We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable - but not in a good way” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Best Little Roadhouse

Best Little Roadhouse
1145 Commercial Street S.E., Salem, OR 97302
503.365.7225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 407 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Memorable - but not in a good way”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I dropped in for burgers the other night after a football game. We both ordered the burger and fries. The service was very good. We loved the rolls. The food tasted good but we weren't even outside the restaurant before we were both sick. It was the only food we had eaten in common all day and it struck us at the same time. Two days later and I'm still sick from it. I won't be going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    64
    22
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, OR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BETTER than the "original"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We eat here quite often - LOVE their food. Service is friendly and we love eating on the patio by the fireplace. Kids love it too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Road House Salad with Salmon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I always get the Road House Salad with the Whiskey River Salmon, yummie! This is also a great place for happy hour as the ribs are the best! Outdoor seating is fun and the wait staff is always very friendly. Oh and don't forget the rolls! Honey butter very tasty.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Reliable American Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The dishes are not too fancy, but they are hearty and very tasty. The quality is decent and their rolls are amazing. Service is great and they cater to a mixed clientele. Their lunch prices are solid.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming to large groups, fun food and miniature golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The service is very good. The wait staff are attentive and with the large group I was with - patient, timely, kept drink orders straight, dealt with us with smiles all around.

The appetizers are tasty. The lunchtime food choices are solid and flavorful. The portions are large.

The outdoor covered seating is bright and roomy. The television screens are very sharp and the sound was off.

The food is not surprising. You've seen these menu items before. The raspberry tea was a disappointment but the waitress switched to very nice ice tea for the second cup.

Would come back because this is a fun place with happy workers - but wouldn't travel far to eat here otherwise

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Little Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Best Little Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Little Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.