We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as advertised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gerry Frank's Konditorei

Gerry Frank's Konditorei
310 Kearney St SE, Salem, OR 97302-4157
503-585-7070
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 458 Restaurants in Salem
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Keizer, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as advertised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have been here a few times and usually leave a little disappointed. Most recently I ordered a custom cake and the finished product was not at all as I had requested. Of course, it was too late to change anything so I just accepted it. Their customer service is not very good, but they seem to do good business. The cakes are a little overpriced I think also.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great selection of gormet desserts in a cute little shop near the center of Salem. Our favorites are the Italian Cream Cake and, of course, Gerry's Chocolate Cake. Difficult choice! We have flown the small Champaign Cake for family gatherings in Boston! Does that makes our favorite Salem dessert shop nationally famous?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Ponte Vedra Bch
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“quaint and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Loved the cute atmosphere with tables offered outside too. Food all freshly made. Also had a children s menu, our grandson loved the Mac & Cheese. My quiche was awesome and the chicken salad perfection. But lets get to the good stuff! Surrounding you in every direction is every type of cake imaginable and then some. I promise after you finish lunch you still will not be able to decide which one to try. I personally think they should offer a plate sampling of 4 or 5 so you get to taste a few. The carrot cake and raspberry champagne were to die for and our grandson devoured the double fudge brownie.
We got lucky and the owner Gerry Frank was there enjoying his lunch (homemade soup) that's how you know the food is great. LOL
Gerry writes and sells his books on travel and Oregon. If he is there he will be happy to sign it for you. A very nice man to talk to when at the store.
Do not miss this place, even if you just stop for coffee and a wonderful desert. You will be so glad you did!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not amazing, average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have had pie and cheesecake there, my wife tried cake (she gave me a bite) none of which were fabulous. They were good, but just average. I was expecting much more from the reviews I read and heard. Overall, I was not impressed and it was expensive as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cake for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Konditorei is an excellent place to get a light lunch and celebrate with a fantastic dessert. They have many varieties of cakes, cheesecakes, and dessert bars.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerry Frank's Konditorei also viewed

 

Been to Gerry Frank's Konditorei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerry Frank's Konditorei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.