We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel in Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel in Salem to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel in Salem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Liberty Street SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

It was a last minute decision to stay in Salem for the weekend for a softball tournament, but we were so glad that we did.

The Phoenix Grand was terrific in every way. Everything was clean and very nice... even the parking garage was clean and felt very safe.

The lobby was huge and classy. Staff was super nice. Free breakfast was great! Lots of choices and good food.

The room was very nice. Can't think of a single negative thing. Shower was fantastic. Room was super clean. TV was very nice. Internet was easy to set up.

  • Liked — shower, TV, beds, everything!
  • Disliked — nothing was negative
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    118
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
76
106
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

Everything was excellent from start to finish. Booking agent was efficient and friendly. Checking in was a breeze. Front desk was very professional and helpful. The room was very clean and had everything we needed including small refrigerator and microwave. The restaurant, Bently's Grill and Lounge, had excellent food and service. I feel that the room rate was quite reasonable for as nice as it was. If I was to travel to Salem again, I wouldn't bother looking for another place to stay. I'd just book a room at the Phoenix Grand.

  • Liked — Had everything we needed, free parking, wireless, very clean and upscale.
  • Disliked — No fan in the bathroom. Had to put make-up on when it's so foggy.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

The hotel is indeed very nice as other posters have indicated.
My disappointment is a result of street noise which I naively assumed wouldn't be a big issue in downtown Salem, OR, but I still indicated my need for quiet upon making my reservation.
The 5th floor "quiet" location just wasn't. My husband who typically can sleep through a hurricane was also totally disrupted! Vroom Vroom from the apparent gut below continued well after midnight. I finally retreated to the lobby at 4:30AM to try to find some peace and quiet and was instructed to leave by the front desk clerk as " can't have anyone with closed eyes here", so I retreated to the pool area in hopes of a lounger and some quiet, but alas some of the young teens ( FFA) who filled the pool at 11PM were having a riotous time at 5AM, so back to my room just in time for the 5:30AM ambulance to scream through!
Restful night, don't count on it!
For all of this a whopping $20 refund, how generous?
LO
Still amused that unchaperoned teens no problem, but
55 year old tired women are banished! LOL

  • Liked — Clean with good breakfast
  • Disliked — Street noise and consideration for same!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

Free parking. 3 year old property...very clean. Nice size indoor pool spa and workout room. Elegant lobby with cookies served in the evening. Free breakfast buffet, very nice, includes sausage, scrambled eggs, fruit, pastry, two waffle machines. The dining room overlooks the street. The on premises restaurant is very nice and has great food. Rooms are Embassy Suite Style. Ours had two queen beds with two armoires and a TV and a separate sitting room with a wet bar, microwave, decent refrigerator full sized couch, chair, working desk and chair and TV. Free Wi Fi included. Could walk to Willamette University, the Capital or Willamette River Park and ride the riverboat.

  • Liked — Space per room
  • Disliked — Traffic Noise from street
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

At first I was skeptical paying over a hundred dollars for a hotel room in Salem, Oregon. After reading many reviews and browsing there website i decided to book.
Upon my arrival I was greated beautiful smiling faces of the front desk staff and freshly baked cookies. I was stunned by the size and decor of the lobby. It seemed that every detail was thought of by the decorator.
I had what was called a King Deluxe Room, which was on the lower tier of rooms they have to offer. However, don't be fooled by the name, it was a very spacious room and well decorated. I had a large work desk to set up on, a small fridge, microwave, California king bed, and much more. The resturant on Site was superb! Excellent food well priced and the staff was incredible!
The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Salem, very close to many large companies corporate offices and what seemed to be government offices. Lots of great local shops and cafes.
I would highly recommend this hotel to business travelers, wedding travelers, or any other kind of traveler. Excellent location, beautiful hotel, and top notch staff make this a "Must stay hotel"!!

  • Liked — Incredible Staff
  • Disliked — Not enough time to enjoy all of them!!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

Its not that we live very far away, but we were invited to a birthday party in Salem and figured it would be fun to make a weekend of it. We were a little worried about finding a nice place in Salem to stay; however, our friends suggested the Phoenix Grand Hotel and we loved it. The room was great! The bed was comfy and the decor was fresh and very pretty. The hotel staff was super friendly and helpful. We needed to buy a special gift and the woman we talked with suggested a few stores nearby that were just perfect! We also enjoyed a yummy late breakfast on Sunday. The food was seriously delicious. I'm so glad we made the decision to stay locally instead of making the drive home late at night. It was a fun and relaxing getaway. We'll do it again for sure!

  • Liked — The rooms were so comfortable and clean.
  • Disliked — No complaints. It exceeded my expectations.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

Large, open lobby was lovely. Hotel staff was friendly and welcoming. Rooms are large and well appointed. Very cool on a warm day.
The adjoining Bentley's Grille restaurant was quite nice and the food quality very high. Very nice wood paneled bar and separate wine bar also at Bentley's were very nice.
An outdoor pool would have been welcome after a long, hot day of travel.

  • Liked — Large, well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — No outdoor pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Address: 201 Liberty Street SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel in Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.