' comforts.

We will continue to frequent Best Westerns. But we will never come to the Pacific Western, definitely will not recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

This motel is easy to find, far enoughfrom I-5 to be quiet, and close enough to all attractions to reach them easily. It is about two miles from world-famous Schreiner Iris Gardens.
The room was immaculate and well supplied with all the amenities, including adequate morning coffee...a must for me. The complimentary breakfast included waffles, eggs, toast cinnamon buns donuts, milk coffee and again,, a clean atmosphere.
The desk clerks were very helpful with directions to restuaurants and points of interest..
Oh, a wellsized and clean indoor pool, which I had to myself.
I would recommend this motel to any traveler.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We traveled to Salem, Oregon for a wedding and needed a room for two nights during our stay. We were unfamiliar with the area but used Tripadvisor and the many reviews to locate a suitable hotel near the wedding location. After reading many of the reviews posted we located this gem. From the minute I walked in the door I was treated respectfully and promptly. I don't think the check-in process took 5 minutes! Once in the room we found that the cleaning staff did an excellent job...my wife runs her own cleaning business and she does an inspection of every bathroom in every hotel that we use. The room was large, clean and basic. The price was right and we would definitely come back if we were in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

This Best Western was clean, comfortable. The A/C was noisy but it worked well. Rooms are large, bathroom clean. Location is quiet and just off the interstate. Worth a try.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

No frills, but clean and located just off I-5. The rooms are nicer than one would think by looking at the exterior.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

Very basic, no frills hotel. Registration and pool across parking lot. Older room, a few cob webs. Breakfast okay. Will look elsewhere when taking our family to Salem.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwphi, Manager at BEST WESTERN Pacific Highway Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2010
In 2009, we completely renovated our property, from fresh paint inside and out, to replacing all furniture, beds, lighting, artwork and more. In 2010, we will upgrade our bedding, and the renovation will be complete.

We appreciate reviews like this one, and are always looking for information on what we are doing right, and in what areas we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pacific Highway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pacific Highway Inn

Address: 4646 Portland Road Northeast, Salem, OR 97305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salem
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
#8 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Pacific Highway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pacific Highway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Salem
Salem Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pacific Highway Inn Salem, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pacific Highway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.