We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel in Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel in Salem to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel in Salem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Liberty Street SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
simi valley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2005

A really nice place. Our room was large and very well furnished. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant was excellent and reasonable. We were driving around looking for a room and happened upon this quite grand expensive looking hotel and were pleasantly suprised to find it to be so affordable, about $130. My only negative would be the, price included, buffet breakfast, horrible. Tho our opinion may have been influenced by fellow guests, the U of W track team who are not big believers in combs or morning showers. A slovenly bunch, and thats from an old hippy. Do not confuse this hotel with other, more basic, Phoenix hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    118
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
77
106
29
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2005

My parents and sister stayed here for 5 days while visiting. This new hotel is definitely the best hotel in Salem (not that Salem is known for great hotels), and its downtown location makes it very convenient -- you won't be trapped if you don't have a car; restaurants and shopping are within a couple of blocks in Salem's small but happily non-dead downtown (but if you do have a car, the parking garage under the hotel is free). The rooms were comfortable -- they had a family suite which was basically a good-sized room (including mini-fridge and microwave) and bath with an additional bedroom tacked on. Staff was friendly and the hotel does try to live up to the 'Grand' in its moniker. There's a good-sized indoor pool and separate jacuzzi. Hotel adjoins the new conference center and soon will have its own high-end restaurant (but there are a number of good restaurants within a few blocks).

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2005

Excellent facility! Very nice rooms with comfortable beds, leather couch, and free wireless Internet access. Free breakfast in a very large breakfast area, free USA Today and local paper, and underground parking. The staff was great! Very friendly people that were eager to please.

If I have a complaint it is that the elevators are slow and there is no access to the stairs. During busy times there can be long waits for the elevators.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2005

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It was a very nice experience. The lobby is magnificent...high ceilings, plush seating, and nice free pastries. The staff was very courteous during check-in.

The room (all suites) was very spacious. I enjoyed the leather sofa and chair. Two TVs, one in the sitting/living room, and one in the bedroom was a nice touch. 70 channels too! However, they were only 27 inch TV's I think. A larger TV or maybe even a flat screen would be nice.

The fitness center was also enjoyable. Nautilus machines and a nice pool and jacuzzi were there.

Note: I satyed there in late March. The staff told me that the hotel's resraurant would open in May/June 2005. So when I stayed there, no room service was available. But that was ok because there were many dining choices right outside the hotel.

The free buffet breakfast was a little on the light side. It consisted of scrambled eggs, a variety of warm breads, cereal, outmeal, juices, and fruit. No meats at all. The free breakfasts served at Embassy Suites beats this offering hands down. However, I attribute the light offering to the fact that the restaurant was still under construction.

Underground parking was free and safe.

I look forward to staying there again when I can check out the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2005

We stayed in the Phoenix Grand Salem in March 2005 on our touring holiday from Dinnington, Sheffield, England to the USA. The staff were first class, the hotel is outstanding in its attention to quality and customer care, we would stay again.
As a family of four, with children who argue all the time, the front desk and support staff ensured that we had the extra roll away bed to seperate the kids to have a good nights sleep!. A large breakfast room serving a wide selection, including biscuits, warm breads, fruit etc.
On site secure underground parking, what else would you need?
We wish the staff and the hotel all the best for the future.
Kind regards.
The Wade family, Dinninigton, Sheffield, England.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Address: 201 Liberty Street SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel in Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.